We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 5 star hotel with perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Bellevue Dresden
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Reviewed July 3, 2011

During our europe trip in March 2011 my wife and I stayed in the Westin Bellevue Dresden. The hotel is perfectly located on the Elbe river banks and only a few hundred meters away from the historic Dresden city center. Upon check in we got upgraded to a river view room and the view was spectacular. The room itself was spacious enough and nicely furnished. The staff was very professional and friendly. The breakfast buffet was good and had a wide variety of food. In general a good hotel which keeps it's brand promises and is perfect for a discovery of Dresden.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkloss, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Dear SAT 33,
nice comment, thank you so much. We really enjoyed such kind words and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It would be a great thing if you try our service also upon a next stay in our Saxon capital „Elbflorenz“ because nowhere else in Germany you can feel like being on holidays in Florence. Be welcome cordially, yours WESTIN Team Dresden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

This hotel is located on the (northern) banks of the Elbe in a park area where it is easy to walk out from the hotel, walk in the parks, along the river-side or a quick 5 minutes across the bridge directly to the Altstadt. Southern aspect rooms look on the river and over to the Altstadt.
The rooms and suites in the old building are recently refurbished from the looks of them and are fanstastic... lots of living and bathroom space and a great sense of privacy from the rest of the hotel. These rooms and suites are definitely the ones to ask for for a few days break and privacy as if in your own (luxurious) home!
Service was excellent from the reception to the room service and house-keeping staff.
A small quibble: the breakfast room on one day was full with groups and waiting was not treated with so much politeness as during the rest of the stay.
Note that pictures on the web site could deceive as the "old" building is prominent, hiding most of the new behind... but stay in the old part and you won't notice!!
All-in-all a great place for a romantic stay in a city filled with culture.
Forget being in the centre of the Altstadt and stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms in the "old" central building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sogoesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkloss, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Dear Sogoesit,
nice comment, thank you so much. We really enjoyed such kind words and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It would be a great thing if you try our service also upon a next stay in Dresden - be welcome cordially. Yours Westin Bellevue Dresden Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is located on the shore of the river - diverted to avoid floods - overlooking old Dresden which has been painstakingly rebuilt from war-time devastation & years of Communist neglect. It lives up to Westin's reputation & German penchant for efficiency & attention to details. Our rooms were large & luxurious even by North American standards. Breakfast buffet was spectacular in the selection of German & North European delicacies. Its located a very short walk across a bridge to the old town with fully restored museums, galleries, neighbourhood & restaurants. Definitely a place to stay while in Dresden. And if you have not added Dresden to your itinerary, do so, it's a remarkable city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasptoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Located in the Neustadt district of Dresden, this Hotel is an excellent choice. It is a 10 minute walk across the Elbe River Bridge into the heart of Dresden. The views across the river to Dresden are fantastic. The staff is outstanding, and will assist you in every way possible. The breakfast is a feast, and the choices are overwhelming. Food quality is outstanding. Internet access is not free. There is also a charge to park one's car. At this point in our trip, it was a perfect place to spend a couple of nights while touring Dresden. It has easy access by car, and is close to the Neustadt Bahnhof. We would stay there on our next trip to Dresden

Room Tip: Contact Hotel thru website or e-mail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCHFranktown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The hotel is in a super location, situated directly by the River Elbe and if you book a delux room you have a great view of the river and the Old City. A short walk over the Augustbruecke and you are in the Old City. The rooms are spacious, modern and have all amenities. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers swimming pool, fitness, spa facilities, restaurant and beer garden but as we were always out exploring this beautiful city we did not have time to make use of these facilities. There is underground and outside parking which costs Euro 16 per day which when staying at the hotel is rather steep.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller1Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed at the Westin Bellevue over the 4-day Easter weekend and was overall very happy. The staff we encountered in all areas were friendly and efficient and the hotel itself was modern and clean. There appeared to be myriad options for eating & drinking in the hotel or in the surrounding park, ranging from an upscale restaurant to a casual beer garden. Our room (sadly not with a river view since we selected the less expensive room rate) was well appointed and very clean.

The biggest plus of this hotel is its location in a beautiful park right on the Elbe river. As previous posters have pointed out, it is located on the Neustadt side of the river instead of the Altstadt side (which is where all the sights are). But the hotel is located right at the main bridge, so all you have to do is walk out the door, over the bridge, and you are in the heart of tourist central; a 10 minute walk at most of you take it slowly. In addition, the view of the Altstadt skyline from the hotel's terrace and beer garden is picture perfect. And for those who would like to get away from the tourist throngs, we found the restaurant options in Neustadt to be much better than those across the river.

The only negative I noted was something which seems increasingly common among several of the big name chains, and that is the feeling of being nickled and dimed for each and every ''extra'': parking (in a convenient self-park garage under the hotel) was €17 per day, but an extra €8.50 for a card which allowed us to drive in and out at any time during our stay; breakfast was €18 per person if you booked it in advance as part of the room rate or €21 per person if you simply decide to eat in the hotel one morning (we did not eat breakfast in the hotel so I can't say if it was worth the price or not); in place of the seemingly common bottle of complimentary water was a bottle for almost €6; and so on and so forth...

But my grumbling about pricing aside, this really was a very nice hotel and I would happily stay there again on future trips to Dresden.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at the hotel a few days before Christmas, in the middle of one of the snowiest Decembers on record in Europe. It was a short stay, only one night, but wonderful nevertheless. From the moment we checked everything worked out well. The woman at the front desk was exceptionally polite and helpful, from recommending where to eat, what the hotel offers, helping with map directions, to telling us about all the other Christmas markets in town (besides the Striezelmarkt). I have preferred status at Westins so we stayed on a nice quiet floor with an amazing view. The view was a free upgrade and while unexpected, quite a nice surprise. From our large room we saw across the river to old town (beautiful buildings) and it was beyond picturesque with the architecture, partially frozen river and glistening snow. Also we had the chance to get breakfast on Sunday morning, 2 people for the price of one. There was quite a spread of wonderful morning goodies. All around I would highly recommend the hotel. If you do travel in winter though notice that there are multiple temp controls in the room. We missed this after returning from our afternoon on the town, didn't realize that the control on the wall was simply for air, even with temp adjustment possibilities. The radiator on the wall was the way to get warm but we did not discover this till early next morning when I opened the curtains. Not a huge problem certainly but one that would have made tv watching before climbing into bed more pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Maritim Hotel Dresden
#10 of 118 in Dresden
677 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bellevue Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bellevue Dresden

Address: Grosse Meissner Str. 15, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#19 Business Hotel in Dresden
#21 Family Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $81 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Bellevue Dresden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city, surrounded by picturesque gardens along the banks of the river Elbe, The Westin Bellevue presents Dresden's famous "Canaletto view" of the baroque city centre's skyline. The Church of Our Lady, the Semper Opera house and the Green Vault are only a footwalk over the bridge away. Enjoy the young part from Dresden, Dresden Neustadt awaits you with restaurants, bars and cafés. Start your day right with our Super Foods breakfast at our restaurant Palais with terrace. Refresh your senses in the spacious wellness area with pool, sauna and fitness area.Eat well at our restaurant Canaletto. The chef Thomas Adam will take you on a culinary journey through the German cuisine with Mediterranean influences. The Café-Bar ,,Pöppelmann" combines the charm of a coffeehouse with the atmosphere of an elegant bar and welcomes you for lunch, coffee specialties or a cocktail. During the summertime you enjoy your drinks at the baroque courtyard with Italian flair. Cool down in our beergarden "Elbsegler". Comfortable furniture next to barbecue specialities and a cold beer provide the perfect place to feel good and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bellevue Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bellevue Dresden Hotel Dresden
Westin Bellevue Dresden
Westin Dresden
Dresden Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing