We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“L Hotel Dresden Altstadt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Dresden Altstadt
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Difficult to find, but once there you realise how close it is to Dresden Mitte Station. Strange location, but a clean, modern Hotel. Staff were very efficient and check in took literally seconds. Rooms airy, spotless, modern and comfortable. it's not too far to walk to the City Centre and it's attraction or the embarkation point for the ancient Paddle Steamers that traverse the Elbe to historical locations. From Mitte Station you can get to most locations throughout Germany.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DickyCCrewe_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 294 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

The L Hotel is a business hotel about 10 minutes walk away from the Semperoper. I saw people complaining about the noises and the buffet. Two questions I do have. Dresden is a town, not a village and there are cars, buses and trains. So when you are walking distance to all the important sites, do you really expect to have it quiet? We got a room on the first floor facing the street and we did not feel it was noisy at all. For sure you hear a car and also the tram you could hear but that was far from being noisy. I hear the same back home!! Then coming to the next topic. Breakfast: I don't know what people have for breakfast at home but the hotel offered everything you can think of. Typical German breakfast with fresh rolls, bread, cereals, different kind of cheese, sausages, bacon, very good juices (not the watery stuff), yoghurts ... and my personal highlight for a lovely breakfast on my weekend trip... a glass of prosecco. I felt what you got for your money was fantastic.
I would definitely recommend this hotel. The bathrooms are small but how much time do I spend in a bathroom? The rooms as such were modern and big enough with comfortable beds, a flat screen TV etc.
And what was very important for us. Next door you have the possibility to park which costs only 9 Euros for an entire day. This in a big city like Dresden and so close to the center is fantastic.
If I'd go to Dresden again I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My son and I stayed at this very pleasant hotel which is situated about 10 mins walk from the centre, which was great. It is also just two minutes walk from Dresden Mitte Station, which gives you easy access to a host of other places. We visited Pirna and the Panometer, both just a short train ride away. Dresden Christmas Market was simply a delight. Great range of shops in Dresden centre too.

The hotel was clean and comfortable, but the provision of wired LAN for internet was no use for us as we were using phone and Android tablet for internet. Free WiFi is a must these days!

Despite being on the train side, we didnt find the trains noisy - though it was very cold so the windows were shut.

The restaurant was surprisingly good and the breakfast excellent too. BrennNessel italian restaurant in Schutzengasse about 3 mins walk was excellent with very friendly English speaking staff and superb Pizza and Italian food.

The staff were helpful and pleasant, but I thought some could have been a little bit more friendly. Very minor criticism though. We were very pleased with our stay there overall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Good place to visit the city. Near the train station Dresden Mitte and several minutes going by pass to the historical center. The room was clean, a little bit noisy, but normal. There was not free WIFI, good restaurant – we had the dinner, breakfast buffet –enough tasty. Staff was friendly and kind. This hotel had a great combination of price and quality.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chernova_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A short walk from Alstadt and only minutes from Dresden mitte bahnhof. Beds super comfortable and room very clean. Located adjacent to train so bring earplugs or ask for a room on the other side. Breakfast was 12 euros but worth every cent. A nice stop on a long trip.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank shoesareme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel is located beside a railway track and as we drove under the bridge we missed the address and had to turn around to find it.
A little out of the way for people getting downtown. Lovely breakfast, ate dinner there as well. Good bathroom and comfortable sleeping. Good soundproofing – right beside train tracks and didn’t hear a thing!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Despite the name, the hotel is not located in the old city ( which is known locally as the inner old city ), but close the Rail station Dresden Mitte . However that is not a problem. It is about a 15 - 20 minute walk down to the Zwinger along a very pleasant boulevard, with a nice park and interesting buildings. Just across the road from the hotel on Maxstrasse, are a couple of nice bakeries, restaurants and a kebab shop, plus the tram #6 which whisks you into town ( 3 stops ).
This is rather uninspiring new building from the outside , but the hotel inside is very comfortable indeed with thought given to fittings and colours in a modern style that really works. Unusually for modern hotels, there is actually a decent sized lobby-lounge with comfortable seating and a free internet terminal.
I was given room 219 which was a very good sized double for sole occupancy. Everything was super comfortable, worked great and looked like brand new.
It was a pleasure to come back and relax a while after a hard day's sightseeing.
The room only deal i booked via hrs.de was incredible value for this standard of accommodation, and i will make a point to check out the other hotels of this chain ( Leonardo Hotels) when making future plans.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
IntercityHotel Dresden
#21 of 118 in Dresden
526 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Wyndham Garden Dresden
#19 of 118 in Dresden
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Dresden Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Dresden Altstadt

Address: Magdeburger Str. 1a, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range: $59 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Hotel Dresden Altstadt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel welcomes you in the heart of the city centre of Dresden. Modern equipped rooms, best facilities and individual services can be expected in the L Hotel Dresden Altstadt. The hotel is centrally located within a few minutes walking distance from the historic city centre and the popular sights: Frauenkirche, Semperoper and Zwinger of Dresden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Dresden Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing