We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhibition stay”
Review of Novotel Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Mainz
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed July 9, 2014

A group of us recently attended an exhibition in Mainz and stayed at the Novotel.The hotel easily dealt with our large group with fast checkin and checkout. The hotel is modern,the rooms are spacious and very clean. The bar was a good meeting place and large restaurant buffet style. It's a short walk to the town and shops. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 739 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

As other reviews have said, the walk from the train station to the hotel is up a big hill, be prepared and you will have no problems. The hotel was very clean and simple (which I mean in a good way) and exactly as advertised. Quick walk to the Altstadt for seeing the sights or walking to our river cruise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 92njones92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is excellent. It had spacious rooms, spotlessly clean and the staff were excellent. The swimming pool and spa area are large and a great place to relax. Location to the railway station was a huge plus for us. It is also a short walk to the main shopping precinct and a little further on to the river. For us, Mainz was a lovely town and a great stopover, rather than to venture on to the larger city of Frankfurt. If airline staff choose to stay at the hotel we thought it had to be good and it was every bit as good as we anticipated, no actually better!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug-Jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The hotel was a bit further away from the railway station than I thought, but still ok to walk. Check In was friendly and efficient. The room was good for the price paid. The Bar was well visited thanks to the excellent bar tender.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank eulo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Closest international type hotel to the town center. 5 minute walk to Schillerplatz or St. Stephens church. 10 minute walk to Mainzerdom. Adequate mini-Netto close for a few groceries. Staff friendly, multilingual. Good fruit complimentary at the front desk. Aircrews seem to like it as a cozier alternative to Frankfurt. Clean, but aging. Room furnished with minimum pillows and towels, but more can be obtained. Smallish, but very nice fitness center.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We came in this hotel for a wedding just across the street the location of the hotel was perfect. Also not far from the train station but you have to walk up the hill! Rooms are ok but nothing special. Hotel a little bit old but clean. Breakfast with extra fee but full of choices. Nice terrasse Behind.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Kat91130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The hotel was extremely easy to get to from the train station, you just have to walk straight up the hill. The room was big and extremely clean. It was easy to get around town, everything was walking distance from where we were. We spent most of our time here out exploring so this hotel meet our needs quite well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.3 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
321 reviews
4.3 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Mainz

Address: Augustusstrasse 6, 55131 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#6 Business Hotel in Mainz
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: $81 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Novotel Mainz is located in the central and peaceful historical area "Auf dem Kästrich", just a few minutes' walk from Mainz city center. Modern architecture and a heritage-protected vault dating back to the 17th century create a charming contrast in the hotel's interior, giving the hotel a distinctive edge. The 217 modern rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with flat-screen TV and free WIFI. The hotel has a restaurant, bar and wellness center complete with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. The 12 meeting rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. Chargeable parking is available in the indoor car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing