We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location near Roemerbruecke / bike friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Constantin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Constantin
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Hereford, Arizona
Level Contributor
192 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good location near Roemerbruecke / bike friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel was apparently remodeled this past winter. We were here with friends for the start of a 10-day bike tour from Trier to outside Koblenz along the Mosel. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we had a nice view of the Roemerbruecke and Mosel. The location is quite nice and was an easy ride on the local buses from the train station (to that end, really recommend getting the DB Navigator app from Deutsche Bahn - covers buses point-to-point too...). Breakfast very good as well. If you're a bicyclist they do have an area in the underground garage for secure bike storage. No complaints. Yes it is on a busy street but with the windows shut it isn't much noticeable. Interestingly too there were some businesses around the corner on the street that weren't ideal (a porn shop?) but we never saw any questionable activity, so not a problem. Mention it only because I find you may have photographs of the hotel but unless you can check Google maps street-view you won't necessarily know what's around, a good thing to remember to check. Bottom line - I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
34
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April, 2013. The hotel was a 10-15 minute walk from the town center. The hotel is located on a busy street but the room was quiet. We were able to get free internet connection only from the lobby. BUT the lobby and all the hallways smelled like an ashtray. The two rooms that we had retained a smokey aroma. It seemed worse after the cleaning crew was finished Perhaps they smoked in the room while cleaning?? I went to the front desk to complain about the smell and noticed the staff was smoking in the back of the check in area.

Room Tip: Breakfast was 7 euro per person per day. I would skip this and pick something up to eat in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trier hotels

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend in December 2012 to visit the Christmas markets. It was a nice hotel and we had no complaints, it was also only walking distance to the town centre. We had a nice room overlooking the river, the only criticism I can make is that on their web site the hotel goes to great lengths to say how comfortable their beds are , I did not find them very comfortable at all .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilloutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here for a week in March and was very happy with the hotel. It was very moderately priced and our room was very spacious with a double bed and a pull out couch. The hotel was small and quiet, although it is on a busy street and the staff was really friendly. It has a very interesting decor, with museum-like displays. Breakfast was in their restaurant upstairs and this was also very good. In the beginning, we were a little hesitant to visit the restaurant for dinner because it was so small and there are other much flashier places around, but on the last night we were tired and ended up going there for dinner and it was one of the best meals we had that week. It tasted like a home cooked meal. There isn't much of a selection in the off-season, but what they had was amazing. Compared to other hotels in the city, its proximity to the main area of town is a little farther, but Trier is small and easily walkable, so it wasn't a big problem. I would definately come back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Found this hotel on trip advisor and booking.com. Read very accurate reviews and decided to book this hotel for 2 nights. If you buy a parking token from Reception, parking is 2 euros every time you leave the parking lot, which wasn't a problem for us at all. Old town Trier is walking distance, so you don't really need your car in order to explore. Since we don't mind walking, we didn't mind the location of the hotel. There are two gas stations that are close for drinks, snacks. The room was very spacious for a European hotel. Actually one of the biggest I've stayed in. Actually had a loveseat and a coffee table, which was very nice. The heat in our room wasn't working properly, told the reception and she immediately gave us a space heater and said she would look at it the next day, so the service was great. I did not eat at the hotels restaurant so am not sure about the food. I would stay here again if ever returned to Trier!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank my2cents2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I was booked this hotel by a friend for a stay in Trier. What a mistake!

I requested a double bed so I could stretch out in bed instead of a small single bed. So imagine my disappointment when my 'double' bed was in fact two single beds pushed together! It was impossible to stretch out at all with this for my 3 stay in this hotel. I complained to reception when they came and shrugged their shoulders "Zis is normal!" was the response. Actually, this is not normal. I have stayed at many hotels in many counties - many more primitive than Germany too - where a double bed actually means a double bed. A twin room is a room with two single beds and intended for two people to have separate beds whilst in the same room. I know many hotels cope with this by having a special cover which goes over two single beds to make a comfortable double bed. No, not at the Hotel Constantin. They are more than happy to charge me for a double rate and give me two single beds. Of course, I can only be on one bed at a time as there is a crack between the two beds means it is very uncomfortable. I was astonished that they rent these beds out in all honesty.

Then there is the pillows...wow. These were so uncomfortable that I needed both pillows (the other from the other single bed of course) - of course they were the worst ones I have ever come across in a hotel ever. Why not actually but some good quality pillows for your guests? Do you wish them to have an unpleasant stay?

The mattress was so poor that I had a bad back for the first few days - as did a friend who was in another room - seriously are you trying to ruin my trip?

The shampoo / shower gel was of measly amount and not enough for anyone to use at all. Talk about being mean.

There was no sign on the back of the door to request the maid to clean later on as you did not want to be disturbed. Well, guess what? I was disturbed by the maid. As a result, my room wasn't cleaned for a day. I only got it cleaned on the second day due to me insisting to the manager that I needed it being cleaned and 1pm was ridiculously late.

The room was clean, albeit cold, as the only heating was a low-power radiator in the bathroom. The television, although working, only had one international channel - CNN. Hardly appealing to a tourist is it? No safe, no mini-bar.

I was just so bemused on how things which you simply expect in a basic hotel just weren't even considered. Whoever is the manager / owner of this hotel really needs to do some research by travelling and checking out other hotels as this was quite simply an embarrassment. It's not hard, it's just basic common sense - the first thing, sort out your double beds. You can't charge for two singles instead.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
740 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

This hotel is very nice for a stopover for few days. We had an itinerary up to Cochem so we have to familiarize the region first. Their is a car park with a reasonable fee. The room is very clean though the receptionist was not very enthusiastic., yet was able to assist our needs. Maps were provided and made some suggestions for the city tour.

Decided to go around the City and found out the remnants of the olden times. There were a lot of remarkable architecture to date back during the Roman times. To see all these would need one to go around with a map at hand. The distance to the hotel was just right for a leisurely stroll.

The restaurant was cozy and nice and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MijnlieverdFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.2 mi away
Handelshof
Handelshof
#48 of 49 in Trier
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel  Roemerbruecke
Hotel Roemerbruecke
#22 of 49 in Trier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aulmann
Hotel Aulmann
#14 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#31 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Kugel
Hotel Restaurant Kugel
#43 of 49 in Trier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residenz am Zuckerberg
Residenz am Zuckerberg
#17 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Constantin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Constantin

Property: Hotel Constantin
Address: St.-Barbara-Ufer 1-2, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Constantin 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Constantin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantin Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing