We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,288)
Filter reviews
2,288 results
Traveler rating
1,081
840
246
86
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,081
840
246
86
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungerossini restaurantgreat locationold townthe riverwalking distancecorner roomfitness centermajor attractionsvery nice hotelthe heart of the cityfamous frauenkirchecentral locationfree wifibeautiful cityper daynice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
637 - 642 of 2,288 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We are just back from a weekend stay at the Hilton and had a great time. We are two friends who shared a twin room. The room was on the small side considering it was an executive room. I was expecting a larger room with two double beds as this is my experience of other exec' twin rooms in the Hilton, Marriott, intercontinental etc. nevertheless it was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast good and service excellent. The food in the Hotel lobby bar good not so good but cocktails were lovely and the bar staff were very friendly.

Check in was quick. And concierge were very helpful.

Overall a great stay in a perfect location on old town square. For the location value for money was good, especially as we got an advance purchase rate with 33% off.

I will return to the Hilton next time I stay in Dresden.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiseprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

Dear User Louiseprague,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Dresden and for the nice words in your review. We are glad that your weekend stay was memorable and that you enjoyed our services. It is a delight to receive such positive feedback about our Service Staff and we have shared your comments with all our Team Members.

Furthermore we thank you very much for your information regarding the quality of our snacks offered at our Balance Bar. We will review our menu to make the necessary improvements and to fulfill our guests high demands.

We hope you will visit Dresden again soon and we will have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Toda we have booked our third stay att the Hilton Dresden staying for 9 nights from June 17th 2012. We have booked this because we are confident that we will be treaed well and the hotel has everything to make our stay happy - we have treated ourselves to a junior suite this time and the Executive lounge is perfect for my husband to rest and read in while I go shopping! (he is 76 yrs old). We are always treated with respect and good manners which is why we choose to return.
We stayed in June last year and the weather was lovely.

Room Tip: Choose the Executive floor option
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victorsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear User victorsj,

Thank you for being our loyal guest and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that your experience with us was fulfilling and you enjoyed the hotel during your last stay in June 2011. We are more than happy to read that you already booked your next stay with us.

We can assure you that we will do our utmost to make your holiday memorable and offer you the best services.

We very much looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Hilton Dresden.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Location is top notch, just off the Frauenkirche and in the heart of the old city. Reservation and check-in was painless as expected, but we found the concierge slightly cold when requested for help. While I did not like the horde of tourists and the impersonal feel throughout (this huge operation is not a place for boutique hotel lovers), all amenities were beyond reproach. Room was old-style but well maintained and comfortable.

We especially liked the Executive Lounge which served an excellent quality (if simple) breakfast and drinks in a space that never felt crowded or rushed. The fitness centre surprised us with its open air jacuzzi, a real luxury in the cold! The pool (and surrounding area) however was unreasonably cold despite being "heated" and after dipping toes we rushed back to the warmth of the jacuzzi.

We would consider returning to this property, but given the stiff competition in the vicinity, it is surprising that it did not attempt to stand out in any aspect, particularly in warmth of service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePrivateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear User ThePrivateer,

Thank you very much for this nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Dresden and hope you had a memorable holiday. It is our pleasure to ensure our guests feel cared for and we try to support all visitors discover a new city.

Therefore we very much regret the impression left by the incommunicative behaviour of our Concierge Team. We will discuss your observations with our Team as the metioned service does definitely not belong to the standard we strive to reach and which you may expect from Hilton.

We would like to thank you for your comments as they help us to continuously improve our services and are therefore highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This review is long overdue and it is about time that I acknowledged the wonderful service I encountered! I had the pleasure of staying at the Dresden Hilton almost two years ago, for ten days, in February 2009. I should preface this by saying that it was a long cherished dream of mine to visit historic Dresden and my stay exceeded my expectations. During my stay I was continually impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, which made my stay truly memorable.

That the Hilton possibly has the best location in Dresden is an additional bonus and cannot be over emphasized, as all of the major historic sites are easily reached on foot from the Hilton in this pedestrian friendly town. The restoration of the Baroque architecture in the old part of town in which the hotel is located is a pleasure to see, and is extremely well done.

Check in was friendly, professional and quick. Upon arrival, I was upgraded from my standard single room to a deluxe single room on the fifth floor, a wonderful and completely unexpected surprise, which I greatly appreciated. A complementary fruit plate was a lovely additional touch.

The room was very comfortable, quiet, impeccably clean, but perhaps a bit smaller than average but it certainly contained everything needed for a pleasant stay. It featured a very comfortable bed, desk with a nice chair, flat-screen TV and an inviting easy chair with footstool. A small fridge and coffee making equipment was also provided. Best of all was the lovely view of the Elbe, part of the Frauen Kirche, and the top of the marvelous Art Academy, from the window. As it was snowing, the ambience was truly magical.

The very nice modern bathroom was spacious and well supplied with Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries. A further nice touch was the bathrobe and complementary slippers that were also provided, very convenient for those of us who have to consider airline weight restrictions and must leave these items at home. A daily German newspaper was also available as a curtesy for the guests by the elevator.

There was so much to see and do in Dresden that I did not have the opportunity to sample many of the hotel’s amenities such as the pool and the gym. One thing I rather liked was that next to the concierge desk one can find a notice board, informing guests of events in town to which they can obtain tickets for you, such as the opera, concerts, etc.

If you have the time, walk across the Augustus Bridge and visit the charming Museum of Saxon Folklore.

If you are traveling outside of town, a day trip to the Saxon Switzerland area, the mountains by the Czech border, is well worth your time, the landscape is truly astonishing. This can easily be combined with an excursion to the ancient Königstein Fortress, a trip not to be missed.

In closing I would like to say that I have stayed in a number of Hilton Hotels over the years and this one is a favourite. The superb service, not to mention the charming and helpful doorman, makes it a credit to the Hilton chain of hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Second_Self
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear User Second_Self,

we really appreciate your nice words and we would like to thank you on behalf of the Hilton Dresden Team for your review regarding your stay in February 2009.

Our main goal is to deliver excellent services to all our guests and we were very glad to read that you still remember after such a long time. Our staff is doing their best to help you enjoy every minute of your stay and we have shared your very positive impressions with all our staff.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel at your next visit in Dresden.

Kind regards
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Chose this hotel for it's proximity to the Christmas markets and the stollen festival. There were 2 markets in the immediate area which made it easy to experience all of the festivities. The stollen parade started by the Schloss and passed right in front of the hotel. The room was large enough, our room was ready at check-in but it was very far from the elevator. The hotel claims to have many restaurants but they are not right on-site- some are on the Drosselgasse which is the side street by the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel near the old town as you don't want to spend time walking to the important sights.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suefromCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Dresden, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dresden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear User suefromCalif,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and for your appreciation of our services and Team. We are delighted that your experience with us was fulfilling and you enjoyed the city of Dresden during the festive season.

Therefore I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused by the location of your guest room. Please rest assured that we do our utmost to respect the wishes of our guests and we will try to offer you a guest room near by the elevator during your next stay at the Hilton Dresden.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Dresden in the future.

Best regards
Hilton Dresden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews