We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it”
Review of Hotel Austria

Hotel Austria
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Austria
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We booked this hotel as a convenient and reasonable place to stay before we flew out of Frankfurt the next day. It was close enough to the train station to be able to walk, but not so close that we thought we would be bothered by noise. The entire hotel smelled of smoke including our supposedly non-smoking room. At first glance we thought the room would be decent enough, however the floors had not been vacuumed in quite sometime and was filthy. The sheets did not feel clean and there were several bugs in the room. The hotel staff was very rude to my husband at checkout as there was a misunderstanding about the payment. The positives about the hotel were the location and the breakfast, but nothing is more important than a clean room in my opinion. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — breakfast and location
  • Disliked — filthy and rude staff at checkout
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
3
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Hotel rooms were above average. very helpful front desk personnel, good location, short walk to train station, cathederal,
and Gutenberg museum. Restaurant Was very good.

  • Liked — recently renovated rooms
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveBoston_MA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

The Hotel Austria is adequate and nothing more. Our room was good, the price moderate, the location decent, but cost-saving measures make the overall value only average. Next time, we would look elsewhere.

Parked one block from the old city, the Hotel Austria offered a pretty good central location. While the back streets surrounding the hotel were of questionable character, by sticking to the main streets we were able to walk in comfort from Mainz's main train station and to the old city's pedestrian malls. A 20-minute walk got us to the Rhine and the floats for the K+D boat cruise for which we had come.

For the 100 Euros we paid for a twin room in April, we were satisfied with the amenities. Two good beds, a long desk, a clean bathroom with shower, and quiet halls. There was no air conditioning and the only window opened onto the busy boulevard in front. However, on the 6th floor, the noise level was acceptable. The room included breakfast and it was good.

Incredibly, the hotel charges 11 Euro per night to watch the TV! Payment is via a card-activated remote. We stayed at many hotels in Germany and this was the only time we encountered such a scheme.

The hotel is narrow and the first floor is essentially a large room that combines reception, the bar, and a restaurant. This room is separated from the lift and stairs by a door that is closed at night. Furthermore, the front doors lock automatically at night, allowing only exit. As mentioned, the immediate area is a little rough.

The hotel seems to be a family-run business that limiit the use of outside labour. While the staff we encountered were polite, the atmosphere was less than warm. Strangely, the hotel is non-smoking but I encountered the owner and a friend smoking all evening in the empty bar.

Overall, this facility is pretty good but the cheesy pay-TV scheme and the odd atmosphere drag it down to merely average.

  • Liked — Good clearn room; convenient location
  • Disliked — Surrounding streets; pay-TV scheme
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Had originally considered another hotel because of rates but when I found a great last minute rate for this hotel I booked it. Conveniently located near train station and city. Nice single room facing courtyard. Owners very friendly and everything spotless.

Breakfast was not included in room rate (10 Euro) and I opted to have coffee and croissant in one of the many coffee shops that are located all over the city. I did eat lunch, however, at the restaurant being part of the hotel. Excellent and inexpensive meal, they have different daily lunch specials all around 6 Euro. Also received coupon with hotel stay for free beverage with meal and discounts depending on price of meal.

Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayridgeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caracas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Very professional service and good size nice rooms, and it also offers an excellent breakfast. An absolute plus is the hotel's location - 3 min to railroad station and 2 min from pedestrian area. Everything you want to visit in Mainz (Cathedral, Rhine promenade, Chagall windows, Guthenberg Museum etc.) is within easy walking distance. Even for a short stopover in Germany, I rather stay at this hotel than in Frankfurt - since it is only 25 minutes by commuter rail (S-Bahn) from FRA airport railroad station. I am using this hotel since 2001 and sometimes even as a base when business takes me to Cologne, Frankfurt, Koblenz , Wiesbaden or other surrounding cities, since everything is easily reachable by train. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank canaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2006

We stayed here during the World Cup in June of 2006. I was a bit hesitant to do so since I couldn't find any reviews online, but we took our chances. It turned out to be a perfectly acceptable two star hotel. The bathroom was small with a corner shower, and we had a balcony overlooking the street - make sure to ask for a room off the street if noise bothers you. The breakfast in the morning was typical European continental, but it was good and filling. Overall, it was nothing fancy, but for one night it had everything we needed and I'd stay again.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank shergenrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#10 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schottenhof
Hotel Schottenhof
#29 of 41 in Mainz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#8 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Havana
Hotel Havana
#28 of 41 in Mainz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Neubrunnenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Property: Hotel Austria
Address: Kaiserstr. 20, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing