We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paulin Hotel
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Trier
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed this hotel for 2 nights to explore Christmas markets. 10 min. walk from train station, maybe a bit longer with suitcases. Porta Nigra was just a min. away from the hotel. So very close to the old city centre. Booked non smoking twin room but it wasn't available when we checked in so we ended up staying in a smoking room. Room is pretty dated, furnitures smelled (smoking smell). No shampoo/conditioner in a bathroom. It only had body soap. There was no bathtub, just a shower booth. Hotel staff spoke English so there is no problem communicating. They closed the reception around 23:00 so needed to carry the key to open the front door if you plan to come back late. I had a problem to open the room door with the key. I could be only me and that particular room we stayed but it was kind of tricky to open. Free wifi was available throughout the hotel but the signal was very weak in a room. There was a bar on the ground level which opened till 22-23:00 depending on customer's need. In a room, there was no kettle or coffee maker. A small grocery store was right next door opens till 21:00. There was a big supermarket near the station also. Overall, it was a good option to stay in Trier to explore the market as the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHHYYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
23
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
HI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Nothing really stood out about this hotel. Although my friend booked a non smoking room, we were assigned to a smoking room with the smoke odor. We tried to change our room, but it was not successful. Wifi worked O.K. The key to the room was very tricky. Had to try at least 5 times to open the door each time. Very annoying. The hotel closes at night, so we had to carry our key. The bar downstairs had a great staff. Location was O.K. Price was O.K.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaliaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The four of us stayed for three nights to visit the best Christmas Market in Germany, The hotel is well located with excellant parking, The staff were very helpful and run a very clean well equiped hotel, Breakfast is superb and well priced, My only very small gripe bring your own pillow !

I would reccomend it to all.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for three nights on our visit for the German Christmas market. The hotel is perfectly placed for the Christmas Market, all the shops and restaurants. This hotel is the best budget hotel we have ever stayed in. The rooms are very clean and well equipped. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, a fantastic location, only 100m away from the Porta Nigra and the old city. Our rooms were still being cleaned at 2pm and the hotel staff offered us a free coffee while waiting.
We did not take breakfast because on Sunday it only starts at 8 pm and we left early.

The pictures on Booking.com look a bit nicer than the hotel actually is. However, an overall very nice stay at this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Trier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Paulin for three nights at the beginning of October, and could not be more pleased. This is our second visit, as we were here in April, 2008, too. We have found Hotel Paulin to be a Very clean, well-appointed, convenient, reasonably priced hotel, with a very friendly and helpful staff. The location is perfect for walking to the old city of Trier, and several good restaurants. We love the buffet breakfast, including the delicious hard rolls! I made my reservation online, and had no problems. We will definitely stay at Hotel Paulin if our travels take us back to Trier. Can we give them 6 Stars??

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here, so I suppose that will go someway to show consistency.
The place is ideally located to walk into central Trier and a short walk to the Mosel, off road parking and biker friendly.
The hotel has always been extremely clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are very modern with the usual facilities.
Breakfast is the traditional buffet type, with the usual meats cheese eggs etc, but also cereal and fruits. It might not be included in the cost of your room, so be sure to specify it if you want it.
If your not a coffee drinker and only drink (normal ?) tea, take care, plenty of the perfumed (posh) teas, but the plain teas can be thin on the ground. They tend to provide cream with the brew stuff, so look near the cereals for real milk. This isn't a criticism as such, it's the same throughout Germany / Europe, they don't drink tea like wot I do.
In short, my couple of experiences at this hotel are positive and I would not hesitate to recommend it to someone who wants to visit Trier.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.5 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aulmann
Hotel Aulmann
#14 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paulin Hotel

Property: Paulin Hotel
Address: Paulinstr. 13, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paulin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family hotel << Paulin>> is in the town center, in the Porta Nigra's shadow, and only a few minutes' walk from the tourist attractions (Main market, Cathedral, Steipe). It takes about 6 minutes to go to the cycle track along the mosel. Our comfortable and modern rooms offer a flat-screen TV, a minibar, a safe, free WI-FI, a phone, a spacious desk and cosy seats. The bathroom offers liberty of movement, is fitted with a WC, a shower/bathtub, a telephone and a magnifying mirror. In the lobby, you will find a computer connected to internet that you can use for free. You can reach every floor with our lift. You will be able to park your car in our main parking or in our underground parking for free during your stay. Our large breakfast buffet will give your day a good start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Paulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paulin Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing