We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our second "Mercure" hotel of the trip, the location of this one would be hard to beat. The reception staff welcomed us warmly and efficiently and accessibility was first class with blue-plaque parking right outside the door. Our room looked directly over the Porta Nigra and was comfortable and well appointed. The contemporary styling was to our liking and everything in both bedroom and bathroom was spotlessly clean and well maintained.
With so many excellent restaurants in the pedestrianised city centre, just over the road, we chose not to dine in the hotel restaurant but breakfast was excellent and we were spoiled for choice at the well presented buffet.
Just one factor beyond the hotel's control spoiled an otherwise ideal overnight stay. One of the bars on the opposite side of the busy road junction had an outdoor event until late, with exceptionally loud music. Hopefully, this isn't something that happens every night and we'd risk another stay here, keeping fingers crossed that we'd chosen a non-music night!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 817 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

After driving trough the Mosel Valley we stayed one night in Trier. This is a beautiful city and the hotel is located opposite of the Porta Nigra. Our room had a nice view to the car park.
Room was quite big, it was clean, the beds were confy. The room was a bit outdated with its 1980`s look. The air-con was not working very well so it was very warm. No free wifi.

The rate was good and the location was superb!

Overall we had a good stay at this hotel.

Some upgrading on the rooms and it would`ve been 4 stars from me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the Porta Nigra.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haraldsenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ElioThePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our second-floor room faced out onto the massive Porta Nigra, built in AD190 as one of the four gates into Roman Treves. You walk through this gate to explore the town, which is full of ancient stuff.
The hotel itself was functional and convenient, which was more than the coffee-making machine in the room was. Reception was cheerful and welcoming, though 32€ for two breakfasts was a shade too expensive for us. Trier itself is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butlerhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for one night in August and it definitely ticked all the boxes. The lobby and rooms were well kept, very friendly front desk and bar staff. Can't beat the location with great views of the Porta Nigra across the road. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rm 523 faces Porta Nigra from the top floor. Excellent views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GutUpAndGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked for a 2 nights stay in a Deluxe Privilege Room which have a beautiful view of Ponta Nigra. The room was spacious, clean with nice size bathroom which we think need to be upgraded. The hotel room includes a complimentary coffee/tea making facilities, free Wi-Fi , a complimentary guidebook of Trier with free parking onsite. We find the air conditioning was not so cooling and the price for breakfast was a little expensive. Overall we had a good stay here and will return if we are in Trier in the future

Room Tip: Deluxe Privilege Room have a really nice view of Ponta Nigra.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizspruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a Privilege Room on the 5th floor which we decided immediately was a great idea. Spacious, comfortable beds. Hot outside so the air conditioning on the lowest fan level kept us cool and allowed us to sleep well. Make sure the windows are closed and that the sealing rubber lip is in place, Otherwise street noise does creep in.
Bathroom boring and nothing to enjoy. Gets you clean and dry.
Free WiFi that came along with the room rate sucked badly. Connection worked but was so slow that POP eMails could not be downloaded. Alternative provided (T-online) was available for a fee (which I paid), but was precisely as slow. Conclusion: Same router system hosts two providers. VERY disappointing and reason not to return! Would have been a catastrophe had this been a business trip.
Receptionists were very nice but said convincingly they could do nothing. "Compensated" us for WiFi desaster by not charging for parking. Whoppee!
Bistro staff on ground floor is nice and menu is ok but not too large.
Breakfast restaurant is large and has an ok buffet - again nothing to write home about. Restaurant staff could use some smiling lessons. Somebody seemed to have died in everyone's families.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor towards the Porta Nigra is probably the best choice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paquisoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
820 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#5 of 49 in Trier
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
1.3 mi away
FourSide Plaza Hotel Trier
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Address: Porta Nigra Platz 1, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Trier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range: $90 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the world-famous Porta Nigra and just a few minutes from the historic center, our modern 4 star hotel bids you a warm welcome with its 106 rooms. Our restaurant features a view of the Porta Nigra, the Bistro-Bar Vis-a-Vis, the international casino of Trier and conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing