We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely classic hotel with great wellness facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Hugel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Hugel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
463 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Lovely classic hotel with great wellness facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Top hotel in Trier! We enjoyed every moment of our stay here. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We felt very welcome. The hotel is located somewhat out of the city center (1,5 km). If you travel by car, you can park your car for free as long as needed.

We stayed in the Meran room (a junior suite) which was excellent. The room was very spacious with lots of room to hang your clothes and some very comfy sofa’s. The bathroom was super clean, with a nice big bath and an excellent shower.

What makes this hotel really stand out are the wellness facilities. Two sauna rooms, one steam room and two nice rooms to relax (one with wather beds!). Really enjoyed the ice which was freely available to cool down. The wellness facility was very clean and calm, since it is only open for hotel guests.

Slept like a baby after enjoying a nice evening in the sauna. Beds were very comfortable. Only minus: the (free) wifi isn’t all that fast and I had to reconnect and re-enter my password several times.

I took a nice dip in the (small) swimming pool before breakfast. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. So many dishes to taste from, combined with a nice glass of Sekt. Lovely! Bread was freshly baked and my poached egg with musterd sauce was just perfect. Loved the fresh fruit and the rice pudding.

Prices are a bit high, but if you want a weekend away to relax and enjoy, this is definitely the place to be. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolienBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    79
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
300
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a really lovely old fashioned hotel. The staff are warm and obliging and the welcome warm. The rooms are very nice and the beds comfortable. The food for dinner and breakfast is very good especially breakfast when there is a huge choice of dishes. Dinner is good too if a little germanic. The only problem is the quality of the internet service. Mine kept breaking down and I had to enter the passwords several times in a couple of hours. This would deter me from coming here again as it is important for business people to be able to work in their rooms between meetings and at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilana049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a lovely and very clean Hotel. The Staff from the moment you check in are very warm and welcoming. It is an older Hotel, on a hill, but have some rooms that are newer. Very nice breakfast buffet every morning. In our room upon arrival was a nice platter of fruits & chocolates on our pillows. Nice indoor pool. Excellent service and the entire Staff goes out of their way to be helpful. We are very specific with our requirements of our room. We had a beautiful room, named "Madrid" in the newer section of Hotel. The pool was right next to our room so our curtains must always be closed if anyone was in the pool area because you could look right into our room. We did have a lovely big room, large entrance, good closet space, big bathroom with nice double sinks which was important for us, separate tub and big shower with two shower heads, one being a rain shower head. Toilet was in another separate room. Nice patio with table & two chairs, but because in lower portion we looked into hedges. Now for some of the negatives; because room was downstairs it had no views at all. Room was always too warm. All bath towels are thin, scratchy and of poor quality. No elevators so this would not be a Hotel for anyone with handicaps, many stairs. Parking is very poor. Not conveniently located for walking into Town, must have car. But if these negatives are not a problem for some travelers then I would definitely recommend Villa Hugel.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget you get what you pay for and request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcaputo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Villa. After driving for over 4 hours from Switzerland, we very pleased to be welcomed by such a friendly greeting at the reception. Our room was wonderful with a huge terrace and all the necessary amenities.

The wellness area was perfect after a day of walking around the city and the pool was a great way to start the day before breakfast. Both were extremely well maintained and at the highest standard.

Breakfast was incredible and it is alway nice to have your eggs prepared in a kitchen and served to you by very friendly and competent staff. We really appreciated that the boss was always present at the reception when we arrived and during breakfast assisting the staff.

As the name suggests, Villa Hügel is a very class establishment and I would recommend it to anyone planning a stay in Trier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristySPEAKUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night, and wish we could have stayed for 10 more. You can see why they won an award for best service. Everyone who works there goes above and beyond to make your stay perfect. Great large rooms and good food. The only draw back is that the hotel is a little ways away from the town center, but its an easy enough walk that it was not a problem.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the Florence suite...amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snakebyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

From the moment I arrived I had a great feeling about staying at Villa Hugel. The staff are friendly and attend to your every need, they have a professional team of staff that exceed the level of service of most five star hotels. The place is clean, quiet and has a relaxing feel about it. I stayed in one of the lower floors looking out over the city and the small weekend gardens that can be found in most german towns. Yes it is a 15 minute walk from the city, but even less if you borrow one of their bikes, so I found the location very accommodating. Breakfast was the best I had in my whole 2 week european vacation. The selection and quality of the food was outstanding. My only feedback is that there is no coffee/tea making facility in the rooms, but that seems to be a norm in Germany.

Room Tip: Every room is a different size, so maybe ask to see a couple rooms before you select one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

If I'll stay in Trier again, I'll definitely stay here again.

First critics: The reasons I did not give 5 points are the limited parking spaces, the location and the size of the Bathroom. Parking spaces are limited (at the Hotel and the neighbouring place called Hügelchen) and there are just few parking spaces in the neighbourhood. The location is perfect to relax, but slightly further away if you want to explore the city by foot. The Bathroom was a bit small (Room Basel), to be fair the receptionist told me that the Room was not their nicest and offered me a good price. For people who have a reduced mobility...I did not see an elevator, you should inquire if there is one.

Other than that there was no problem or critic possible... I travel a lot, but the personnel was definitely at a 5 stars superior level, friendly and competent, great experience. The breakfast, was definitely the Highlight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trier
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eurener Hof
Hotel Eurener Hof
#7 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.7 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
20.3 mi away
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
#1 of 3 in Mulheim an der Mosel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blesius Garten
Blesius Garten
#8 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Hugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Hugel

Property: Hotel Villa Hugel
Address: Bernhardstrasse 14, 54295 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Trier
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trier
#1 Family Hotel in Trier
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Hugel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Hugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hugel Hotel Trier
Hugel Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing