We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern stay in a historic town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Trier is quaint, picturesque and very, very old. But when I started looking for hotel options, it seemed like most of the hotels' decor was stuck somewhere in the 1970-80's era's version of historic (ick) as opposed to charming/actual historic. So I was very happy to find Ante Porta, which seems to be one of the few modern options.

We had a great experience at the Ante Porta. The rooms were clean, design is modern, staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was yummy, fast, and affordable. The free wifi is a much appreciated feature. We had the family suite and it was basically 2 attached bedrooms, bath, and kitchenette. The beds were very comfy. Location is convenient to all of the old town attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tesiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 270 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is about 400m away from Porta Nigra. Everything is in walking distance. Perfectly located. The hotel is very clean and the staff was extremely friendly.

You need to like the colour "green", as this is the theme that follows you from the entry area to the rooms. :-)

Breakfast was very good (price 7,50€ -> it is worth it). Just a little crowded, but still ok to have a relaxed breakfast. I can clearly recommend the place, it's as well in walking distance from the train station (approx. 10 minutes walk)

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are entered from a kind of outside balcony, which is less comfortabl --> I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked here for a night stop off from doing a bit of a tour. delighted with quality of hotel. good big cark too rear (free). Strange, but the hotel seems to be listed under 2 names and so there are not a lot of reviews against this one I am reviewing....

The hotel is very modern and clean. Really good sized bedrooms with large bathrooms. Good central location. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Breakfast had lots of fresh bread, fresh fruit and some limited hot things, like scrambled eggs, but that didnt bother us, lots of everything you want.

Loved the free chocolates on reception and in your room.

Tip: there are no heavy curtains in room, it's a shutter, the switch for it is at entry door of bedroom.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Thank j0j0expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our trip to Trier. The hotel is really good. The location is fantastic, only a 5 minute walk to the ante Porte Nigra and the innercity (old town). At the back of the hotel you could park. The rooms are modern, clean and large.

The staff spoke excellent English and was helpfull to show us the good parts of Trier. The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kleinetijger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and one year old son stayed here this past weekend. If staying in Trier, this is def. a hotel to stay at. Private parking in the back, which for us and our big SUV was great. The staff was excellent and our room was modern, clean and large(compared to other hotels we've stayed at in Europe). We didn't have breakfast there, be is smelled amazing. Great location. We ended up driving and parking the garages in the center of town-too cold to walk with our one year old; but you can see Porta Nigra(Black Gate) from the hotel and all other attractions are near by.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCLacapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

What can i say apart from everyone was really friendly and spoke fluent english,the room was huge, the bed was really comfortable and the decor was so brilliant...i want to decorate ourwhole house like this !! oh ...and there is a good choice at breakfast ...we will definately be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helene t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited the christmas market in Trier the weekend before christmas and stayed the night at Ante Porta hotel. The hotel is clean, rooms good, and service is very friendly. The location is also very good, ca. 5-10 minutes walk from Porta Nigra in a quiet neighbourhood.

What we particularly liked was; parking facilities were good and cheap, WiFi was free of charge and working well, and last but not least the breakfast buffet was very good and very cheap.

Only problem (although it didn´t bother us much) was that the lift was of next to no use, so in most cases you have just to take the stairs or walk to the other end of the building (and still also take the stairs from 2nd floor if you stay at 3rd floor as we did).

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#5 of 49 in Trier
423 reviews
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ante porta - Das Stadthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ante porta - Das Stadthotel

Address: Paulinstr. 66, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range: $103 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ante porta - Das Stadthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your ante porta - Das Stadthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing