We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff and Awesome Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Awesome Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I spent 3 nights here with my son. We had not pre-planned our stay, and just showed up to see what was available. We had only planned on spending one or two nights, but wound up staying longer because we enjoyed our stay so much.

The location is great. Your are walking distance to all the local attractions, and situated right on the river.

We asked the front desk to swap out the bedding on one of the two beds in the room, as my son is allergic to feathers, and they managed to sneak into the room and do so just in the time we took to return to our car and bring up our luggage.

Every person working there was happy and greeted us with a smile each time we passed by. They have a very nice restaurant, which served a great buffet breakfast in the mornings and some pretty interesting eats the rest of the day. It was not exactly cheap, but the food was expertly prepared. My son said the lamb he had ordered was the best he had ever had. The lobby bar also offered some nice simpler meals.

Our room came with the Regency Club service, and the club lounge offered wine and beer in the evenings along with a nice selection of hot and cold appies.

The property also had plenty of parking available in their underground parkade. We spent too much time checking out the sights to try out the pool.

Yes, you can find cheaper, but the staff here really did spoil us.

The huge bathroom was awesome, with a rain shower next to the soaker tub. It even had a heated mirror in shower for shaving.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LangleyVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive review. I am delighted that you and your son enjoyed your stay so much, and that you liked the food, the rooms and the staff. Once again, thank you very much and I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    248
    47
    19
    4
See reviews for
126
327
76
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Konigswinter, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed only one night but there are good reasons for staying here when in Mainz

Staff very friendly. Everything feels/is high quality, Reasonably-sized rooms very well equipped with everything from flatpanel TV to nice bathrobes. Very nice, large bathroom...
Our room (cheapest category) faced inward with view only of loading dock - not inspiring - you may want to ask for/invest in outfacing room.

Interesting architecture in lobby with parts of Fort Malakoff integrated, a nice hangout. Nice pool and whirlpool area. We didn't have food at hotel, so cannot judge quality.

Very nice location at Rhine-Promenade and within very short walking distance you reach the old part of town and downtown shopping area (Augustinerstr.)

We stayed at an off-season weekend night: very fair pricing. One caveat: WLAN free only for first 30 minutes, followed by 18 Euros/24h....

Room Tip: Our room (cheapest category) faced inward with view only of loading dock - not inspiring - you may w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback of Hyatt Regency Mainz. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a great time at our hotel and experienced excellent service from our staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed for two nights and booked a club room with a city view. Really the view just looked at another building! The club facilities were okay but the choice of food etc was below what I have experienced at other hotels. The location next to the Rhine is superb but note the hotel is a ten minute taxi drive from the central Mainz station. The hotel is a very easy walk from a secondary station. Re the staff, they could not be faulted and I appreciated this. The room was quite small and impractical for the price charged. Did I enjoy my time there? Yes, I did but I would not return given I think I can do much better elsewhere. I did value the complimentary high speed internet which came with the club room! I did visit the spa but there was no ambience at all compared to other hotels. Other issues made me a touch uncomfortable there also and hence it was a one off visit and a fairly quick one.

Room Tip: Pay for a river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teringie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry that your recent stay with us did not met your expectations. Please accept my apologies and rest assured that I have passed on your comments to the team. I hope we have a further opportunity to demonstrate to you the care and attention we always strive to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Staff at this hotel go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. Upon check-in we were upgraded to a River View which had a beautiful view. We had booked a club room hoping to have breakfast the next morning before an early train to the airport but the club opened at the time we would have to leave so they packed two breakfast boxes for us to take along. And, they said if we had any spare minutes, we should dash into the restaurant and grab a bite so my husband grabbed coffee and slammed food - all included. And, the night before we needed dinner reservations which kept changing and the staff handled it with efficiency and grace. Just a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akinsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I would like to thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive review. In addition to that, I am delighted that you were highly satisfied with the team. Once again, thank you very much and I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
570 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Interesting facility combining the old (a former fortress) with the new (the modern building). Very well run, professional, friendly and efficient staff. Everything of high quality, from the breakfast buffet to the meeting rooms which are very large with huge windows. Many rooms have a nice view over the Rhine (see Photo) and in the morning you can do some really nice runs along the river, crossing to the other side, around, etc.
I am giving a "terrible" evaluation for value because they charge EUR 18 per day for WIFI. Knowing that the real cost to the hotel is a few dollars max, that most hotels in the world provide it for free and even cheap coffees do so, there is simply no justification for a hotel of this category to charge this amount, except ripping off or fleecing those business travelers who normally do not complain. Check in your search engine "Why are we still paying for hotel Wi-Fi?" or "Travellers 'fleeced' by hotel Wi-Fi charges" for further thoughts.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Rhine river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Mainz. At the same time I have taken note of your comment regarding free Wi-Fi in the hotel rooms. Indeed, Internet is charged at €18 per 24 hours and we apologise for the inconvenience that this caused. However, I am pleased to inform you that from January 2014, we will offer free Internet to our guests.
We hope to welcome you again soon at Hyatt Regency Mainz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff are great. The Regency Club room is rather satisfactory, though attention to some details could be improved (for example I type at the desk, which is quite damaged with scrapes). The bed is fantastic. The Regency Club is quite small and gets crowded. For breakfast it is much better to go to the restaurant below, which provided an excellent breakfast buffet.

One thing that this hotel needs to get sorted out -pronto- is its internet connection via Swisscom. It is simply appalling. Even though the Regency Club room includes a connection, the system would not recognise me with the usual room number/surname. In two days I had to get two different vouchers from the -very efficient and apologetic- staff. Trying to get multiple devices to connect means a huge amount of wasted time. Right now my laptop is connected, and so is one of my phones, but I can't get the iPad on (I have a Masters in technology and know my way around an iPad). The connection keeps dropping, you get error messages telling you that there are problems with the payment for your connection (even when you use the free one!). Simply pathetic.

Room Tip: Request a river-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielAbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
First of all I would like to take the opportunity to say thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding the staff and our rooms. Please rest assured that we have taken note of your critical points. We are very sorry that you had trouble logging yourself into the Internet and found it complicated to sign in for every device. Although we very much understand your point, it is true that while you may be able to work with one device for 24 hours without having to log in each time you start working, the use of different devices makes it necessary for you to register more than once. We very much apologise for this inconvenience.
Again, many thanks for your valuable feedback and we trust that we may look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Mainz in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed there on recommendation of a friend. Thanks to him. The place has location:close enough to the Frankfurt a.M airport to catch early flights, nice riversite walking and jogging right in front of the door, historic sights and the famous middle rhine valley with all the castles only a short drive away.
Staff was very helpful to point me into the right direction(s).
Food quality was better than in most comparable hotels in the states :-)

Room Tip: river site (east)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmith0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I would like to thank you personally for having taken the time and effort to report your experiences on TripAdvisor. It was with great pleasure that I read your compliments about our location, the staff and the food. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Mainz in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#4 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#3 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mainz

Property: Hyatt Regency Mainz
Address: Templerstrasse 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#1 Business Hotel in Mainz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Mainz 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Rhine, our Mainz hotel is close to the Old Town (Altstadt) and Mainz city centre, with most iconic attractions within walking distance. Hyatt Regency Mainz is only 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Congress Centre and has excellent connections to Frankfurt International Airport (25 minutes), to Mainz railway station and nearby motorways. The location in the central Rhein-Main region of Germany makes Hyatt Regency Mainz one of the preferred city hotels and destination for vineyard tours around Rheingau and Rheinhessen areas. Club Olympus Spa & Fitness is a Mainz wellness and fitness club catering to both body and mind, featuring the latest in fitness and training equipment. Recreation facilities include an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and steam bath. A variety of exclusive massage and cosmetic treatments are available, providing our Mainz hotel guests with the ultimate in relaxation. Sample delicious cuisine at one of our several renowned Mainz restaurants, including Bellpepper Restaurant with international delicacies and M-Lounge, which specialises in sandwiches, burgers, light snacks and homemade cakes. Enjoy barbecued delicacies and a stunning view of the Rhine River on the lovely Rheintochter Terrasse. Our Kanzel beer garden, offering grilled snacks and refreshing beverages, invites you to delight in the summer months under shady trees on the banks of the river Rhine. The Malakoff Bar, with its Hofgarten courtyard, provides the perfect Mainz bar setting in which to spend the evening. Enjoy a stylish yet elegant atmosphere with an abundance of cocktail specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mainz Hotel Mainz
Hyatt Mainz
Mainz Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing