We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a business trip to Dresden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Dresden
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Moorsel, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for a business trip to Dresden”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice hotel in a quiet area. Parking available. Wifi OK. Excellent breakfast with large selection of food and fine tea's. Staff very friendly and helpful. Some colleagues also used it for a city trip and the hotel provided bicycles for them. It's close to the tamway line that takes you to the center of town, so no need to take your car.
Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bart_denturck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dresden, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear bart_denturck

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Linda Grumbt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    107
    28
    1
    4
See reviews for
29
63
30
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a pleasant stay.Had problem with WiFi,it was resolved immediately by changing my room.Delicious and a wide variety of food items to choose from the breakfast.I liked fruit pudding alot out if all t.Lobby visiting area served spicy peanuts that tasted awesome.
Number of English channels aired on the tv were only 3-5. They had well equipped fitness centre and small pool.I would recommend this hotel for business people visiting Global foundries or Infineon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avinash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dresden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear hsaniva

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely

Linda Grumbt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
90 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed there for five nigths and were very satisfied. The rooms were comfortable and clean with air conditioning. In the night the hotel was very quiet so we had a nice sleep. The breakfast is excellent with a vide variaty of tasty dishes cold and hot to choose from. There are even organic yoghurts and fruit juices. The staff is very polite and willingly answered any questions we had. There is direct line No. 7 to the city centre, and than you walk about 200 m. In fact we have nothing negative to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room facing quiet courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dresden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Jana46,

Thank your very much for your evaluation on tripadvisor.

We very much appreciate your great feedback.

See next time in Dresden

Best regards

Linda Grumbt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovenjoel, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A 15 minute taxi drive from the airport. A very clean and modern looking hotel. The tram stop is a 200m walk and brings you to the city center in 15 mins. You can buy day tickets at the hotel reception desk at 2€/ticket.
The hotel Wifi is free but poor coverage. I had the most distant room on the floor and could only have have Wifi coverage at the entrance door of the room. Very unhandy.
The breakfast is great, wide selection of good quality food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

There is a direct line into and from the downtown. Having said that you are out quite a ways if you are going into the city to have supper and drinks, looking at a wait of about 30 minutes on the Saturday we were there, once on board maybe 12 minutes to the hotel so earlier you could be looking at a lot less time. The hotel has a great bar and restaurant and if you walk directly south there are some simple restaurants but the area in general is not really interesting. The room had a spectacular view of the city, I was on the back side about 4 floors up, really nice. The room is wonderful, modern in every way with comfortable furniture - even gave a can of body spray which was nice. For the price and top quality of the hotel you stay here - staff is exceptional and everything very clean. If I was a single woman would avoid the three block walk here or go with friend, no street lights, having said that you have everything you need in the hotel for evening and in the day not to worry.

Room Tip: Backside as high as you can for a spectacular morning view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda G, Leiter Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Dresden, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Saskatoon,

Thank you for commenting on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +49 351 8151 0.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on out hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Linda Grumbt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days while in Germany. It's best to note that the hotel is near the new town. There is a tram stop 5 mins from the hotel and I have to say that it's a great way to see old town Dresden "reveal" itself to you as it crosses the bridge. The breakfast is about 18 euros but kids are free, really good spread, my eldest loves crispy bacon so that went down well. Rooms are good size. They got 4 beds into ours! It's the little things though like car scrapers by the door, a dog feeding station near reception, mouth wash in the toilets etc that impress. the staff could not be helpful enough, lots of advice. They have tram tickets and tour tickets available. It's worth taking the bus tour first. This gives you an idea of everything to see! We eat out both nights. We went down the road at the back of the hotel and found a number of bars/bistros. I recommend that you just go in and ask about the menu and if kids are allowed. All staff speak English.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank magicdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroadagn7
Level Contributor
571 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We didn't know much about Dresden when we booked this hotel. We saw that it had a pool and workout room so we opted for it despite being a little farther out of town than the Holiday Inn Express. While there is an area of very nice shops that starts a couple blocks away, it's unfortunately the area in the immediate vicinity of the hotel that had me a little worried. Quite a few buildings either empty or in disrepair and quite a bit of graffiti. Had we gone out for a meal after dark I would have certainly taken a cab back to the hotel.

I would agree that the breakfast was a little on the pricey side, but once inside it is certainy good variety and if you are intent on filling up at the many stations there (hot - including made to order omelettes; cold: meats, cheeses, fruit....) you probably wouldn't need a big lunch. They have self service fresh squeezed orange juice. You actually squeeze your own juice. Kind of a novelty, but by the time we got there it had gotten a bit messy/sticky. Just better monitoring/cleaning of it would have helped. We were also there toward the end of breakfast and some of the items were out (scrambled eggs) and some were just old (my son went to pick up one piece of bacon and six came out stuck together - it's hard to gross out a teenager, but that did it.) The eggs being out didn't turn out to be a problem as I ordered some from the waitress and she brought out freshly prepared, good and hot eggs for me from the person who made the omelettes.

I will echo the comments on the staff. Professional, but not necessarily overly helpful and warm. We had a special situation come up and they certainly came up with a creative solution to it which I appreciated.

Just be sure of your needs when you book here and you should be OK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dresden, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear ontheroadagn7,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are glad to read you found our hotel staff commendable. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectation on this particular occasion and apologies for any inconvenience you encountered due to the hotel location as well as food served. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps where great attention will be paid to the matter.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to showcase our usual levels of service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Dresden Neustadt
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
775 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Dresden
Wyndham Garden Dresden
#20 of 118 in Dresden
684 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dorint Hotel Dresden
Dorint Hotel Dresden
#18 of 118 in Dresden
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Maritim Hotel Dresden
Maritim Hotel Dresden
#10 of 118 in Dresden
614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Macrander Hotel Dresden
1.4 mi away
The Westin Bellevue Dresden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dresden

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Dresden
Address: Stauffenbergallee 25a, 01099 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Dresden)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Dresden
#15 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dresden 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the hotel Courtyard Dresden in the heart of Dresden’s Neustadt you can quickly and easily reach the baroque old town centre, the central station, the airport and the motorway. Part of the free amenities are: coffee and tea bar, W-LAN Internet access, parking and use of the body&soul™ spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dresden Hotel Dresden
Dresden Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing