We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saxony food and beer in plentiful supply”

Watzke Brauereiausschank am Goldenen Reiter
Ranked #35 of 935 Restaurants in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Saxony food and beer in plentiful supply”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Really nice setting at the foot of the gold statue of Augustus. Watzke brew their own beer which is delicious. I chose the Watzke burger, it really was a mouthful but I managed to get it all down my throat eventually. There was a good atmosphere in the restaurant as Dynamo Dresden were playing a game, they are fanatics in this town. Plenty of outdoor seating, even though its right in the middle of the city its quite serene. Food was reasonably priced. Service was good and our waitress always had a smile on her face.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    115
    37
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top notch, great value.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Watzke brew their own beer. I was there three times during my visit and was very impressed. The pils is very good, but I really liked the Altpieschner. It is slightly darker, and has a great taste. Very refreshing. I ate there twice, on both occasions I had the flammende Flammkuchen. The last night I was there, I had it with Bratkartoffeln. Now, I like Bratkartoffeln, but this was something else. Potatoes fried with onions and a bit of ham or bacon. Very German, and the best I have had. It is just over the road from where I was staying, and I was truly impressed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“For great beer & food...!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fantastic place to eat and drink. Huge outdoor seating area. This bar / restaurant is so popular that you might not find a table - but do try! Lovely views if you are al fresco dining. I'll be back :o)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank its-farky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budaörs
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Echt”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is really a place where you can enjoy Geman food. They have three different draught beer, all of them unfilterted. Really nice, fresh. You can see the Freuenkirche behind the golden August, the Strong - really perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TmT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brewery restaurant”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well cooked Saxon food plenty pork big portions.fantastic unfiltered beer,two mainstays and a monthly special brew. Good service

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saffabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watzke Brauereiausschank am Goldenen Reiter also viewed

 

Been to Watzke Brauereiausschank am Goldenen Reiter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing