We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pretty as a picture” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Bellevue Dresden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westin Bellevue Dresden
Ranked #20 of 123 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretty as a picture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel has a stunning location and arts of it are pretty as a picture - the iconic view on the hotel brochure is of the old part of the hotel at the back, next to the river. The windows of the breakfast room look straight out over the river Elbe to the old city which is just a short walk away over the bridge. At the river's edge just a few metres from the hotel garden is a picture frame through which you can see the view painted by Bernardo Bellotto, sometimes called 'Canaletto# after his more famous uncle. Bellotto's painting of the view from the hotel, along with others, hangs in the art museum on the other side of the river. Breakfast was an extra €21 but worth it if you had time for a leisurely full buffet, Internet prices were high at €15 for 24 hours but we were able to connect up to six devices.

Room Tip: Although the view from the bedroom was less inspiring than the view from the back (we overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithTaylor000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Judith,

Thank you very much for your kind comments which have been gratefully received. I am very glad to read that overall you had a nice stay at our Hotel.
Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    362
    149
    42
    11
See reviews for
132
400
73
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Starwood apparently bought a chain of the top former GDR hotels after the Wall came down and it really worked.
This was my first time here but have stayed at the Westin in Berlin Mitte several times and had similar great experiences. Best location,top quality construction and top quality staff.

Will stay here next time !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Andrew V,

Thank you so much for your review and for your recommendation. We loved to read your comment as it of course we are pleased when our guests were happy with their stay here. We hope it was not your last and we are looking forward to your next Dresden stay! The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very good hotel in great location at walking distance from the old city
Staff was very helpful
quiet and relaxed area
we ordered room facing the old city, the view was limited
Room was cleaned and with all what we needed

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giladt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear User,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to read, that you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Bellevue Dresden and considered our staff.
We look forward welcoming you soon back to Dresden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I have both very good and slightly discouraging memories of this hotel. Positives, the best bed I slept in of all hotels I've visited this year. Plus upgrading to the grand river view was money well spent. The disadvantages the view means you are not all that close to the action in comparison to the competitors. The main reception and corridors are tired looking, our corridor looked like a 1980s cruise liner. The rooms have been updated and look much better a few points are a hit dated but more pleasant than other areas.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlanT88OWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay at our hotel.
Your The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The main building was a kind of castle , nice and charming. We slept in this part of the hotel with a beautiful view over the river. The two sides wings have been recently built and are not pretty at all. The swimming pool is still from the 80' and the spa is very small. Breakfast room is huge! Overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioLaax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your comment on tripadvisor. Yours The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Friendly helpful staff and good food. Very big rooms. Not so many TV channels.
The beds are OK.
No free WiFi! WiFi cost 17€/ day, and 75€ week. If you want to use your smart phone as WiFi hub you usually only get VERY slow connection inside the hotel. Even small e-mails took forever to download. Don't they have 4G in Germany 2014?
The hotel have put a water bottle on the desk in the room. Usually it is free, but this hotel sells it for 5,9€. On all hotells I visited the water put on the desk is free. The drinks in the mini bar cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olof S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your honest and constructive feedback and of course for having taken the time to share your experience with us. Your The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Go out through the back door of the hotel, cross the walkway (mis-named as mainly used by hundreds of cyclists usually pedalling flat out with total disregard for pedestrians - description now applies to any German city) and look accross the water meadows (they haven't built on theirs) and the River Elbe and you have Canaletto's famous view of Dresden. To make sure you get the point they have erected a steel 'picture frame' that you can stand behind to get the exact view - showing that he did use a bit of artistic licence with perspective and the number of arches on the bridge (or the Germans did when they rebuilt it all after WW2).
Turn left along the walkway, cross the bridge and within 10 minutes stroll you are right in the middle of Dresden old town centre.
Go out of the front door of the hotel, cross the road and you are in Hauptstrasse (High Street) of new town with a reasonable selection of restaurants, shops and bars (many with free Wifi) and more in the parallel Konigstrasse.
The hotel itself - nothing spectacular except to look at from the River but absolutely no complaints (except perhaps the lack of a kettle in the room) Breakfast fine and well organised and unlike some I had a very comfy bed - possibly because I had a kingsize all to myself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big-G66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHennig, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you to our house. The Westin Bellevue Dresden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Swissotel Dresden
#3 of 123 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#14 of 123 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 123 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Pullman Dresden Newa
#15 of 123 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bellevue Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bellevue Dresden

Property: The Westin Bellevue Dresden
Address: Grosse Meissner Str. 15, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#19 Business Hotel in Dresden
#21 Family Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Bellevue Dresden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city, surrounded by picturesque gardens along the banks of the river Elbe, The Westin Bellevue presents Dresden's famous "Canaletto view" of the baroque city centre's skyline. The Church of Our Lady, the Semper Opera house and the Green Vault are only a footwalk over the bridge away. Enjoy the young part from Dresden, Dresden Neustadt awaits you with restaurants, bars and cafés. Start your day right with our Super Foods breakfast at our restaurant Palais with terrace. Refresh your senses in the spacious wellness area with pool, sauna and fitness area.Eat well at our restaurant Canaletto. The chef Thomas Adam will take you on a culinary journey through the German cuisine with Mediterranean influences. The Café-Bar ,,Pöppelmann" combines the charm of a coffeehouse with the atmosphere of an elegant bar and welcomes you for lunch, coffee specialties or a cocktail. During the summertime you enjoy your drinks at the baroque courtyard with Italian flair. Cool down in our beergarden "Elbsegler". Comfortable furniture next to barbecue specialities and a cold beer provide the perfect place to feel good and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Bellevue Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bellevue Dresden Hotel Dresden
Westin Bellevue Dresden
Westin Dresden
Dresden Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing