We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

What can I say. From check-in, the staff was attentive and friendly. The door man chased us down just to hand us an umbrella, he said that it might rain according to the forecast.
We had a junior suite and it could fit an entire family of 4 in the suite. Had a lovely little terrace with a view.
Had afternoon cakes and tea there. Superb

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PrimroseHill219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    247
    91
    19
    10
See reviews for
219
582
83
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

In a beautiful location, in the old centre of Dresden, you feel as if you are Royalty yourself in one of the palaces there.
Excellent service, wonderful room and ideal location.
Breakfast exceeds your expectations if you expect the normal buffet...
No wonder so many famous guests have chosen this hotel before.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBabyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear TravelBabyPie,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Taschenbergpalais and that especially the hotel’s location in the heart of Dresden’s historic city center was to your liking.
Moreover, your description of the feeling of Royality has very much pleased us as well as your comment about our excellent service.

We have forwarded your kind mentioning in regard to our breakfast to the managers of restaurant and kitchen and we were happy to read, that we could exceed your expectations.
Dear TravelBabyPie, thank you again for your affirmative review. It would be a pleasure to us to welcome you again at the Taschenbergpalais, whenever travel brings you back to Dresden.

Best wishes,
Your Team the Hotel Taschenberpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Already booking a Kempinski hotel is a guarantee of satisfaction. This one is amazing. All services perfect, from the beginning to the end. Spa is ok, with all services, breakfast and the restaurants superbe. All staff nobody excluded kind and professional. Only negative thing, we requested a king size bed and they gave us a room with two beds together. Little thing in an amazing experience..

Room Tip: Specify properly which kind of room you want and bed size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldosegantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear aldosegantini,
Thank you for taking time to post an evaluation of your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to hear, that you were completely satisfied with our service and that we could fulfill your expectations towards our company as well.
Also, we have shared your special mentioning to the restaurant manager and his team.

Moreover we apologize for our mistake regarding your preferred type of mattress and for the inconvenience resulting from it. Please do not hesitate to contact reception or housekeeping directly and we will arrange for the correct bedding.

Dear aldosegantini, thank you again for your positive review. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again to the Taschenbergpalais whenever travel brings you back to Dresden.

Best wishes,
Your Team at the Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Fantastic location, great staff and service, fantastic hotel, we will for sure return to this hotel on our next visit to Dresden.the hotels location is probably the best in town, with nice architecrure and nice interior. breakfast is really good, great selection.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeyounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Jeyounger,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We were very happy to learn that you felt good about choosing our hotel and that its location in the heart of Dresden’s historic city centre as well as the interior design were to your liking.
Also, we have forwarded your kind mentioning of your positive recollections regarding to the breakfast buffet and service to the staff in the restaurant and in the kitchen.

Dear Jeyounger, thank you again for your affirmative review. We would be delighted to welcome you again whenever travel brings you back to Dresden and until then we remain with

best regards,
Your Team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The building used to be a palace, so it is really a beauty to behold. It has the best location in Dresden, you are steps from the Museum, Palace and Opera. The staff is very friendly and everyone speaks English and is always trying to help. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and so was the bathroom. If you can afford such a luxury you should absolutely stay here.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bellabella907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Bellabella907,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your time at the Taschenbergpalais and that the hotel and especially its central location in the heart of Dresden’s historic city centre were to your liking. Moreover, your kind mentioning of our staff is very rewarding and we have forwarded your comment to the team as well. We are very glad that you have felt warmly welcomed and thoroughly comfortable at the Taschenbergpalais and we would feel honoured to welcome you again whenever travel brings you back to Dresden.
With our very best regards,
The Team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Another beautiful Kempinski hotel so well located in the middle of the Altstadt in Dresden. With cathedral ceilings and elegant decoration, this peaceful hotel will welcome you with wide open arms. The rates were exceptional for my single room with a double bed yet plenty of space to breathe. The marble bathroom was large with separate tub and shower; the bed very comfortable with down duvet. The breakfast was a beautiful buffet with everything you would expect for a top ranked German hotel.

The staff were exceptionally solicitous and helpful, even though the President of Korea was in house during my visit.

After a long transatlantic flight, it would be hard to imagine a more perfect welcome at the end of a long journey. BOOK IT--I cannot recommend this hotel more highly!

Room Tip: My room faced the church and was quiet with a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear aerotraveller,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to review your recent stay with us in Dresden. We were truly delighted to read that the hotel and especially its central location in the very heart of Dresden’s historic city centre were to your liking and that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time at the Taschenbergpalais. How lovely that the hotel’s interior design and your appointed guest room were to your taste as well. We are very glad that you found our staff exceptionally solicitous as well as helpful and we have happily shared your kind comment with the team. Hearing that we have exceeded your expectations not only in terms of accommodation but especially in regard to cordiality and friendliness honours us and it is the biggest reward for us as your host.
Dear aerotraveller, thank you once again for your positive feedback. We would be very happy to welcome you again whenever travel brings you back to Dresden and we remain with best regards,
Your Team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Delightful hotel in a perfect location in a beautiful City. Amidst the cobblestones of the Old Town everything about the Taschenbergpalais is serene, calm and classy. The kind of place you could happily spend a lot of time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinoccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Taschenberg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Spinoccio,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We were very happy to read that you took a delight in our hotel as well as Dresden and its historic city centre. It is great to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time at the Taschenbergpalais and that everything was to your satisfaction.
We would be delighted to welcome you again next time you travel to Dresden and we remain with best regards,
Your Team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#3 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski

Property: Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Address: Taschenberg 3, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dresden
#5 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#6 Business Hotel in Dresden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 18th century by the Saxon king, August the Strong, as a pledge of love to his mistress and faithfully restored in 1995, Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski is a beautiful combination of historic glory and modern design. The hotel offers 182 elegant rooms, 32 luxurious suites and culinary excellence from five different venues including: the gourmet restaurant Intermezzo, the Palais Bistro, the Restaurant Lesage in the Transparent Factory of Volkswagen, Cafe Vestibul and the Karl May Bar. In addition, there are six elegant conference rooms on the Bel Etage and a divisible meeting and ball room. The hotel has also its own spa lounge with a pool and offers five-star catering services in and around Dresden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Hotel
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing