We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, great location”
Review of Hotel Aulmann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aulmann
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, great location”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived in Trier early in the day by car, so we parked in a public garage and spent some time sightseeing before checking in. The hotel is located in the main pedestrian/tourist area, although it seemed to be on the edge. After dinner, we walked away from where we'd already been and found ourselves in an area that was less lively and looked a lot less touristy. Still nice, though.

The room was spacious, very clean, and the bathroom was positively enormous by European standards. Windows in both the bedroom and bath were nice, as the weather was cool and the breeze was nice. I don't think the hotel has central air conditioning. The streets stayed fairly lively, so we did hear people all night with the windows open, and then the trash collectors and street sweepers just before dawn (Thursday morning). The bed was comfortable and clean.

We had reserved a spot in their underground garage. The parking is double-decker, accomplished with hydraulic lifts that raise and lower with a key located on a post next to the lifts. It was the first time we'd seen anything like it, but it got nearly twice as many cars into the garage! Parking was very tight, even with the lifts because there were parallel spots marked off along the side walls of the garage that made it very narrow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    23
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
40
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We often stop in Trier on our way to and from Austria and in the past have stayed elsewhere, but our usual hotel was closed for holidays, so we stayed here instead. The hotel is very central, within easy walking distance from all the central attractions and the pedestrianised centre. There is usefully an underground garage for the hotel, but I think you need to reserve parking in advance.

The hotel has a really fresh clean atmosphere, and I am sure has been recently decorated. The rooms were comfortable, very clean and both the bedroom and bathroom were a good size, with modern fittings. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and a plentiful breakfast is served. You can get vouchers to use in one of the central restaurants (a restaurant specialising in potato dishes).

Some other reviews I read about the hotel stated it was difficult to find, but we had no problem, ensuring we were armed with a google map beforehand, which shows all the one -way streets, so this may be something worth considering.

All in all, good value for money and I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jylSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Some friends of mine who live in Trier recommended this hotel. It's very close to the main tourist area, and it was a very convenient location. I had looked on hotels.com to get an idea of the prices for hotels in Trier, and Hotel Aulmann was very competitive. My room was quite spacious, and the shower was great. I am a fairly large person, and some hotels in Germany have very tiny showers. But the shower at this hotel was big enough for me to turn around in without worrying about hitting the water controls with my elbows. It's comforts like this that make Hotel Aulmann well above average in my view.

They have wireless internet for a fee. I bought 1 hour of access, but couldn't figure out how to connect. They gave me a refund.

The breakfast buffet was fairly standard. Rolls, croissants, fruit, yogurt, meats & cheeses, cereal, and hard boiled eggs. Plus coffee, of course.

Overall, I had a great experience during my stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipsyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bostonian turned Floridian
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Great location, though a 15 - 20 minute walk from the train station. Our room (355) was large and had a tub with shower head. I saw into another room that did not I think. Quiet and clean. Good staff and great breakfast included. Wish the water out at breakfast has been bottled and not from the tap though. Walking distance from the sights, restaurants and shopping. Excellent sushi at Trier Sushi which is near the restaurant with all the potatoes (on the hotel's website amd pretty good). The hotel is not staffed after 11pm and is above some doctor offices. Neither were an issue. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I stayed here with a group of friends during the WRC

Hotel was very clean and the rooms adequate and the price was resonable

Its was extremly hot during our stay so the windows had to be left open and the street cleaners certainly were quiet at about 7am

Perfectly adequate for a lads weekend away

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilSIDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Great location, a little tough to find, but other than that we could walk to everything and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trav3llers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

A very nice hotel with reasonable price, very close to the shopping center. Walking distance to Trier Dom. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macungietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.8 mi away
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aulmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aulmann

Property: Hotel Aulmann
Address: Fleischstr. 47-48, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Aulmann 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Aulmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulmann Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing