We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Dresden Altstadt
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An excellent choice of hotel”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Ideally located within easy walking distance from the center of the Altstadt and very close to excellent public transport. (direct train link from Dresden Airport to within 5 mins walk to hotel). The hotel was spotlessly clean, comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also extremely good - lots of choice and always fresh. Even though we were there at a busy bank holiday weekend, the staff coped with the high volume of guests easily, never appeared stressed or rushed and always gave us the attention we needed. Considering how busy the hotel was, the rooms were also very quiet. If we had to find something to complain about, it was that although they provided coffee and green tea making facilities in the room, there were no black tea bags, but we fetched some from breakfast on the second day, so no real hardship! We really enjoyed our stay and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMA18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    126
    30
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
108
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

The hotel is ideally situated in the Dresden Mitte area, just a 10 minute walk (or 2 tram stops) from the Zwinger and the opera and a 20 minute walk (or 4 tram stops) from the Neustadt cafes and restaurants. It is just the other side of the railway lines from the Art'Otel, but beware, there are 2 Leonardo Hotels in Dresden and this one is known as the 'L'. The other is miles further from the centre. Modern, clean, light and airy rooms with lots of fluffy white towels! There is a kettle and cups in the rooms but no 'fridge. Internet access in the rooms and free internet access at a work station in the lobby if you haven't brought your laptop.
Staff were charming, friendly, helpful and well trained. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the coffee was very good too (not always the case!). There is a bar in the lobby where everyone congregated in the evenings until quite late and the bar staff were cheerful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galloping_grannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The L Hotel Dresden Altstadt benefits from being within 15 mins walk of the centre of the city without attracting city-centre prices. The reception desk staff are very welcoming and helpful.
The rooms are well designed and make very economical use of space. The buffet breakfast is very comprehensive and makes a good start to a busy day of sightseeing.
The hotel website contains good instructions on how to get from the airport to the hotel; it is only 2 Euros on the train and takes 18 mins. The hotel is right next to Dresden Mitte station, but the trains do not cause any disturbance on the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Copernicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

This hotel was great. My room was small, but very clean and efficient. The bed was very comfortable. I needed outlet adapters and the staff person was very helpful in finding them for me. All of the staff members were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The location was great for any event at the convention center, but about a 15 minute walk to the old town area. Overall, a great place and very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

This is a VERY good hotel.
We stayed here on a short city break during december 2009.
LOCATION: very convenient if you travel with public transport (next to railway station Dresden Mitte) or by car (public park next to hotel , 6 Euro per day).
Old town attractions, like the Zwinger, Opera, are just 10 minutes on foot away.
STAFF: very friendly and helpful
ROOMS: spacious and comfortable, beds fine too. hi-speed internet available.
BREAKFAST: generous and filling
DISADVANTAGEOUS: I could only think of one drawback: there are no fridges in the rooms.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nielshartgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We stayed in this hotel coming through Dresden for a night. It's not located in the center of the city, but it's close enough that you can walk/get to everything no problem.

The rooms are clean and nice, nothing too much, but they're modern and nice. Good size, with a nice double bed and good sized shower and bathroom that are clean. They have internet in the lobby (which is a very nice lobby) that you can use. I'm not sure on wireless internet access, but I don't think they have it. The staff were courteous and helpful. When we stayed there the hotel was incredibly quite. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but the restaurant looked nice.

Parking is in the public parking lot next door to the hotel and costs 6Euro per night.

This is a nice place to stay in Dresden that isn't super luxury, but fits the bill overall.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkindred49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I stayed at the Dresden Aldstadt recently whilst attending a conference at the nearby conference centre (a 2-3 minute walk, tops). The hotel was very modern, clean and quiet, and was only a 10 minute walk from the old town.
The staff here were very accomodating during our stay, from putting up with our bad german and general 'merriment' in the bar til late, to the excellent customer service on the front desk.
Unfortunately when I had returned home from my trip I realised I had left some cash in the hotel room. I contacted the hotel on the off-chance that it had been handed in, and it had! They swiftly posted the cash back to me with no grumbling at all. There are still good, honest people in the world!
All in all, a great hotel which I would recommend to business and leisure travellers alike!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
art'otel dresden
#34 of 118 in Dresden
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Dresden Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Dresden Altstadt

Property: Leonardo Hotel Dresden Altstadt
Address: Magdeburger Str. 1a, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Hotel Dresden Altstadt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel welcomes you in the heart of the city centre of Dresden. Modern equipped rooms, best facilities and individual services can be expected in the L Hotel Dresden Altstadt. The hotel is centrally located within a few minutes walking distance from the historic city centre and the popular sights: Frauenkirche, Semperoper and Zwinger of Dresden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Dresden Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing