We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm in the "Neustadt"”
Review of Bulow Palais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bulow Palais
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
London,England
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Old world charm in the "Neustadt"”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Although located on the other side of the Elbe from the Altstadt where most of Dresden's historic buildings and museums are located, the hotel (albeit only a few years old) is designed in an old world style but with contemporary (by German standards) decor. While it is just a short walk over the bridge from the hotel to the Altstadt, the Neustadt is much quieter, more charming and less overtly touristic, so all- in- all a perfect location. Professional service, well-designed rooms and a one-star Michelin restaurant make this an excellent choice when visiting Dresden.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    26
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
167
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This must be the best hotel in Dresden and I highly recommend it. We stayed in a junior suite that was filled with beautiful warm colors, stylish furniture, and high quality sheet, towels and amenities. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the one-star Michelin restaurant was wonderful for dinner. The hotel is across the river from the old part of Dresden, but a very pleasant 15 minute walk gets you there. And there are many nice shops and cafes near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had arrived after a long drive, and the concierge gladly helped us with our bags, then offered to park the car for us - which was just what we needed after the long drive.

The Hotel is beautifully appointed, tastefully and discreetly, and if you want to stay somewhere a bit quieter away from the Altstadt, then this is the place to be. Surrounded by great restaurants and shops - the location is excellent.

The rooms are beautiful, and are decorated in an ornate yet tasteful style. If you can try when booking, get a table at Carrousel - the two-Michelin starred restaurant in the hotel - and the best in town.

Room Tip: Try and book a larger room - or contact the hotel directly - they'll advise you on the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

A palace in the "newer"part of Dresden. The reception staff is very helpful. I arrived early and I was invited to wait in the comfortable armchairs in the lobby before being shown to my room after a short while. The hotel is within a short distance to the bridge linking to the "old" city where the famous Semper opera house and Frauenkirche are located. The rooms are luxuriously appointedand and equipped with all manner of conveniences to be expected in a 5 star hotel. The bed is comfortable and the bed linen has a luxurious feel to it. I had a meal in the Michlein starred Carousel restauant and it was fanstatic. Breakfast is very good and served buffet style. Fried eggs and bacon could be ordered. The cigar lounge is a perfect place for drinks and cigar which our group spent some time enjoying the amenities. Loved the 3 night stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rywwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Unfortunately, my experience with the Bulow Palis in Dresden was not good. I paid rack-rate for this 5 star hotel after reading the reviews. When we attempted to check into the hotel, we were told that we would be staying in the 4 star annex two blocks down the street; the room key had a different name, “Senator Hotel” on it. No assistance was offered to move the luggage. I had reserved a non-smoking room, but the room I was assigned was musty and sported a big ash-tray and matches. When I went downstairs and asked for a non-smoking room again, I was given an even smaller room with a tiny bathroom; opening the windows made it a little less musty. There is no in-room coffee service, no bottled water, and apparently no non-smoking rooms. Breakfast is not included.

However, the rooms are large with a large flat screen TV. The double bed is two singles pushed together with four pillows, and was comfortable. There are no separate bathroom amenities but two bottles of shampoo and body wash mounted on the shower (no tub) wall. There is a large work surface, and best of all, no charge for the internet (wireless), though it was slow. If you have a car, the garage parking is $22 a day and there did not appear to be free nearby parking. Breakfast was not included.

The hotel is conveniently located 10 minute walk across the bridge from the wonderful rebuilt architectural sites. It is surrounded by many restaurants and pubs. Word to the wise, make sure you know which hotel you are getting when you make your reservatio

Room Tip: Make sure you are not staying in the "Senator Hotel" instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyguyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This was a beautiful hotel! Upon arrival, they saw that I had been driving for a long time and made me feel welcome. They parked the car for me and took me to my room immediately. I was with my father and they did the same for him. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms were nicely appointed. The only complaint that I have was the bed. Though, it was very comfortable, it was two twin beds pushed together and they would split apart at night because it was a on a hard wood floor. Their cigar lounge was a perfect spot to have a nice scotch while smoking a wonderful cigar. We ate at both restaurants and if you eat in the nicer/Michelin rated restaurant, I recommend you go for the smaller meal. We ate the 7 course meal (I think that's what it was) and had it paired with wines. Everything was phenomenal, but it was a little too much. If you eat in the Michelin rated restaurant, expect to pay for it...I think we paid somewhere around 600 Euro. Not too bad for the quality of food and service we had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groombridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in June having done Berlin, Leipzig and then Dresden - hubbie wanted to go to Colditz Castle and we went on the bus. Our bedroom was sumptuous and there was even an outside lobby area beautifully furnished in front of the lifts. Bathroom out of this World and a separate toilet to die for. Bed linen, coverlets, etc. must have been very costly. Breakfast and Dining Room were a dream. Fantastic. RDH Groombridge

Room Tip: It was a corner room on the top floor. Two different views - one of main street and one of the Chur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominofananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
644 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulow Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulow Palais

Property: Bulow Palais
Address: Koenigstr. 14, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bulow Palais 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in the world: in the centre of the Baroque quarter With the Semper Opera House, the Zwinger Palace and the Frauenkirche, Dresden is one of the most fascinating places to visit in Germany. Right in the centre of the Baroque quarter it is home to Bulow Palais. This residence has been designed with fervour and maintained with passion offering a taste of paradise to stylish and demanding guests. It boasts an elegant atmosphere, with a touch of originality designed to appeal to those who love all that is truly personal. Relax and enjoy breakfast in the light-filled winter garden, savour light German cuisine at Bulow's Bistro, or meet up with your friends at the Cigar Lounge. The gourmet restaurant Caroussel offers one of the best cuisines in the region. 58 Elegant designed rooms & suites offer the largest possible comfort. A parking garage and Meeting & function rooms complete the offer. The Hotel Bulow Palais is in a cooperation with 'Relais & Chateaux' as well as 'Feine Privathotels Deutschland'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bulow Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing