We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Most probably the best business hotel in town. Most rooms could use new furniture but the size of the rooms is ok, the windows are big and the view is great. Parking is available at a price of 9.50 per day for hotel guests and WIFI is cheap (though not free in most arrangements). I can recommend the hotel as the location is great and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Choose the Privilege Room as it comes with free WIFI, late checkout and Porta Nigra View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carsten80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    381
    84
    16
    5
See reviews for
124
397
56
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We choose this hotel because it had parking and other reviews. Excellent location. Very clean. Large rooms. If get a front room you get picture postcard view of the Porto negro.
Only downside is that they make you pay for wireless Internet. Good breakfast .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

As you would expect from the Mercure chain, a clean and spacious hotel. What really set the experience apart was the fantastic breakfast with a view of the Porta Nigra since the hotel is literally across the street. The only downside was the bed wasn't the most comfortable but as I later found with my stay at other hotels, I was not going to find a great bed anywhere I stayed in Germany this time around. I would definitely stay at this hotel again though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatseesleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated at the most beautiful part of Trier: just opposite the Porta Nigra. In ten steps from the front door you reach the monument and after that the great medieavel center of Trier. Hotel Porta Nigra is not quite as beautiful as the monument itself. It is a somewhat dated, concrete kube. Rooms are fine (although it was impossible to shut of the heating, so it felt like we were sleeping in a sauna). Only a few rooms have sight at the Porta Nigra. So don't forget to ask for 'a room with a view'.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronse
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Nice hotel directly at the start of the old town. Hotel could need a freshing up of the rooms. We had a nice view of the Porta Nigra. Just a pity the restaurant was closed.
We stayed here for 1 night, which is maybe a bit too less too discover the nice city

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view upon the Porta Nigra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel based on price and location. Disappointed at description provided by hotel, wifi is not free, sauna and solarium is in the fitness room which is outside the hotel (it was snowing when we visited), and yes, you need to pay 8 euros a day for using the gym.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jorge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were in Trier to see enjoy the oldest city in Germany. This hotel is in a great location you can walk to just about any where in about 10 Min or less. That includes shopping train station and a theater. This hotel is directly across the street from the Porta Nigra which has a cool museum attached to it.

The hotel rooms are in very good condition. The beds are comfortable and extra pillows are available in the room. You can choose a smoking or nonsmoking room.

the bar down stairs has a very good staff.

Room Tip: We couldn't see the Porta Nigra from our side of the hotel. I would recommend a room looking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Property: Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Address: Porta Nigra Platz 1, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Trier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the world-famous Porta Nigra and just a few minutes from the historic center, our modern 4 star hotel bids you a warm welcome with its 106 rooms. Our restaurant features a view of the Porta Nigra, the Bistro-Bar Vis-a-Vis, the international casino of Trier and conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing