We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a lovely 4 night stay at the Taschenbergpalais, in a beautiful junior suite overlooking the hotel entrance and its baroque fountains. The prices were very reasonable for the level of luxury provided, and the service was very fine. We also had a fine experience in the limited gym and the lovely indoor pool, and had a massage from their superb masseuse, who used a variety of techniques to soothe a sore shoulder. Again, most reasonably priced.

Our main disappointment was the breakfast, which was very sparse and not replenished when we arrived about 20 minutes before the end of the morning service, due to jet lag. We had dinner at the restaurant, and, although the prices were high, the meal was excellent, although the service somewhat amateurish. Disappointing, again, however, that the main dining room was not offered as an option for this very expensive meal, since the rather claustrophobic inner courtyard was the only place besides bar side that you could dine when the weather made al fresco dining an option.

The hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the Zwinger and the Semperoper, two of Dresden's finest offerings. Also co-located at the hotel is a highly recommended casual restaurant with traditional German fare as well as healthier offerings of fresh fish and salads.

All in all, this hotel offered excellent value and service for the money, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trepidation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very friendly staff, and helpful. Lovely large well-furnished room with beautiful bathroom, looking onto the Frauenkirche. Very quiet, excellent beds and free Internet in the room. Within walking distance of inner city and City Tour bus. Breakfast very expensive at 28 Euros, so opted to have breakfast and coffee in one of the numerous Cafés instead. Highly recommended, would come back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay with the taschenbergpalais. the value for money is really good and when do you feel like royalty? i in particular want to compliment the restaurant manager andreas schuelke who made sure we had a great stay. highlights were the well decorated rooms, the great breakfast - including kids corner - and the nice pool. also the rest of the team during check-in, concierge was great. keep up the great work!

Room Tip: facing the schloss or sempra opera was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_travelling69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed just one night in this lovely hotel, which has a superb location in the heart of rebuilt, restored, absolutely remarkable Dresden. We had not done sufficient research on what to expect in Dresden and were delightfully surprised by the incredible job of restoration from WW2 damage. We had a spacious room, a large bathroom with heated floors and towel rack, big closets and a desk but with only one armchair. It's expensive but not out of line for Germany, based on the quality of what you get. The staff was mostly gracious and attentive. We did get a cold stare from the front desk clerk upon check-in when she pointed out that our reservation was for one person and we were a couple. I failed to change the spot on the online reservation form from its default of "one guest"to two. After I completed the reservation, I went back to the form several times but could not figure out how to change it once the reservation was made -- so be careful if you want to avoid a stern look!.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldtraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Dresden, at the center of the re-built historical town : the Taschenbergpalais is a wonderful place to stay a few days for business or discovering the town. Mostly re-built it is exceptional to have a very successfull mixture between historical architecture and modern luxury.One lonely critic was the roomkeeping-service ( 1 soap, 2 small towels for 2 adults are a bite tire-some ). Except this, very friendly service at all levels ! It is a big hotel where you may have a long walk to your comfortable room. Beautiful inner court, where you will have breakfast if weather permits.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We travel quiet a bit and get to stay in very nice hotels. This hotel was a dream and perfect in every way. We were greeted by an extremely friendly staff and had someone give us a tour of the hotel, bell our luggage and park our car all included. Everyone spoke perfect English and were over the top with customer service. I wanted a massage late at night and they were able to schedule me in the spa 15 minutes later. One day we wanted bikes and they had the bikes delivered to us. The hotel is in a perfect location. The room is very roomy and of course gorgeous. If I had to find a negative it would be the breakfast being 25 euro a person... But there are plenty of cafes right around the corner so it wasn't an issue.
We plan on making this hotel our annual get away after visiting family once a year.

Room Tip: 424 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katetkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Unable to do the scheduled cruise trip on the Elbe, owing to enormous floods, we were transferred to the Kempinski for 2 nights of compensatory luxury. 104 stranded sailors!
Wonderful room, spacious & very well equipped. Huge, comfortable bed. Quiet & tasteful.
A typical, high-class Kempinski. Sadly, as we were on a table d'hote fixed menu basis, we were unable to try the restaurants.
Overall the hotel matches the brilliance of Kempinskis in St Petersburg, Kuala Lumpur & Delhi.

Room Tip: Go for an inner courtyard view - less to see but a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh Wickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
2,019 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski

Address: Taschenberg 3, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dresden
#5 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#6 Business Hotel in Dresden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $140 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 18th century by the Saxon king, August the Strong, as a pledge of love to his mistress and faithfully restored in 1995, Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski is a beautiful combination of historic glory and modern design. The hotel offers 182 elegant rooms, 32 luxurious suites and culinary excellence from five different venues including: the gourmet restaurant Intermezzo, the Palais Bistro, the Restaurant Lesage in the Transparent Factory of Volkswagen, Cafe Vestibul and the Karl May Bar. In addition, there are six elegant conference rooms on the Bel Etage and a divisible meeting and ball room. The hotel has also its own spa lounge with a pool and offers five-star catering services in and around Dresden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Hotel
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing