We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic, fun, enlightened...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Schmidt's

Schmidt's
Ranked #25 of 935 Restaurants in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: European, International, Fusion, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Die mediterrane Loftatmoshäre des Schmidt's unterstreicht die jahreszeitlich inspirierte und wöchentlich wechselnde Speisekarte. Marktfrische Tagesempfehlungen - die jeweils mittags und abends variieren - bieten zudem die großen Tafeln.Auf dem Gelände des GebäudeEnsembles Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau gelegen, lädt der wunderschöne Sommergarten - bei entsprechendem Wetter - zum Entspannen und Genießen ein. Für Architektonisch- und Designinteressierte ist der Standort ein "Muss"! Um unserem Anspruch treu zu bleiben haben wir im Februar 2011 das Schmidt's vorsichtig und mit Bedacht umgebaut und "aufgehübscht".Selbstverständlich steht Ihnen das Restaurant auch für Gesellschaften bis zu 55 Personen - nach Absprache zudem außerhalb der regulären Öffnungszeiten - zur Verfügung. Gerne vermitteln wir auch Tagungs- und Gesellschaftsräume auf dem Gelände.
los gatos
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Chic, fun, enlightened...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Last night we dined at Schmidt's for the first time. We lived in Dresden for many years before this restaurant opened and we come to Dresden annually but hadn't heard of this restaurant before seeing the wonderful reviews on tripadvisor. It was a lovely evening for our family.

We made a reservation at 7PM but arrived early which is rare for us. I had planned to relax with a cocktail at the bar if our table wasn't ready but the restaurant had no trouble seating us straight away. That's good because the fact is that there is no bar to speak of. There is both indoor and outdoor seating and the whole restaurant is quite casual, jeans and a collared shirt are just fine.

We chose to sit inside as it was nippy but many sat outside in sweaters. In the end, I was glad that we chose to sit inside because some families with small children dined outside but forgot that teaching your children proper table etiquette is part of going out to nice dinners and there were children running around and screaming in the garten around until almost 9PM. I realize that the restaurant cannot explicitly control this, but for those who wish to have a quiet evening, check before you determine where you'll be seated.

We went with the 5-course set meal. We saw all of the items on the ala carte list and they looked lovely but we wanted to go with the chef choice in order to experience the restaurant fully. This was a great plan. We started with a veal tartare that was complimented by a red pepper marmalade. Delicious. Next, we enjoyed an herb gazpacho that was cold and refreshing. For the fish course, we were served a lovely steinbutt that was complemented by a slightly overcook quinoa. All in all, this was also delicious. For our main course, we had the stuffed pheasant which was plated with several nice herb gnocchi and fresh vegetables. We finished with a rhubarb strudel, fruit sorbet and fresh creamed cheese. It was really a fine meal that all three of us enjoyed.

I think it's fair to say that the service was second to none. Although there were very few diners at the time when we visited, the service was conscientious and focused on every detail of the dining experience. The wine list? Well, if you're really into wines, you may wish to pay the corkage and bring your own. The list is very limited and there are really no outstanding wines available. We choose an Italian wine but it was a 2010 so it was not the perfect choice for this meal.

The bread...simply delicious! German breads are hard to beat but this was way beyond the normal German fare. My favorite was one with nuts and prunes baked in! Fabulous! I really try hard to be a "low carb" girl but last night I must have eaten 6 slices before my dinner! Eeek, I'll pay for that later.

Great recommendation from the TripAdvisor community and a wonderful experience for us!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank annette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    25
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yes, the best in Dresden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is where we take our family when they visit. It is a bit outside of town, but well worth the trip. It is a posh place, with posh food but for not overly expensive prices and it really tastes delicious. We would recommend it to anyone! For special occasions it is the place to go!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank huvudrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The No.1 in Dresden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have seen and experienced lot of restaurants in Dresden, Germany and the rest of the world. But Schmidts in my hometown is still the the number one. I have never let this place without having smile on my face and happy feeling in my stomache. The place is run with passion and ambition and the food is not the the typical ordinary saxony kitchen. Is one of the rare cases where everything just fits perfectly together and feels right and honest and not overambitious. Nothing is over the top and drinks and food are still affordable for everybody who appreciates good food and service. The location off the city centre in Hellerau is good thing, since there is less danger to become a tourist trap. Who falls in love with the food, can also use the catering service or even join a cooking course.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sportgebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A fantastic hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Was there recently, placed just outside the centre of the city u have this amazing restaurant. We went all in with 8-courses each and was so surprised of the quality and overall presentation. We had not booked in advance and furthermore a dull Thuesday evening. But we got a great dinner with good local wines. All courses was spot on and I really liked the staff; Not stiff, not to unpersonal, not too unprofessional; All in all a fantastic good restaurant I can recommend a lot !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants we have ever been to and yet excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is an amazing place! On a recent trip to Europe we had a stop-over in Dresden. Just prior to departing we heard about Schmidt's through some newsletter from American Express or something, don't quite remember. Either way, we made a reservation and went there. Now we travel a lot and try plenty of restaurants during the course of the year and Schmidt's is most definitely one of the best ones we have been to in quite a while.

The setting is very interesting, the interior is very pleasant and the outdoor area made for a great evening on that warm summer evening. The food, most importantly, is definitely outstanding; the use of fresh, seasonal ingredients (which leads to changes of the menu as the evening progresses as some items sell out) and the enormous creativity resulted in a very special culinary experience. What almost surprised us a little is that the prices are actually very reasonable. In other places you would have to pay a lot more to get that kind of quality. Definitely recommended and we look forward to eating there again one day. Thanks to the team at Schmidt's for being outstanding!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steff928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmidt's also viewed

 

Been to Schmidt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing