We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Stayed at Zum Christophel in February 2011.
First: Awesome location--the hotel is directly adjacent to the Porta Nigra. In fact, my window overlooked this landmark. The room was large and comfortable, and featured hardwood floors. The hotel has an elevator. Parking is offered for a small fee at an adjacent lot which is less than a 5 minute walk away.

Negatives: Road noise outside the window was a bit of a problem. I was awoken several times at night by pedestrians outside shouting. I would stay here again, but would request an interior room.
The night of my stay, the free wireless internet did not work. I asked the friendly staff, but they didn't offer anything other than the password.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter_014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
31
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
387 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

We only stayed one night so the location was important: and this hotel is in a great location right next to the Roman Porta Negra. But that came with a downside so be warned: the traffic is really noisy day and night. That being said, staff was very nice, rooms were big, bathrooms were fine and the breakfast was quite pleasant. They have a car park a block away but have a loading zone for luggage right at the front door. One strange note: someone came in at night, gave our room number and charged drinks on our bill. Staff was quite nice -- quickly confirming with bar staff that it wasn't us and corrected the bill immediately.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2007

I stayed here last April with my cousin while on a five month University exchange in Europe. It was a very nice hotel with a great location! Our room looked out over the porta negra, had very nice beds, everything was clean and it had an excellent bathroom! It was pretty large with an amazing shower (probably the best I have had in Europe). Everything in the room was brand new, a pleasant surprise! When we got there and they were super friendly and when they saw we were Canadian they very even nicer! The breakfast was good as well, since we are neither huge on buffets ( sharing food with random people is not something I enjoy), nor glutenous and need all you can eat, it was a nice surprise to be served such a lovely spread at our table. The owner even sat with us and chatted with us about where we were off to next! I would definitely stay there again preferably for more than 1 night!

  • Liked — The room and location.
  • Disliked — We liked everything!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cortona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

No listing for this one. Website: www.zumchristophel.de. Address: Simeonstrasse 1, 54290 Trier. Three-star property.

Recently spent one night here with my companion as part of a nine-night vacation in Germany. Convenient location next to Porta Nigra. Our corner room was spacious, with high ceilings. Clean, modern bath with the only tub we were to see the entire trip and a good shower. However, not ready when we arrived after check-in time, stained carpet had not been vacuumed, furniture was worn, and walls could have used a coat of paint. Gentleman at reception was pleasant, but two staff women we interacted with were fairly high-strung, spoke no English and seemed to think we'd understand them better if they yelled at us. Only non-buffet breakfast of our vacation and most meager. We were given a basket of breads with small packets of preserves, butter, and a plate with a couple of slices of cold cuts and cheese. Certainly adequate--but nothing compared to what we found at other three-star hotels; even our one two-star had them beat. On balance, a mediocre experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank susanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.0 mi away
Romischer Kaiser
Romischer Kaiser
#35 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aulmann
Hotel Aulmann
#14 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altstadt Hotel
Altstadt Hotel
#38 of 49 in Trier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Pieper
Hotel Restaurant Pieper
#21 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vinum
Hotel Vinum
#26 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Casa Chiara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant

Property: Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant
Address: Simeonstr. 1, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Christophel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing