We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad!”
Review of Elmhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elmhurst Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Earley
Nottingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not so bad!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Single not en suite back of hotel.
Clean comfortable but dated looking bedroom. Not a problem about decor.
Clean hot shower.
Plentiful, good breakfast and evening meal (extra charge for evening meal but value for money.)
Helpful Owner/manager.
Only one pillow as previously stated but wife read that review and packed one.
Comfortable single bed.
Far better than the B&B I stayed in last week in Reading and half the price.

Bonus: nice garden to sit in in the evening after meal with my pint.
Will be rebooking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamEssexGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    35
    19
    46
See reviews for
5
17
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

On arrival a grumpy basil faulty popped out of what looked like a gas meter cupboard that was being used as a reception desk. it took us ages to sort out our booking in due to the language barrier and unorganised paper work.
We were not shown to our room or offered any help with our luggage up rickety steep stairs.
Grime dust and mould adorned our well worn room. The beds were hard and the duvets and pillows were extremely thin.The ensuite was very dirty, we have never seen a loo brush quite like the one in there! There was more mould on the shower than in a pound of stilton cheese!
The noise from the other rooms and the road out side was very loud all night long.
We were not brave enough to eat the cooked breakfast so stuck with cold toast and cereal .
It was an experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fostermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Earley hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

In Short:

Pros:

Free Parking
Good Location

Cons

Dated
Scruffy
Grotty
Dirty
Smelly
Musty
Mouldy
Noisy
Very shoddily built and fitted.

Every expense spared in terms of staff provision and decor.



60 Pounds is not a lot, but for somewhere like this, 20 quid would be nearer the mark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamin110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I agree with the other writer, don't only read the bad comments. We had to stay somewhere local for three nights as having new bathroom put in at home. Yes we could have paid nearly £200 for a local hotel but when you just need a shower, bed and breakfast, why pay more!!
The room was clean, the beds were so comfortable and the staff were very helpful.
It did us!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shazb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This has to be the worst place I have ever had the miss fortune of stopping in.

The place was run down, service was awful, breakfast was served on a tea plate, my room was dirty, the towels were dirty and the mattress was as thin as could be.

Please stop some place else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Please do not read into these negative reviews!!!! This is a gem of a hotel, the staff are friendly and always willing to help! The breakfast is lovely and really good value considering it is included in the cost of the room. Yes the hotel could do with a little refurb but you really do get what you pay for. I personally found my room to be clean, noise wasn't an issue and shower worked perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pp6712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was my first hotel booking in the Reading area, as a plus it's in Reading and I can be on site at work in 10 minutes. On the down side at £46 per night for en-suite double its competing against Travelodge at £31 for an en-suite family room. Granted they do include breakfast (which I never risked), and WiFi, but the rooms are so dated, the bathrooms tired, it's like visiting an elderly relatives house ( a poor one), Travelodge have good solid stuff, spacious uncluttered rooms, modern bathrooms. I didn't get any joy from my stay at Elmhurst, in fact it's dreary and depressing atmosphere just lead me to an early night. I know people will say £46 is cheap for Reading but if you look around and are willing to drive outside of Reading you will find much nicer for cheaper prices, this place I would pay £25 maximum.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iOSForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earley
1.4 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
934 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
986 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmhurst Hotel

Property: Elmhurst Hotel
Address: 51 Church Road, Earley, Wokingham RG6 1EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Earley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Earley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Elmhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmhurst Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing