We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Dresden Konigstein
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I was glad I upgraded to a larger room because the standard rooms are true to their name i.e. "standard". The rooms are very clean and the beds very comfortable. But there are no tea and coffee facilities, and there is no clock, no fridge and little in the bathroom except 2 towels and a bathmat.

The internet facilities would have to be the worst that I ever have come across in a hotel. It is difficult to logon and then the internet keeps dropping out. It is excessively slow and if you want the "free" internet service at the kiosk in the foyer - you only get 15min per day.

Breakfast consists of bread, bread and more bread to have with an array of cold meat or scrambled or boiled eggs. There is a nice fruit salad, yoghurt and cerials and the dining hall is very large.

The best feature about the hotel is how close it is to everything i.e. the train station and the tourist buses, trams, shops. It is a good basic hotel if you don't want anything other than a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 671 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Prague, Czech Republic
1
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Hotel is near main railway and bus station, near city center and in the middle of shopping centers. Room was smaller than we have expected but still OK. Staff was friendly. Hotel is standard IBIS like everywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Ibis Dresden Königstein sets you up to discover this amazing city, Dresden! With a perfect location either for shopping, business or tourism, you're just few steps away from most of the attractions. It delivers more than we could guess when we booked it. The breakfast is quite good for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustavo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The walk from the main Dresden train station took five minutes. Since I take public transportation and carry a backpack, this is an ideal situation. The hotel is located on a pedestrian only street, and is quiet at night. The staff were proficient in English and quite helpful. The room was clean with newer furnishings. The breakfast was the best of my 2 week trip and included both hot and cold items. Along with the reasonable price, I think this is good deal.

One minor issue is the tiny bathroom. People with BMI over 30 might find the bathroom uncomfortably small. Some might also find the elevator on the small side as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_Jones32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The Konigstein is one of three identical Ibis hotels in the centre of Dresden. I have used it once in the past and before that the adjacent Bastei. The Konigstein is now the only one of the three with a restuarant and the food there was of a good standard, particularly the breakfast, and could not be faulted. The rooms were clean, refurbished to current Ibis standards and quiet. It was allegedly air conditioned but it was not possile to reduce the heat of the room until I found an "old fashioned" radiator beneath the work area which I was able to turn down.

On arrival, the reception team did not seem overjoyed to see my Accor Favorite Guest card and even less happy about the 80 euros worth of Accor vouchers I produced and also seemed surprised when I told them I would pay the remainder of the blll in cash. I aslo had to ask them for my welcome drink voucher. I did not see these two staff again during my 2 day stay and the other reception staff were pleasant and helpful. There were two other downsides, firstly the cost of the internet at around 12 euros for 24 hours, I was not prepared to use the internet at that price. I then found a bottle of water in my room with 2 glasses, the bottle had a label on it and when I turned this round it had a price tag of 4.50 euros on it. This was extortionate and I feel should have been offered gratis.

Having said all this, the hotel was good value for money, 5 minutes walk from the station, right in the main shopping area and close to the historic centre. I will stay there again but I will be looking for improvements!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York City, New York, USA
1
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Location of this hotel is perfect. I came on a bus from Berlin and it was less than 10 min walk to the hotel. There are plenty of malls and stores as well as places to eat around this hotel. It is a 10 min walk to all major attractions.

The negative about this hotel is that beds are too firm. I had a back pain for awhile every morning and pillows are too soft.

To summarize, it is a pretty decent hotel and a good value for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel was clean and close to shops (located inthe shopping mall), old town and a easy walk from the train station with luggage. Breakfast was not included in the price so you had to pay extra if you wanted it. The room was not very spaccious for three but had A/C which was needed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi007k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Ibis Dresden Bastei
#33 of 118 in Dresden
823 reviews
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#17 of 118 in Dresden
1,658 reviews
IntercityHotel Dresden
#21 of 118 in Dresden
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
876 reviews
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
#23 of 118 in Dresden
482 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Dresden Konigstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Dresden Konigstein

Address: Prager Str. 9, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range: $51 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Dresden Konigstein 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel ibis Dresden Konigstein welcomes you at the heart of Dresden City Center. Situated directly at the pedestrian zone "Prager Strasse", the famous shopping mall and pulse of the town, it is the perfect starting point for sightseeing through the Dresden City Center. Be inspired by the unique combination of history and modern urban lifestyle. The ibis Dresden Konigstein provides 306 modern furnished and cozy rooms. You can decide between 4 different room categories. The conference room on the 11th floor offers perfect conditions for your conferences and meetings. A unique view over the city of Dresden is inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Dresden Konigstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Dresden Koenigstein
Ibis Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing