We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wunderbar!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Dresden Hotel
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Hilton is perfectly located in Dresden old town. It is maybe not the nicest building from the outside and the inside is a bit dated, but the staff is amazingly helpful and attentive despite the hotel being quite busy and huge.
My room was a duplex suite on the courtyard with a nice view on Dresden roofs and was really well maintained. Complete silence and a very comfortable bed made the perfect night sleep!
Breakfast at the Executive lounge was delicious from the orange juice to the danish pastries.
A great classic in Dresden !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petitaix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Lieber User Petitaix,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write this review.

We are glad that your stay was memorable and that you fully enjoyed our services.
We have forwarded your kind words to all our Team Members and hope you will visit the Hilton Dresden again soon.

Best regards,
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,002)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Dresden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 2,002 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location of this hotel cannot be more central - all the wonderful sights of Dresden are within a few minutes' walk. We only stayed one night and found the hotel to be excellent in all respects: friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room and lovely public areas. We did not have breakfast, but there are several choices on the doorstep for breakfast. The only negative comment is that free wi-fi was not included, which one would exepect should be the case for a otel in this category. This is an excellent hotel at a top location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear User jce123,

We really appreciate your nice words and would like to thank you on behalf of the Hilton Dresden Team for your review.

We devote ourselves to offer you the best services and a charming stay. Therefore we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused by our current Internet Service. We are happy to inform you that we will change our provider by the end of this year to offer a more convenient solution to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at the Hilton Dresden soon and remain

with best regards,
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My stay at this Hilton was very enjoyable. Continental breakfeast was Hilton standard.

Pros:
Very friendly and professional staff.
Located in the Altstadt near to the Frauenkirche.
Upgraded to executive floor with Gold status.
Very clean and well maintained.
In room dining was quite good (try the grilled salmon)
Central AC (an absolute rare feature in Dresden)

Cons:
Parking garage and lanes were difficult to navigate.

Overall, one of the better Hiltons.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gyrocompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear User gyrocompass,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and for your appreciation of our Services and Team.

We are delighted that your experience with us was fulfilling and you enjoyed your stay. Your very positive comments have been shared with all our Team Members and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Dresden soon.

Best regards
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This must have been one of my best service experiences in a hotel. Staff was excellent throughout our stay, friendly and really trying to respond to our wishes. We checked in early (great executive room overlooking Bruehlsche Terasse and the river Elbe – only few rooms will have that view though), and the staff in the Executive Lounge waited for us to have breakfast before clearing everything away (officially breakfast was over). The next day breakfast in the restaurant was very good, as you’d expect in a German hotel with a great selection of sweet and salty toppings and great bread (rolls). Didn’t try the hot breakfast option.
Only note to hotel management would be the smell of the bathroom in room 3001 – not sure where that came from.
Overall warmly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank insulaner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear User insulaner1984,

We really appreciate your nice words and would like to thank you for your review.

We devote ourselves to offer you the best services and a charming stay. Therefore we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused by the unpleasant smell in your guest room. We have forwarded your information to our Chief Engineer to check the room and take corrective action immediately.

We thank you very much for having stayed with. Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is highly appreciated.

Best regards
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Since I visit quite a few hotels (but don’t review them all), I will do a break-down of the ones I do review. Hope this will prove handy for future readers.

GENERAL DESCRIPTION AND LOCATION:
Have you visited Dresden yet? If you haven’t, you should! No one can stay unmoved by the history of this town – once one of the most perfect baroque towns of Europe – perhaps THE most. Destroyed by us allies during WWII – and now nearly back to splendour! The ”Altstadt”, which is very small, is where you should stay. Right in the middle, next to the newly rebuilt magnificent Frauenkirche you have Hilton Dresden. Unbeatable position, smack in the middle!
Hilton is… well, Hilton. A bit old fashioned, a bit business-like. But nevertheless suitable for both business and leisure. Family friendly? – by all means. Large hotel, brownish, steelish and well functioning. What striked me here was the excellent service, better than any Hilton I’ve visited so far.

ARRIVAL/PARKING:
Once you’ve navigated into the center, it,s very easy to find. Next to the Frauenkirche. We arrived by car and the hotel has a garage. They charge 20 EUR for the valet parking. But it was worth it. Altstadt is too small and crowded for a tourist trying to find a parking lot. Besides: when we were leaving, the car was delivered to the front door with our bags stashed in the trunk, ready to go. Now, that’s what I call service.

CHECK-IN:
Superb. Friendly staff, which by the way is most common in Germany. Service more than impeccable.

ROOM OVERVIEW:
I have a Hilton gold membership, so we were upgraded to the executive floor. Good room with nothing else to wish for. And a beautiful view over the Frauenkirche (which of course is not true for all rooms). Fruit and water on the table, fine amenities and all the usual equipment and service available.
Everything very clean and well kept.
Beds very comfortable, we slept well. AC that worked properly, thank God… (it was 35 deg. C outside).

BAR AND RESTAURANT:
The hotel has a large (and not so cosy) bar and several restaurants. We had an evening meal in the ”fine dining” Rossini restaurant. Having read the reviews here I was suprised to dicsover that it was actually quite good and not particulary expensive. Above the good meal, the friendliness and service, as in the rest of the hotel, was evident. In addition to Rossini the hotel has five or so other restaurants of different kinds. Since you are in the middle of Dresden you can also easily find many options just outside the hotel.

BREAKFAST:
Breakfast in Germany generally means a quite lavish buffet, including a vast assortment of ”wurstwaren”, cheese, eggs, bread and sweets. And this was also the case at Hilton. Breakfast is served in the vast atrium on the ground floor. It’s large and busy. It’s also quite expensive at plus 20 EUR. If you prefer a quiet comfortable breakfast – have it in your room instead. Rating the best breakfast buffets I’ve had in this country with a ”five”, this would be a ”four”. Alas, breakfast included in the room-rate is becoming more rare even in Germany…

OTHER FACILITIES:
Hilton Dresden is a large international hotel with most of the facilities you can think of, including a spa/pool area (extra fee). Staying on the executive floor gives you access to the executive lounge with free drinks, snacks and breakfast if you like. We felt this lounge was not so nice as it is just a square space with walls on the mezzanine floor. It was quite crowded, so we had our drinks outside at a bar by the Frauenkirche instead. Much nicer!

RATING:
Official rating is 4 stars. In my opinion it is four stars plus! Mainly because of the excellent staff.

PRICE/PERFORMANCE:
Extremely good if you get a bargain on internet. Shouldn’t be too difficult.

RECOMMENDATION:
Highly recommended! We will stay here again if (when) we come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear User Vierdank,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review.

We very much appreciate your very gracious remarks concerning the quality of service which you encountered from our Team Members. We are very proud of them and have already shared your compliments.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Excellent Hotel, arrived about 12PM and executive room was ready for check-in. Decor in rooms is slightly out-dated and the ventilation isn't the greatest but is passable. This hotel really shines with its executive lounge, the evening food offering was so generous and plentiful that there was no need to have dinner afterwards and the availability of German beer was very plentiful also, the decor in the lounge was very pleasant also. Another strong point of this hotel is the fitness centre with an indoor pool and outdoor spa (this was very nice given the unusually warm March week-end), the availability of 3 different saunas is also a welcome change. We decided to have breakfast in the main restaurant in the morning and it did not disappoint, typical Hilton quality and abundance not to mention they were able to even get fresh chilli for my omellette without any hesitation well done!

Room Tip: Get an upgrade to the executive room as the lounge is well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avi8or_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear User avi8or_1990,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Dresden as well as for your constructive review.

Our main goal is to deliver excellent services to all our guests and we were very glad to read about your pleasant stay. Our staff is doing their best to help you enjoy every minute of it.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel at your next visit in Dresden.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

You cannot get more central, good food excellent breakfast good rooms although a little small.
Dresdens historical area is all around you, the modern city is easy walking distance.
Dresden is an interesting city, worth a visit for a long weekend and as I am from Coventry has links to its sad past.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coventry_EnglandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear User Coventry_EnglandMark,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests at the Hilton Dresden.

It is gratifying to know that you did enjoy your stay with us. Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
649 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dresden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dresden Hotel

Address: An der Frauenkirche 5, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dresden
#7 Family Hotel in Dresden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#10 Business Hotel in Dresden
#10 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $104 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Dresden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the breathtaking views of the famous Frauenkirche in Dresden directly from the hotel. All major sights of this historic and vibrant cultural metropolis can be found in the near vicinity. With us you can enjoy your stay. Our numerous restaurants and cafés offer something for everyone. Stay here guarantees nothing to be desired. Spoil your loved one with a visit to our restaurant Rossini - one of the best Italians Dresden with spectacular views of the Frauenkirche - or try typical Saxon cuisine in our Bierhaus Dampfschiff. Try a perfect Steak at our Steakhouse "Alte Münze" or visit our Bistro Ecke Frauenkirche to watch a football match in a typical atmosphere and with other like-minded people. Visit our numerous terraces on sunny days. How about a delicious ice cream or homemade cakes? Then visit our Ice Cream Factory Dresden and enjoy next to all the delights the breathtaking view of the Elbe valley and Brühl's Terrace - the Balcony of Europe. Our elegant rooms and suites offer everything that could be wished for. Enjoy a drink from the mini-bar, watch the 42" LED TV, relax in comfortable fluffy slippers or get to work at the desk with wireless internet. An Executive room offers a personalised service and access to our unique Executive Lounge. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, soft and alcoholic drinks and snacks during service hours. Start active in the day and visit our LivingWell Health Club. On the over 1,100 m2 fitness area you can enjoy a workout properly. Look for relaxation after a busy day? Then use our swimming pool or the heated outdoor whirlpool overlooking the famous Church of our Lady. Planning an event? Wonderful! With us you are in the right hands. Whether large conference, a discreet meeting, a birthday party or family celebration, Christmas party or wedding - our professional Event Team takes care to your event with passion and sensitivity . With us every event is a success - we promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Dresden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dresden
Dresden Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing