We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location with typical Hilton Hotel set-up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Dresden Hotel
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect location with typical Hilton Hotel set-up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on the weekend of 4 January 2013. It's perfectly situated in the centre of the city. Walk out the door and you are in the centre square of the old city with many attractions, restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel is set-up as a typical Hilton Hotel with the rooms being on the small side for a family of three (1 child). We had access to the Club Lounge, which I would recommend as you have an open bar, food and other refreshments for free from 6-8pm. It will save you the cost of eating out. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and part of the package with the Club room. The Living Well gym was fantastic and they have great equipment, a pool and a spa. Staff as always were professional and courteous.

Room Tip: If you are staying with a child in the room then book something bigger than the 25sq room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieLawyer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear User AussieLawyer29,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review regarding your recent visit at the Hilton Dresden.

With pleasure we read that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us and that our services and facilities met your expectations. We very much appreciate your comments as they help us to continuously improve our services.

We consider the well being of our guests and especially their valuable feedback as one of the highest priorities for us and we are therefore highly appreciating your recommendation of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hilton Dresden.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    663
    178
    64
    24
See reviews for
336
755
133
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

On my last visit to Dresden in 2003, I thought, I want to stay there, when we passed the Dresden Hilton. It's directly across the street from the Frauenkirche, the church that now has been restored after bombing by the Allies during World War II (in retaliation for the German bombing of Coventry, England). The room had a view of the church and the Christmas market in a pedestrian street. Almost everything you'd want to see in this historic and cultural part of Dresden is within a 10-minute walk. Our room was lovely, the staff well-trained and helpful...only complaint was exorbitantly-priced Internet. However, we booked a non-refundable room in advance for an amazingly low price, and opted to upgrade on arrival to club level, where Internet was free. Staff said there were about to be changes to internet policy. One thing we didn't realize was our advance payment included breakfast, which was also included in club. We ate twice in the Bistro, the casual restaurant at the hotel......was excellent and well-priced, friendly waitress named Denise (we think). We also ate around the corner at Kunst Cafe-Antik, an antique shop and restaurant....wonderful roasted beet soup perfect for a cold night. And ate a great lunch at Speisekammer, at Sporengasse 3, where soups (served in jars) are the specialty.....healthy and remarkably good! I ordered the delicate coconut-orange soup, while my husband had a rich creamy parsley root honey soup.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisianaRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear User LouisianaRoadrunner,

Thank you very much for your kind appreciation and review.

Our main goal is to deliver excellent services to all our guests and we were very glad to read about your pleasant stay. Our staff is doing their best to help you enjoy every minute of it.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel at your next visit in Dresden.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent one night at the Dresden Hilton while traveling from Prague to Munich. The hotel's location is great, right next to the river, in the city center. Our room was on the executive floor, one room shy of being the furthest from the elevator, so it was very quiet. The view included the river for a nice touch.

The 20 Euros spent on the upgrade the executive floor were well worth it. The lounge is great and one of the better ones I’ve seen recently.

Staff was helpful. We needed directions and were well informed by the time we left the lounge. All of the staff we spoke with was fluent in English.

I definitely would stay at the Dresden Hilton again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMSMD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear User DMSMD64,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Dresden and for the nice words in your review.

We are glad that your one-night stay was memorable and that you enjoyed our services.

We hope you will visit Dresden again soon and we will have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at The Hilton Dresden for 3 nights in December 2012 while en-route from Prague to Berlin. The hotel is perfectly located in the historic town and is of a very good quality. However, the German efficiency is cold and clinical. There just is no soul or heart. The room was excellent and very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Gregg,

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Hilton Dresden.

Thank you for taking the time to complete the online review with your valuable evaluation.

Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is highly appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming
you back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in Dresden just for one night for Christmas market trip with our friends. We have chosen Hilton Hotel according to comparsion price and quality and position next to Frauenkirche market. I reserved 3 rooms for our friends for nonrefunable price but unfortunately one of our friend wasnt able to come. Hotel offered us to spend money for the third unemployed room for parking and breakfast, many thanks!! We stayed in bussines floor, room is aprox 20 sqm with small bathroom, old furniture but very clean. Adequate breakfast is not included price, it costs 20 Euro per person. I can reccomend this hotel with bussines rooms for one or two night stay.

Room Tip: For longer stay dont use bussines rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Filip,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the guest questionnaire regarding your recent visit at the Hilton Dresden.

With pleasure we read that you and your friends enjoyed the stay with us and that our services and facilities met your expectations. We very much appreciate your comments as they help us to continuously improve our services.

We would be excited to welcome you and your friends again as our guests when you plan to visit Dresden the next time.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We spent one night at the Dresden Hilton to visit the famous Dresden Christmas markets - we would have liked it to have been two nights, however the entire hotel was booked out the following evening!

The hotel's location is perfect - right next to the Frauenkirch and close to all major attractions (definitely pay a visit to the Historic Green Vault museum to see the amazing treasures of the Saxon kings). There are beautiful Christmas markets literally steps from the hotel, and it is just a short stroll to the Altmarkt. The only other luxury hotels that are as well placed are the Swissotel and to a slightly lesser extent, the Kempinski.

Our room was on the executive floor (we were in 498) and it was fine. Inward facing but with a view of the Frauenkirch. Very quiet despite the hotel being at full capacity. The one thing that let the room down was the bathroom - very tired and in need of refurbishing. On the small side, with combined bath/shower. Rather unattractive pink and grey wall tiles that likely dated from the late 80s. Sad old towels that had seen whiter and fluffier days, and only one large towel per person instead of the usual large and medium combo, which is unhelpful for washing hair.

The only other complaint is also bathroom related and concerns the loo paper - harsh, super thin one ply paper may be enviro friendly, but it is out of place it in a five star hotel. Perhaps give guests another option from which to choose?!

On the plus side, the executive lounge compensates for these issues - it is a great, relaxing space, and amongst the best we've visited. Big thumbs up!

Staff were competent and spoke decent English.

We didn't have the opportunity to use the spa and gym facilities however had the impression they were good by European standards.

Overall, we definitely recommend a stay at the Dresden Hilton, especially in December to enjoy the beautiful Christmas markets and general festive vibe!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollypollyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear User lollypollyme,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit at the Hilton Dresden in detail.

With pleasure we read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met your expectations. We very much appreciate your comments as they help us to continuously improve our services.

We very much regret your impression to our hotel in regards to the appearance of our bathrooms. We will gladly incorporate your comments in our future planning in order to fulfil our guest’s high demands.

Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is highly appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming
you back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beveren, Belgium
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

50 meter from Frauenkirch city center. Very good place to stay, nice hotel with all comfort.
And Dresden is a wonderful city to visit. We stayed there 2 nights before we went to Potsdam.
Value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for this nice review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Dresden and we hope you had a memorable holiday.

It is our pleasure to ensure our guests feel cared for and we try to support all visitors discover a new city.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Swissotel Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dresden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dresden Hotel

Property: Hilton Dresden Hotel
Address: An Der Frauenkirche 5, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Dresden
#7 Family Hotel in Dresden
#9 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#10 Business Hotel in Dresden
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Dresden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the breathtaking views of the famous Frauenkirche in Dresden directly from the hotel. All major sights of this historic and vibrant cultural metropolis can be found in the near vicinity. With us you can enjoy your stay. Our numerous restaurants and cafés offer something for everyone. Stay here guarantees nothing to be desired. Spoil your loved one with a visit to our restaurant Rossini - one of the best Italians Dresden with spectacular views of the Frauenkirche - or try typical Saxon cuisine in our Bierhaus Dampfschiff. Try a perfect Steak at our Steakhouse "Alte Münze" or visit our Bistro Ecke Frauenkirche to watch a football match in a typical atmosphere and with other like-minded people. Visit our numerous terraces on sunny days. How about a delicious ice cream or homemade cakes? Then visit our Ice Cream Factory Dresden and enjoy next to all the delights the breathtaking view of the Elbe valley and Brühl's Terrace - the Balcony of Europe. Our elegant rooms and suites offer everything that could be wished for. Enjoy a drink from the mini-bar, watch the 42" LED TV, relax in comfortable fluffy slippers or get to work at the desk with wireless internet. An Executive room offers a personalised service and access to our unique Executive Lounge. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, soft and alcoholic drinks and snacks during service hours. Start active in the day and visit our LivingWell Health Club. On the over 1,100 m2 fitness area you can enjoy a workout properly. Look for relaxation after a busy day? Then use our swimming pool or the heated outdoor whirlpool overlooking the famous Church of our Lady. Planning an event? Wonderful! With us you are in the right hands. Whether large conference, a discreet meeting, a birthday party or family celebration, Christmas party or wedding - our professional Event Team takes care to your event with passion and sensitivity . With us every event is a success - we promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Dresden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dresden
Dresden Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing