We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I visited several Kempinski and this is good but I know better. Room is very large and decoration is normal. Reception staff is nice and friendly. Breakfast is so perfect, thai chicken soop, several speads, salami, lot of cheeses, marmelade.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    241
    88
    19
    10
See reviews for
218
570
81
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in the very heart of town. It is an easy walk to the Semperoper and the Frauenkirche among others places.. The service was first rate, no problems and very helpful staff. The food in the restaurants was very good. The room and its amenities was modern and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cslebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Kempinski's hotel in Dresden is actually a Palace. The rooms are just amazing. What do you expect from a hotel that has royalty and Presidents stay here. Staff are conservative and VERY professional. The Spa is excellent. Since the hotel is so large getting to the pool/Spa can take a few minutes if your room is on the other side.
Great location to trams and the bridge to the up and coming side of the city.

Room Tip: Book a very large room and be surprised how much this hotel has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

In Europe I always stay at 5 star hotels (too many bad experiences with 4 stars). I had to come to Dresden on business, and the Kempinski brand is well known, and this hotel seemed like a good place to stay. Except for the location and proximity to where I needed to be, this hotel was awful and not worth the money.

The furnishings are out-dated and have not been kept up as a 5 star hotel should be. The paint is peeling and chipped, and towels are thin and scratchy.

Worst of all - the room is FREEZING. After many attempts to adjust the thermostat, I finally called the front desk. Their solution? They sent up a tiny space heater that didn't even make a difference. Nor are the blankets on the bed very warm.

Additionally, the bed is not even a queen size bed - it is a full. Sadly, I "upgraded" to what was supposed to be a bigger and nicer room. However, I've seen better quality for half the price at standard hotels (Hiltons/Hyatts).

Not to mention the fact that I had to pay 50 euros for two days of wi-fi. I just stayed at the Buddha Bar Hotel in Prague (also a 5 star hotel, and about the same price), and had complimentary wi-fi there. In this modern age, no hotel should charge such an outrageous fee for wifi, especially when rooms are already 300 euros and up per night. Because I am here on business, I had no choice but to purchase wifi so that I could conduct business and maintain communications with colleagues and clients.

As someone who is in Europe 3-4 times per year, I know what to expect, but this hotel definitely does not live up to the standards. Save your money, and stay somewhere else. If I wasn't leaving tomorrow, I would have switched hotels, but for one more night it was not worth it. This stay was a huge waste of money - and it will take me weeks to warm up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sed15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Taschenberg, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Ms sed15,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your comments are essential to help us improve performance and stay closely connected to the most important part of a hotel: You, our guests.

Dear Ms sed15, we were deeply sorry to learn that the quality of your stay at the Taschenbergpalais was not up to your expectations. The issues of general maintenance that you described were immediately forwarded to the engineering as well as housekeeping departments. Particularly your concerns about the linen are an issue that should easily be resolved - on account of your honest feedback - to prevent this inconvenience from reoccurring. The same is true for the AC malfunction in your room. We apologise that the instant patch solution to provide you with a portable space heater was insufficient to accommodate the low temperature in your room. The incident has been reported to our Front Desk Manager who is currently working on the development and implementation of new policies and procedures to relieve our guests from situations like the one you had the misfortune to experience.

As for the Wi-Fi, we are aware that our prices are relatively high compared to today’s standards. However, as we were amongst the first hotels to offer Wi-Fi service to our guests, at this time we are still bound in a contract that does not permit us to lower the current pricing substantially.

We hope we were able to alleviate your memories of your stay in Dresden and we would be more than happy to welcome you back one day to prove our diligence.

With warm regards,
Your team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

As My title suggests, this hotel is as far from what you would expect from a Kempinski hotel.
OK the location is excellent, but from start to finish our experience here was terrible.
We spent a night here as My wife was running the Dresden marathon the following morning. On walking in the feeling of the building is completely detached from the look of it outside. It was like walking into a shopping passage and everywhere you looked there where things for sale, not exactly a reception you would want to relax in, It was cold and had the terrible smell of an old castle, If you like period buildings then fine but they don't need to have period scent too.

Our room was small, again cold and was set up with just 2 single beds even though we were a family of 4. we had cracked tiles in the bathroom, and the TV put in such a place you would need to sit on the glass table to see it properly.

Next on to the pool area....after a treasure hunt of a trip to find it, we found it and at first glance it looks great, but the water in the pool was freezing, the pool had again many tiles missing and general up keep was poor, nice little sauna but was always full and the 'relaxing area' is right by the toilets so is not relaxing at all.

Breakfast, well this is a buffet you would expect in a 3* pension, small choice of food, no toast/toaster (bizarrely), small selection of bread, again a table for 2 though there was 4 of us, no apple juice (feels like I am just listing things now but come on... apple juice). then to top it all off the waitress decided to have a full blown conversation in front of everyone that we hadn't paid for breakfast....which ended with My wife going back to the room to fetch the booking confirmation to show that we had... she apologized but then said we would need to pay 16 euros for our 3 year old sons breakfast of which he had 3 mini croissants!!! oh and I waited 25 minutes for my coffee.

...and so to top of our stay, (not mentioning no free wifi and the the butler not letting me take My own trolley to the room to sort My cases, or the 20 minute wait for our car to be brought back), This is classed as a 5* Superior, and the last reception toilet I went in with one of those rolling towel machines to dry your hands with was in a dirty old man's pub back in the 80's.

To say we were not happy is an understatement and that our experiences at Kempinski in Bratislava and Savudrija have been a world apart from our experience here, and certainly our last stay at this particular Kempinski hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Taschenberg, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Jcharries,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are taking your opinion very serious and consider it a valuable source of feedback in our continuous efforts to improve performance on a daily basis.

We are penitent that your experiences were not up to par with your expectations. Moreover, we would like to apologise for the inconveniences you encountered, particularly regarding the breakfast service. We agree, of course, that a toaster is a breakfast essential and, normally, one is set up right next to the bread during breakfast hours. Apple juice as well as a broad selection of other juices is available upon request – a service that we will work on communicating more clearly in the future. We regret the misunderstanding about your breakfast bill and agree that the situation should definitely have been resolved in a more private setting. We are sorry you felt exposed by the conversation and we have forwarded the matter to our restaurant manager who has immediately sought dialogue with the respective employee. Please be assured that the incident at issue was an individual case and does not comply with our standards.

Finally, we would like to point out to you that we do have suites with two separate rooms as well as connecting rooms available upon request.

We apologise again sincerely and hope we could make some amends.

With kind regards,
Your team at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savyon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A very good 5 star hotel.
Stayed two nights with a large group of friends. All had praise for the place
Breakfasts were great. Service was very friendly.
Rooms are very comfortable, but in the 5th floor have no view.
Location is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floydlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for four nights in this comfortable hotel. We had a room overlooking the Zwinger which was spectacular. The Karl May Bar and the Paulaner beer garden were both wonderful and breakfast in the courtyard is a delight. The hotel is a great base to explore the reconstructed heart of Dresden and its collection of extraordinary, world class museums.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view overlooking the square or the Zwinger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venustas96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Swissotel Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
2,405 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 118 in Dresden
613 reviews
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#3 of 118 in Dresden
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
1,834 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski

Property: Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Address: Taschenberg 3, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dresden
#4 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#6 Business Hotel in Dresden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 18th century by the Saxon king, August the Strong, as a pledge of love to his mistress and faithfully restored in 1995, Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski is a beautiful combination of historic glory and modern design. The hotel offers 182 elegant rooms, 32 luxurious suites and culinary excellence from five different venues including: the gourmet restaurant Intermezzo, the Palais Bistro, the Restaurant Lesage in the Transparent Factory of Volkswagen, Cafe Vestibul and the Karl May Bar. In addition, there are six elegant conference rooms on the Bel Etage and a divisible meeting and ball room. The hotel has also its own spa lounge with a pool and offers five-star catering services in and around Dresden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Hotel
Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing