We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat in Dresden”

Paulaner's im Taschenbergpalais
Ranked #17 of 935 Restaurants in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Innere Altstadt
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Dresden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stopped here for dinner as we found ti by accident. Great location just of the main area away from the loads of tourists ... the patio is FANTASTIC and great on a nice sunny day. The service was excellent .. very friendly. I was impressed with the food after being at Paulaner in Munich found this location much better. We ordered the weisewurst to start, and then had the scheinbraten and sauerbraten ... both were very good. And for desert ...maybe one of the best deserts ever ... plum dumplings in custard .. this was so good we went back the next night for it again.
Overall, great experience and one of the better meals we had in our 8 nights in Germany. Total bill after 3 drinks each, shared starter, dinners and deserts each was $60 Euro

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    187
    50
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Authentic German”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Searching for authentic German food in Germany is not easy, Surprisingly for us, many places are Italian or fine dining, so it was a pleasure to fine Paulaners replete with wurst, schnitzel, sauerkraut etc. There is a keller like atmosphere with a wide selection of beers, wines by the glass and food. I loved my curried veal sausages with pommes frites as did my wife her trio of pork sausages accompanied by 50cl glasses and conversation with fellow travellers. And all for 40 Euros. The place for fun on a wet Sunday night in beautiful Dresden.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Terrific little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fine view, excellent German fare as well as healthier fresh fist and salads. A nice alternative to the touristy crunch of outdoor eateries around the Frauenkirche, relaxed and friendly service. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trepidation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Whilst I'm not the No.1 fan of German traditional food, I was seduced by the lovely, shady courtyard when looking for a place to have dinner after a day of sightseeing on a very hot end of July day. And it was absolutely the right choice. Whilst there are "deftig" type of food on offer, you can also choose lovely light meals, I had a plate of salmon which was excellent. My partner had an equally good chicken salad with great dressing and very fresh lambs lettuce. We both had a beautiful and refreshing Lillet cocktail. Service was speedy and friendly - what more could you ask for?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Expatriate24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice outside court”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If weather permits, the court is a small heaven of peace with traditional food, in the center of historical Dresden !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulaner's im Taschenbergpalais also viewed

 

Been to Paulaner's im Taschenbergpalais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing