We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Amphitheater

Amphitheater
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.36*
and up
City Sightseeing Trier Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #7 of 178 things to do in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ruins of a huge second-century amphitheater, one of the largest in the entire Roman Empire.
Sulmona, Abruzzi, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I'm an Italian girl and i visited this "amphitheater" last May. Citizens told us that it was a suggestive place and very similar to the Colosseum. It is a lie. That place is a sort of garden. There was a bad smell and there were lots of puddles. We also paid 2euro to see this rubbish. Dont visit this place. If u want to see a real amphitheater, come to Italy!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    161
    68
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This amphitheater in the far away province of Germania is pretty impressive. It is fairly well preserved, although the stone seats have been removed long ago to no doubt build homes in the area, it is still obvious that this was an important part of the town entertainment.
The most remarkable part of the structure is the arena floor. If you have seen the Colosseum in Rome, you might have been disappointed by the appearance of the arena itself. Here, the floor is intact and you can walk underneath to see how it is all held up. Very interesting!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This old Roman amphitheater is a nice place to go. You can walk across the whole theater, a walk through the vault and climb up the stairs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hansbennik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A walk back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The theater is a bit outside the town centre. A very good informative pamphlet is included in the entry fee.

The place is impressive, even by our standards today. Like all old structures time has taken it's toll, the stone terraced seating has been removed to build a monastery. You can go down into "the cellar" of the arena and see the engineering underneath. The arched gateways are also quite impressive.

There is supposed to be remains of painted plaster somewhere but we couldn't find it. It may be in the restricted sections.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonasfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
156 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A long walk for nothing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Being a fan of ancient times we were excited at seeing this amphitheatre. We set off on our 15- 20 minutes walk from town past other Roman ruins and a residential area and arrived at the Amphitheatre paid the €3 entrance fee.
well to say we were disappointed is an understatement,nothing really much to see here. Much smaller than we had anticipated. Walking around and underneath the grounds to where the prisoners were kept did give you a sense of what it was like,but our best description of this place is ruined ruins.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank famousactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphitheater also viewed

Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Amphitheater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing