We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday inn express dresden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Mtarfa , Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“holiday inn express dresden”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

we spent 4 nights in it and for it being a simple standard hotel without a pool and spa..... it is wonderful. the room was great really modern style , bed super comfortable .
breakfast could at least include some more items in it.
i wish they would include room service breakfast and a mini bar in the room
the reception was really good , helped us in english the best they could specially one receptionist - "gapsch"

Room Tip: the locations is perfect in dresden center
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RYKRI10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSCC, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear RYKRI10,

we are very pleased that you had a great stay in our Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre.

Thank you very much for your positive Tripadviisor statement, which helps us to become better more and more.

i will talk to Ms Gapsch about your feedback.

We hope to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards


Anna Tobias
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    430
    107
    21
    15
See reviews for
229
385
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Plus points first: it's clean, the staff are friendly and helpful (to a point), it's very handy for the sights, the bed was comfortable.

Downside: we are cattle to be herded in, fed, watered, put to sleep, then kicked out. Everything is done to keep costs down - yet curiously it was not a cheap stay! Had they charged us half the price I'd have been very happy but at the prices we paid I expected an awful lot more. Just one example - we asked for an iron and ironing board and were made to provide a 20 euro deposit and carry both to our room ourselves.

Overall to be avoided unless you a) have no choice and b) are staying only a night. More than one day there would be pretty depressing.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmacaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear catmacaulay,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am very pleased that you have mentioned our friendly and helpful staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. Since we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area, I am sorry to hear that you were negatively affected by the deposit on the ironing board. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prahran, Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Dresden is so well situated on the perimeter of the centre of the city, that I could hear the bells from the nearby church virtually as if they were personally chiming for me! A lovely way to wake up.
The rooms are well appointed, unfortunately free WiFi is not included in the price, and breakfast was very basic German style with rolls and some mueslis. Coffee and tea were self service, but there was fruit on the buffet, and one couldnt really complain.
The hotel makes walking into the Dresden cultural centre a 5 minute affair, and there is also a wonderful Gallery shopping centre for all desires and needs nearby. An Aldi, a Mueller, a good coffee/cake shop and electrical store and Post office. In all I feel a well recommended hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the square and the city are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed in the Hotel on the 11th June and its great for visiting the old part of the city . Walking distance from most things and close to lots of good eating places. rack rate was €85 but this includes an all you can eat breakfast . parking is over the road ay €6.50 a night so i will be returning soon . No Gym but please take care the "other " holiday Inn is 10 mins car drive out of the city but it does have a gym and a restaurant . This is the Holiday inn express :O).

Room Tip: No swimming pool or GYM , if you want this its the Holiday inn you want not holiday inn express
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wescott195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located between train station and major attractions. Easy walk to train station. Rooms are modern & clean. Amenities are adequate. Breakfast was good. Although i stayed in a room facing the main street, the room was quiet & i had no problem . Ideal for light sleepers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

As for the hotel review itself, read my review on Holiday Inn Express at the Frankfurt Train Station. Hotels are identical, as are their location descriptions. This hotel is on the immediate fringe of what remains of Dresden's historic center, most of which was lost in the war. What buildings that do remain however, are spectacular. Dresden is trying to totally rebuild their historic district & they should be applauded for doing so, since it is a huge undertaking. With the exception of the few remaining historic buildings, much of Dresden comes across as a German-city-by-Disney. Not trying to be unpleasant or overly critical, just stating that if you're looking to be overwhelmed by old-world German city character, you won't find it in Dresden. Everything within blocks of the train station is totally new shopping mall & office building construction. At least the Holiday Inn Express sits only 1-2 blocks from what is left of the beautiful old city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel in new and situated in an excellent location for exploring Dresden's city centre. The hotel was clean and quiet so I was able to get a good nights sleep. The continental breakfast was fine, I also found the staff very friendly. I would definately stay at this hotel again if in Dresden.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SImonBrahmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
IntercityHotel Dresden
#22 of 118 in Dresden
492 reviews
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#14 of 118 in Dresden
1,509 reviews
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Address: Dr.-Kuelz-Ring 15A, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Dresden
#15 Family Hotel in Dresden
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing