We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cityhotel Primavera
Ranked #48 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Located on a side road off a plaza in Trier. Restaurants, historic sites are within walking distance. About a 20 minute walk from the train station. Staff friendly and helpful. Room simple and adequate. At least 3 sides face streets or alleys. If windows need to be opened (no A-C), it can be very noisy. Breadfast was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed 4-in-a-room for one night only. The room provided everything we needed: 2 of us slept on a sleeper-sofa. The bathroom was small, but tidy with hairdryer. Pros: Location in downtown Trier was close to everything (including Karl Marx house, Dom, Cathedral and Porte Nigra). The hotel also had its own parking area. Breakfast was good and WiFi was available. Cons: The shower water temperature was a bit tricky to adjust (freezing or scorching). Trashman outside decided to make a lot of noise before 6am and woke us all up. Also, with some road construction we had to make several circles before finding the hotel. Overall, hotel was right for our budget and in a good location.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quicktrip2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

I booked a family room using the web-site booking.com.
The booking worked out very well.
The family-room no 305 had two excellent beds and one bed-sofa with two hard narrow uncomfortable beds.
We are a family 2 adults (49) and 2 teenagers (15). The teenagers who slept on the bed-sofa complained quite a lot.
The atmosphere was not very friendly in my opinion. And even if the hotel was located on a kind of pedestrian area, traffic noise was quite annoying anyway. To return to this hotel would not be my first choice. And avoid family room if you don'r have really small children who can accept a narrow stiff bed-sofa.
The bathroom was extremely small and not very "up to date". There were no soap nor schampoo which I find very strange for a hotel.
The breakfast was alright but nothing extraordinarily. The fruitsalad was a mix of canned and fresh friut. You could only choose hard boiled eggs. No warm food whatsoever (like bacon).

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobbe-Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

OK hotel, but nothing above average. VERY good Italian restaurant. Breakfast was nice too. Good location, close to city centre. Parking across the street. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank catofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

Stayed here for a week as part of the Rallytravel package whilst watching Rallye Deutschland.

Easy to find, the hotel looks attractive as you approach it, and once you've found somewhere to park. (Not as easy as it sounds, but we managed to get in on the street outside every night with no issues) the front terrace looks very welcoming.

Reception and check in was dealt with easily, and English was spoken fluently.

We were given a room on the 4th floor, access to which is either via stairs or the world's smallest lift.

The room itself was great, velux windows gave a view over the neighbourhood and the (twin) beds were far enough apart to be comfortable.

A TV is provided with approx 20 channels, include some in English. A large wardrobe, dressing table, comfy chair and work desk complete the room.

En-suite shower room was always clean, towels were changed daily and the shower actually had pressure (my personal bugbear when staying away)

Only downside to the room, as mentioned above, the walls are a little thin and if you have a loud group of people staying nearly, you will hear them - not enough to wake up, but it's possible to make out what's being said.

Breakfast was great, served in a sunny room downstairs, it's also possible to eat it on the terrace.
The usual continental selection of cold meats, cereals, toast, tea and coffee were present, and all tasted good.

We sampled the evening meal in the hotel several times, eating different dishes each night - the pizzas are fantastic, and rival anything I've eaten in the UK.
Bar prices were reasonable, and the bar stayed open late most nights. Be aware though that smoking is allowed throughout, and that includes the restaraunt section.

In all, I can't find anything negative about the Primavera, and would actively look to stay here again next year, over and above the other properties that Rallytravel offer.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DMines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

We drove from Belgium. Directions on hotel website are great; easy to find. The hotel parking is close to the hotel. Staff gave a good welcome, fluent in many languages as you would expect. Room was nice, fairly large. Location is excellent; 5 minutes walk from Marktplatz. Good breakfast. We had a 2-year old; hotel has a high chair and enough space to place it without blocking traffic. Good stay; would go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NATOPatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

Cityhotel Primavera is a 20 minute walk and a five minute cab ride from the Trier Hauptbahnhof and located on Johanstrasse, at the southern end of the pedestrian shopping district. We took a cab and with rounding up the fare with a small tip, it was €8.

We stayed three nights, were warmly greeted on our arrival and given a spacious room overlooking the courtyard and entrance. The hotels website photographs are accurate. The room had nice beds, ample storage space, a desk, a small sofa, and a table and two comfortable chairs. The bathroom was roomy, with a great shower and good, fluffy towels.

Breakfast was the classic cold buffet, generous with many different breads and rolls, meats and cheeses, soft boiled eggs and an assortment of dry cereals.

The hotel has an Italian restaurant attached, and while we did not dine there, it was good to see lots of locals filing up the place every night. It has a bar that looked very welcoming.

We ate just down the street at Johanstr. 11 at Taverna Chaldiki, a neighbourhood Greek restaurant. (see review)

The main historical sites and the shopping district with lots of cafes and Konditerei are less than five minutes from the hotel. The Porta Nigra is only 10 minutes (and from there another 10 to the train station).

This review would not be complete though without mentioning the rather thin walls. Conversations in rooms across the hall could be clearly heard. Also, the shower gel dispenser was empty on our second day and was not refilled when we opened it up and left the empty container on the shelf above the sink. The room was always cleaned very well, but perhaps with less attention to detail then is required...Equipped with our own soapy products, we were well able to overcome the trauma of no shower gel.

Still, the hotel staff was warm and welcoming, with a genuinely cheerful "good morning" everyday. Recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes. Stay there again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank snootsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trier
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Frankenturm
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aulmann
Hotel Aulmann
#13 of 49 in Trier
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenz am Zuckerberg
Residenz am Zuckerberg
#25 of 49 in Trier
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Handelshof
Handelshof
#49 of 49 in Trier
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityhotel Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Primavera

Address: Johannisstr. 16, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityhotel Primavera 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cityhotel Primavera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Primavera Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing