We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very good place”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

On of the best locations - right across the Porta Nigra. Rooms were very spacious with Porta Nigra view from the window. The breakfast was awesome and still cannot forget :). Stayed there for couple of nights and had a pleasant time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    393
    88
    16
    5
See reviews for
131
408
59
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel overlooks the Porta Negro at the start of a very large pedestrian center, the Ideal location in this beautiful city. The hotel breakfast was expensive at 15 euros, but within 2 minutes walk you have a choice of coffee shops or bakers at less than half the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed three nights in August 2012. Excellent service in reception. Good advice on restaurants for a meal. Clean and high standard room. Hotel breakfast with good choice. Very good locations for trips on the Mosel river or a train ride to Luxembourg. Old city of Trier has a lot to offer,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired43Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
209 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

You cannot get closer to the Porta Negra, it is across the street. This is a very good part of the Mercure chain. Staff is excellent and attentive. The breakfast in typical first rate german style. It is close to the grand pedestrian center of the old town, near the market square and only a little walk to the Cathedral and St Gongolf.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel over the parking lot were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buppa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a very reasonable €65 as part of a summer special, and was very pleased with the room and the hotel overall. But the charge for the Internet was surprising at this class of hotel. Location cannot be best, right across from the Porta Nigra.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hands down best Mecure I have stayed in to date. Great rooms, great view from my window of the Porta Nigra. Friendly service. Would stay again. 148 euro.

Room Tip: Pay for a room facing the gate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmySpousechicagoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
135 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I just took a quick trip to Germany. One of the places we visited during our travels was Trier, Germany. I booked three nights at the Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra on short notice. I got a good rate-- three nights cost about $430, not including breakfast or Internet access. This hotel is an easy walking distance from the train station and is situated directly across the street from the Porta Nigra.

We arrived at the Mercure hot and thirsty after a long, crowded train ride from Cologne. The staffers were very friendly and ready to welcome us. We were assigned a room on the third floor, facing away from the street. The window in our room was open. We shut it, which allowed us to use the air conditioning and shutting out the noise from the bar across the street.

The room was very comfortable and had a flatscreen television, desk, phone, and large bathroom. There was a tub/shower combination which took me a try or two to figure out. The trick is to pull out the shower button before you turn on the water or pull very hard. Otherwise, you'll be taking a bath! If you like hot towels, you're in luck. The room has a towel warmer. We didn't use it, of course. You need to use a card to keep the electricity on, but the good news is any card will do. My husband kept our lights on using a grocery store loyalty card! Very handy if you want to keep the room cool when you're out. The room has a minibar. I thought the prices were somewhat reasonable and partook of a Coca-Cola one night. Internet is available for nine euros per 24 hours or 35 euros for a week.

The Mercure has a fitness center (which I didn't use), a restaurant/bar, and parking. We did go to the bar one night and had a good time chatting with the very friendly bartender. If you use the bar, be sure to bring your room card with you. Otherwise, if you need to use the restroom, you have to pay 50 cents. When my husband mentioned it to me, a man I assume works there started to explain and offered to let us use a card. The bar is right by the parking garage and if they don't keep it locked and/or charge for its use, everybody would be using it.

SInce breakfast wasn't included in our rate, we didn't eat at the hotel. There are plenty of options in the old town area, though-- everything from McDonald's to cute little cafes. There's also an awesome chocolate store near the cathedral which has breakfast and some of the best hot chocolate you'll ever drink!

Basically, we had a very good stay. I did notice, however, that the room we stayed in could have used a little more dusting. I would stay at the Mercure again, though, if I could score a good rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knotheadusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
2.0 mi away
Hotel Eurener Hof
Hotel Eurener Hof
#7 of 49 in Trier
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Property: Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Address: Porta Nigra Platz 1, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Trier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the world-famous Porta Nigra and just a few minutes from the historic center, our modern 4 star hotel bids you a warm welcome with its 106 rooms. Our restaurant features a view of the Porta Nigra, the Bistro-Bar Vis-a-Vis, the international casino of Trier and conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing