We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,290)
Filter reviews
2,290 results
Traveler rating
1,082
841
246
86
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,082
841
246
86
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungerossini restaurantgreat locationold townthe riverwalking distancecorner roomfitness centermajor attractionsvery nice hotelthe heart of the cityfamous frauenkirchecentral locationfree wifibeautiful cityper daynice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
604 - 609 of 2,290 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This must have been one of my best service experiences in a hotel. Staff was excellent throughout our stay, friendly and really trying to respond to our wishes. We checked in early (great executive room overlooking Bruehlsche Terasse and the river Elbe – only few rooms will have that view though), and the staff in the Executive Lounge waited for us to have breakfast before clearing everything away (officially breakfast was over). The next day breakfast in the restaurant was very good, as you’d expect in a German hotel with a great selection of sweet and salty toppings and great bread (rolls). Didn’t try the hot breakfast option.
Only note to hotel management would be the smell of the bathroom in room 3001 – not sure where that came from.
Overall warmly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank insulaner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear User insulaner1984,

We really appreciate your nice words and would like to thank you for your review.

We devote ourselves to offer you the best services and a charming stay. Therefore we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused by the unpleasant smell in your guest room. We have forwarded your information to our Chief Engineer to check the room and take corrective action immediately.

We thank you very much for having stayed with. Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is highly appreciated.

Best regards
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Since I visit quite a few hotels (but don’t review them all), I will do a break-down of the ones I do review. Hope this will prove handy for future readers.

GENERAL DESCRIPTION AND LOCATION:
Have you visited Dresden yet? If you haven’t, you should! No one can stay unmoved by the history of this town – once one of the most perfect baroque towns of Europe – perhaps THE most. Destroyed by us allies during WWII – and now nearly back to splendour! The ”Altstadt”, which is very small, is where you should stay. Right in the middle, next to the newly rebuilt magnificent Frauenkirche you have Hilton Dresden. Unbeatable position, smack in the middle!
Hilton is… well, Hilton. A bit old fashioned, a bit business-like. But nevertheless suitable for both business and leisure. Family friendly? – by all means. Large hotel, brownish, steelish and well functioning. What striked me here was the excellent service, better than any Hilton I’ve visited so far.

ARRIVAL/PARKING:
Once you’ve navigated into the center, it,s very easy to find. Next to the Frauenkirche. We arrived by car and the hotel has a garage. They charge 20 EUR for the valet parking. But it was worth it. Altstadt is too small and crowded for a tourist trying to find a parking lot. Besides: when we were leaving, the car was delivered to the front door with our bags stashed in the trunk, ready to go. Now, that’s what I call service.

CHECK-IN:
Superb. Friendly staff, which by the way is most common in Germany. Service more than impeccable.

ROOM OVERVIEW:
I have a Hilton gold membership, so we were upgraded to the executive floor. Good room with nothing else to wish for. And a beautiful view over the Frauenkirche (which of course is not true for all rooms). Fruit and water on the table, fine amenities and all the usual equipment and service available.
Everything very clean and well kept.
Beds very comfortable, we slept well. AC that worked properly, thank God… (it was 35 deg. C outside).

BAR AND RESTAURANT:
The hotel has a large (and not so cosy) bar and several restaurants. We had an evening meal in the ”fine dining” Rossini restaurant. Having read the reviews here I was suprised to dicsover that it was actually quite good and not particulary expensive. Above the good meal, the friendliness and service, as in the rest of the hotel, was evident. In addition to Rossini the hotel has five or so other restaurants of different kinds. Since you are in the middle of Dresden you can also easily find many options just outside the hotel.

BREAKFAST:
Breakfast in Germany generally means a quite lavish buffet, including a vast assortment of ”wurstwaren”, cheese, eggs, bread and sweets. And this was also the case at Hilton. Breakfast is served in the vast atrium on the ground floor. It’s large and busy. It’s also quite expensive at plus 20 EUR. If you prefer a quiet comfortable breakfast – have it in your room instead. Rating the best breakfast buffets I’ve had in this country with a ”five”, this would be a ”four”. Alas, breakfast included in the room-rate is becoming more rare even in Germany…

OTHER FACILITIES:
Hilton Dresden is a large international hotel with most of the facilities you can think of, including a spa/pool area (extra fee). Staying on the executive floor gives you access to the executive lounge with free drinks, snacks and breakfast if you like. We felt this lounge was not so nice as it is just a square space with walls on the mezzanine floor. It was quite crowded, so we had our drinks outside at a bar by the Frauenkirche instead. Much nicer!

RATING:
Official rating is 4 stars. In my opinion it is four stars plus! Mainly because of the excellent staff.

PRICE/PERFORMANCE:
Extremely good if you get a bargain on internet. Shouldn’t be too difficult.

RECOMMENDATION:
Highly recommended! We will stay here again if (when) we come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear User Vierdank,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review.

We very much appreciate your very gracious remarks concerning the quality of service which you encountered from our Team Members. We are very proud of them and have already shared your compliments.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Excellent Hotel, arrived about 12PM and executive room was ready for check-in. Decor in rooms is slightly out-dated and the ventilation isn't the greatest but is passable. This hotel really shines with its executive lounge, the evening food offering was so generous and plentiful that there was no need to have dinner afterwards and the availability of German beer was very plentiful also, the decor in the lounge was very pleasant also. Another strong point of this hotel is the fitness centre with an indoor pool and outdoor spa (this was very nice given the unusually warm March week-end), the availability of 3 different saunas is also a welcome change. We decided to have breakfast in the main restaurant in the morning and it did not disappoint, typical Hilton quality and abundance not to mention they were able to even get fresh chilli for my omellette without any hesitation well done!

Room Tip: Get an upgrade to the executive room as the lounge is well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avi8or_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear User avi8or_1990,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Dresden as well as for your constructive review.

Our main goal is to deliver excellent services to all our guests and we were very glad to read about your pleasant stay. Our staff is doing their best to help you enjoy every minute of it.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel at your next visit in Dresden.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

You cannot get more central, good food excellent breakfast good rooms although a little small.
Dresdens historical area is all around you, the modern city is easy walking distance.
Dresden is an interesting city, worth a visit for a long weekend and as I am from Coventry has links to its sad past.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coventry_EnglandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear User Coventry_EnglandMark,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests at the Hilton Dresden.

It is gratifying to know that you did enjoy your stay with us. Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

You generally know what you're getting with a Hilton hotel, and this Dresden example is no exception, for all the right reasons.

Firstly, it is located wonderfully - perhaps 50m from the Frauenkirche and main square, 50m in the other direction to the Procession of Princes, 50m in a third direction from the Bruehl Terrace - and easy walking distance from the Theatreplatz tram stop that leads straight to the main station.

It is a very modern new build, thanks to the - erm - contribution of some countrymen of mine who visited briefly in the middle of the last century. The rooms are a good size and the facilities contained within are everything you'd expect. It was a peaceful and pleasant stay.

The staff are great - very friendly and helpful, with a level of English that puts the monoglot traveller to shame. Good tip; happy hour at the bar is 8-9pm, with cocktails at half price. Ask Paul for a 'Golden Monkey', which is an awesome concoction of banana, ice, orange juice Grand Marnier and Baileys, if I recall correctly (which rapidly becomes difficult after a couple of these). Top snackage too - nuts and mini-pretzels.

One small niggle; no free wifi in any area - there's a 9 Euro charge for 24 hours' access.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norrishd833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear User norrishd833,

Thank you very much for your review. We very much appreciate your comments as they help us to continuously improve our services.

With pleasure we read that our services and facilities met your expectations, especially the ambiance and service at our Hotel bar.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused by our Internet Service. At the same time we are happy to inform you that we will be able to offer free internet access in the public areas of our Hotel to our guests by end of this year.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hilton Dresden in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews