We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Dresden
Ranked #35 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Hotel is excellent, location is also good, as it is in the city center. Clean rooms, good service, helpful employees and very tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnesrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 271 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

Friendly staff, good facilities and nice service. Standard double room is very comfortable, spacious and with many free amenities. Hotel areas and room are very clean. Parking around the hotel is easy and you do not have to pay the parking fee at the hotel. Unfortunately internet is not free but you can always use for free the desk pc and printer at the business room. Breakfast is a little pricy too (17 Euro per person) but you can always go to the main town. I loved the doggy station at the entrance of the hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PigiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This was a first rate hotel, for this class, with nice bar, restaurant and room. The immediate area did not look good (lots of graffiti and rundown houses), but only minutes from tram (no. 7 or 8) that goes to old-towm centre within 10 minutes. We were there for the Xmas market, and found 2 in the old-market area, which were both great, plus Dresden has now been almost completely re-built after the destruction during WWII.
Had to pay for internet service that seems to come from Best Western hotel next door, but it worked, although slowly. When are hotels going to stop charging for this service that costs almost nothing?!

Room Tip: We had a Priority Club upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianXRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is actually pretty nice. If you don't have to work. They are part of the macrander group that also runs the best western right behind it. The problem? They offer "free" wifi on two different networks but when i first got there I'll be d*** Ed if I could get either to work. Not on my laptop, not iPad nor iPhone. I seem to remember having the same issue when unstated at the bed western as well. It dd work a few hours later so maybe it is a capacity thing? In any event I CANNOT recommend this place. It's a shame because it's a decent place otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a quick, one night visit to Dresden. Service was overburdened during much of the stay, and seemed to start from the attitude of the customer is wrong and we cannot trust the customer. I think this was because over an overburdened, over worked staff person. My hotel rate was booked from the priority club website, and it included free internet access. When I asked for the password for the free internet access, I had to prove to the hotel that i had received such a rate. Fortunately, I had a copy of the reservation on my ipad, but then I was told that I needed to email that to the hotel or they would charge me!

Breakfast was great, but extremely busy, the hotel puts up signs to help people understand when the breakfast will not be as busy, but since major attractions in Dresden open late (generally 10am) most people are all trying to eat breakfast at the same time. We came during one of the "yellow" times and had difficulty finding a seat for breakfast for our party of 3.

Beds were the least comfortable of a 10 night stay in five different hotels in Germany.

Room facilities otherwise were fantastic - including a tea kettle - very rare in Germany.

Parking was full, had to park across the street, which worked just fine, and was 9.50 euro less than the 15 euros wanted to park in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank europa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed here last week. The hotel outside looks a kind of not 4 stars hotel but inside. The restaurant is excellent with very friendly staffs. The room is awesome, spacious, clean, quiet and special the wood floor. There is also some fruit, pastry and sweets available in the ClubFloor. The location is just a bit far away from old town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamDp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Dresden on the 29/07/11 for one night having travelled by train from prague (lovely trip for 2 days ) .This Hotel is a ten minute walk from the train station but little signage so walked to the tourist office who gave directions .Was only 5 min walk from here so still easy hotel to reach on foot .Check in was quick but the receptionist was not that friendly .Was early for check in but was not a problem ,got our keys and went to the room.Room was bright,clean ,fresh and so was the bathroom.There was a safe available . The hotel is close to tram and bus stops but we used the hop-on-hop-off bus which we booked at a stop just outside the Hotel.This cost 20euro per person and you could extend the next day for 2euro.I have to say we used this throughout our stay in Dresden and managed in just 2 days to explore all of the city .The Hotel was quiet at night and the room had air conditioning .The Breakfast the next morning was self service with a lot of variety of cereals,juices,breads,teas,coffee and some hot food available .This was included in the price of the room (one night 70euro).Again check out was very quick and we were able to leave our bag in a secure room till later in the day .When we returned to pick up the bag the guy on reception was much friendlier then the ladies had been and was very promt in getting our bag .If travelling by train this Hotel is ideal and also one of the few Hotels in Dresden to provide free buffet breakfast .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
2,096 reviews
Maritim Hotel Dresden
#10 of 118 in Dresden
693 reviews
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dresden

Address: Stauffenbergallee 25a, 01099 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Dresden)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Dresden
#15 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $94 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dresden 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the hotel Courtyard Dresden in the heart of Dresden’s Neustadt you can quickly and easily reach the baroque old town centre, the central station, the airport and the motorway. Part of the free amenities are: coffee and tea bar, W-LAN Internet access, parking and use of the body&soul™ spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dresden Hotel Dresden
Dresden Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing