We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated, wonderfully staffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Bellevue Dresden
Ranked #23 of 119 Hotels in Dresden
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at the hotel a few days before Christmas, in the middle of one of the snowiest Decembers on record in Europe. It was a short stay, only one night, but wonderful nevertheless. From the moment we checked everything worked out well. The woman at the front desk was exceptionally polite and helpful, from recommending where to eat, what the hotel offers, helping with map directions, to telling us about all the other Christmas markets in town (besides the Striezelmarkt). I have preferred status at Westins so we stayed on a nice quiet floor with an amazing view. The view was a free upgrade and while unexpected, quite a nice surprise. From our large room we saw across the river to old town (beautiful buildings) and it was beyond picturesque with the architecture, partially frozen river and glistening snow. Also we had the chance to get breakfast on Sunday morning, 2 people for the price of one. There was quite a spread of wonderful morning goodies. All around I would highly recommend the hotel. If you do travel in winter though notice that there are multiple temp controls in the room. We missed this after returning from our afternoon on the town, didn't realize that the control on the wall was simply for air, even with temp adjustment possibilities. The radiator on the wall was the way to get warm but we did not discover this till early next morning when I opened the curtains. Not a huge problem certainly but one that would have made tv watching before climbing into bed more pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2011

Day trip from Berlin. Booked this online thru Starwood. Nice follow up from the concierge to a special request. Convenient via public transportation, Very clean, nice linens. Beautiful views along the river across to historic Dresden. Easy walk to town and nearby restaurants and shopping. Did not use any services or amenities but also did not need to ask for anything after check in.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slaughterbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

stopped at Dresden Westin Bellevue while en route to Augsburg. Very clean hotel with excellent service, clean rooms, welcoming staff. Ask for the rooms that overview the river Elbe, very similar to Budapest with the river side illuminated by night. Probably much nicer in the warm weather but Dresden still charming despite the cold.
Had breakfast both days of my stay with adequate choices, newspaper, etc.
Bathroom not cramped, towels impeccable. Location 5 minutes from central areas in Allstadt.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bu131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

The hotel was absolutely ok, booked through starwood, got upgraded to a suite. Had great fun, was in the bar which was quiet but very friendly staffed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dungdang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The Westin Bellevue is a large hotel located just by the Elbe River with a famous "Canaletto view" (if you are on the right side of the hotel). It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the city center and public transport is available right outside the corner. Rooms are quite large, clean, with standard furniture. There is a nice swimming pool, and good restaurant and bar. Breakfast is just fantastic - served in a very large room, so it is not crowded and has everything you could dream of - including my favourite poppy seed cake. Although probably not many guest come to this hotel by bike, we did, and were very happy that we could safely place our bikes in the garage.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The Westin Bellevue is wonderfully located by the Elbe River right at the place where Canaletto painted his "Dresden from the right bank of the Elbe below the Augustus Bridge" painting. So if you have a room on the river side (which is more expensive) you will have a fantastic views of the city. It is just a short walk across a bridges and you're in the city center, right at the Semper Oper and other monuments. The hotel has a swimming pool, and nice bar and restaurant. But what really makes it unforgettable is a fantastic breakfast with wide selection of cold and warm dishes, fruit, cakes etc. - so make sure it is included in your room rate.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

As a regular SPG/WESTIN client the WESTIN Dresden has been a shock for me, an unexpected one. Knowing the stylish WESTINs in Frankfurt and Munich you would never expect such an old, worn, run down property under the WESTIN flag.

The Hotel was built during the sozialist time - and it can be seen. The tasteless and cold lobby with worn out sofas, the terrible bathroom with the plastic bath tub, the very tastless and worn furniture in the room as well as the smell... SHOCKING!!!

In addition the service is far from 5*, e.g. there was nobody to park my car/take my luggage when I arrived. When I arrived at the reception two receptionists were free - but both couldn't check me in since they were "busy".

Another joke is the "free water" for Platinum SPG guests, there's just a bottle a charge of € 5,90. When I asked for the free bottle I've been informed that the € 5,90 bottle is free for me... How should you know this when there's nothing written???

The location isn't quite good since it's on the wrong side of the Elbe - opposite of where you want to go. Yes, this gives you a nice view - but a long walk.

Dresden is a beautiful city with a beautiful old town and stylish Hotels (Steigenberger, QF...). Don't make the mistake and stay at the WESTIN!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalzer, Manager at The Westin Bellevue Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2010

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Bellevue Dresden.
It’s only with your valuable comments that we can improve.
We do really regret that the impressions you received from our hotel didn’t meet your expectations.
Please be assured that we will take the named points as an impulse for improving our service and quality.
We would like to thank you again for staying with us and we hope to get a second chance for a stay again at The Westin Bellevue Dresden.

Kind regards

The Westin Bellevue Dresden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#16 of 119 in Dresden
2,116 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bellevue Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bellevue Dresden

Address: Grosse Meissner Str. 15, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#19 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $96 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Bellevue Dresden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city, surrounded by picturesque gardens along the banks of the river Elbe, The Westin Bellevue presents Dresden's famous "Canaletto view" of the baroque city centre's skyline. The Church of Our Lady, the Semper Opera house and the Green Vault are only a footwalk over the bridge away. Enjoy the young part from Dresden, Dresden Neustadt awaits you with restaurants, bars and cafés. Start your day right with our Super Foods breakfast at our restaurant Palais with terrace. Refresh your senses in the spacious wellness area with pool, sauna and fitness area.Eat well at our restaurant Canaletto. The chef Thomas Adam will take you on a culinary journey through the German cuisine with Mediterranean influences. The Café-Bar ,,Pöppelmann" combines the charm of a coffeehouse with the atmosphere of an elegant bar and welcomes you for lunch, coffee specialties or a cocktail. During the summertime you enjoy your drinks at the baroque courtyard with Italian flair. Cool down in our beergarden "Elbsegler". Comfortable furniture next to barbecue specialities and a cold beer provide the perfect place to feel good and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bellevue Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bellevue Dresden Hotel Dresden
Westin Bellevue Dresden
Westin Dresden
Dresden Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing