We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & location, shame about the train journey back to the Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My partner & I spent a pre Christmas weekend in this lovely hotel with a great setting overlooking the Rhine and only a couple of minutes walk from the town centre with it's markets. It is very difficult to fault anything about the hotel as the room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, the buffet style breakfast was excellent with a large choice of delicious delicacies and the staff very friendly indeed. It was only on our way back to Frankfurt Airport using the train at the local station for a 20/25 minute journey, that we had any reason for complaint and i would like to make any foreign tourists aware of our plight. Before getting on the train we purchased the more expensive of two price options shown on the ticket machine and got on a very basic carriage but as we were about to get off, three ticket inspectors came on and informed us that we had been sitting in what they considered to be a 1st class compartment and that we now owed them an additional 40 Euros. We explained that it had been a misunderstanding and that we were unable to read the notices within the carriage as they were all written in German. Nevertheless, all three Inspectors came off the train along with us and asked us to wait while they brought along the police. On arrival, the two young policemen fully supported the Inspectors by informing us that we had broken German Law and if we didn't pay we would be taken to the Police Station and would clearly miss our flight. Under duress, we agreed to pay but while being escorted to the cash machine, we were lold it was 80 Euros we had to pay [40 Euros each], I hope that someone with some responsibllity for German Tourism reads this review and initiates some lessons in dealing with tourists as despite the beautiful hotel and location, we will not be back. Shame!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Rhine
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2012

Dear User,

Thank you very much for having stayed at Hyatt Regency Mainz and for sharing your experience with us and the users of Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could fulfill your expectations in terms of our beautiful Rhineview rooms and our central location. Also many thanks for your positive feedback regarding our staff and the buffet style breakfast.

Dear User, again, many thanks for your stay at Hyatt Regency Mainz and despite the inconveniences you experienced on your way back to Frankfurt Airport, it would be our true pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel some day!

With warm regards,

Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,132)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Mainz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

This hotel is great for the pool alone- you can do laps in it and when I went it was quiet enough to do so.
I usually go about once-a-year.
The front desk greets you as a friend when you return. The rooms are clean with all the luxe accessories- bathrobe, slippers, etc. No ice machines on the floor, but the restaurant will bring you a copious bucket without charge or even a slip to allow you to tip.
Breakfast buffet has great options. A minor addition could be to have oatmeal as a hot cereal. I am not sure if this is eaten in Germany. This is certainly not a great loss. Unfortunately, I had the flu when I was on this trip and the staff could not have been nicer.
I ate dinner at restaurant a couple of times and had room service. The food was delicious and reasonable, including very fresh and excellently made sushi.
Wifi comes as first 1/2 hour free, 1 hour and 24 hours. A minor suggestion is to have a 3 hour option as well.
I would highly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a water view. Pack your bathing suits.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine3Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Dear User,

Thank you for having taken the time and effort to evaluate our hotel on Tripadvisor after your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Mainz.

We were delighted to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments about the Front Desk and Restaurant staff, as well as your positive comments about our pool an breakfast, are very much appreciated.

Your feedback is of tremendous value to us all and your evaluation will form an important part of our ongoing program to continuously monitor the quality of our services and facilities.

Dear User, once again, many thanks for your encouraging feedback and we trust that we may look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Mainz in the near future.

With warm regards,

Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

For the purpose of business I frequent the Hyatt Regency in Mainz about once a year and I must say it is always a pleasant stay. The hotel is located on the river Rhine and many of the rooms overlook the water. The lobby of the hotel is very large and there is plenty of room to sit and stretch your legs after a long flight. I have never had an issue with check-in and found the staff to be helpful, courteous, and friendly in a business-like kind of way.
They do speak English, which is always a plus.

I have typically gotten rooms on the 5th and 6th floors facing the river. The rooms are clean and well-appointed with dresser, TV, desk, bed, seating area, and entry way/bar area. The bathrooms are huge, with a very large tub and shower and even a towel heater, which is really a nice touch. The beds are a little low for me and a bit firm, but I have always had a decent night's sleep.

I have used the laundry service many times and my experience has been positive. One time a co-worker took me horseback riding and I fell in the mud. Everything I was wearing was covered in mud! I had my jacket, pants, shirt, etc. laundered and all items were returned perfectly cleaned with no shrinkage/damage. I was impressed.

I have used the gym, pool, and spa and enjoyed all three amenities, albeit I did have a massage and the masseuse reeked of cigarette smoke. It was pretty gross. One of my favorite things about this hotel is the breakfast. There are many choices from meats and cheeses to cereals, eggs, pastries, and fresh fruit. The coffee is delicious and even some of my co-workers will meet at the hotel just to have the breakfast. The dinner meals are pricey so I keep it simple. I should mention that there is a jogging path that runs alongside the river which is a bonus - an early morning run makes for a lovely way to start the day. I have to say that this is one of my favorite Hyatt properties and I always look forward to my visits to Mainz.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewsgirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Dear Tripadvisor-User,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hyatt Regency Mainz and for these warm words of yours which are highly appreciated. Please rest assured that they have been shared with all colleagues as we are working on service excellence as a team day by day.

We were glad to read that Hyatt Regency Mainz is one of your favorite Hyatt properties and we would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding our staff, the well-appointed rooms, the great location next to the river Rhine, our breakfast and the laundry service.

Please also be advised that we have taken special note of your criticism regarding the massage in our Club Olympus Spa & Fitness. Please rest assured that your comment has been shared with the Department Head concerned, since this is in no way reflecting our usual high standard you may expect from a Hyatt Hotel. We hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused as a result.

Dear User, it would be our true pleasure to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Mainz soon!

Best regards,

Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to Germany for christmas markets. Paid 121 euro a night for a standard room. The hotel is located about a 5-10 minute walk from the Romanisches Theatre train stop, which is right before the main train station in Mainz. It was very easy to get to the hotel, as we just exited the train station, turned right, and walked down to the river. The hotel is actually right on the riverfront, but we had a little trouble finding the entrance at first, as it is on the far side of the hotel from where you first hit the hotel if coming from the train station.

The lobby is very nice and has a restaurant/bar area in it. Check in was easy, although we had two rooms, and only 1 was ready (a pattern repeated at every single Hyatt we stayed at in Germany during this trip). The rooms were satisfactory. They had a view of the river which was nice, and a soft and comfortable bed. The TV was a tube tv which was a little disappointing. The bathroom was nice and roomy.

The club lounge was very small, but it offered a decent enough Diamond breakfast. There were a variety of fresh juices, cold cuts, fruits, breads and yogurt. I must say, they had a brand of yogurt that we never saw again at any other hotel which was excellent. There were canapes in the evening and a variety of wine/beer available as well. They even provided us hard boiled eggs if requested. Overall, it was not an incredible breakfast (Park Hyatt Shanghai), but it was good and met our needs every morning.

The hotel is only about a 10 minute walk from the Gutenberg Museum and the Cathedral, and the Christmas Market, so it was convenient. Overall, it was a very nice hotel, and we had no issues.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonius66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Dear User,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Mainz and for having taken the time to evaluate our hotel on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to learn that we could satisfy you with our provided services and that you were pleased with the rooms, the breakfast in our Regency Club and the hotel’s central location.

However, we also noticed that you had a little trouble finding the entrance of our hotel at first and that only one room was ready when you arrived, and we would like to apologize for these caused inconveniences. In regards to the tube televisor which was a little bid disappointing to you, we are pleased to let you know that we are planning to install new Flatscreen TVs in all rooms in the course of next year.

Dear User, thank you once more for your feedback and we would be very delighted to welcoming you and your family back at Hyatt Regency Mainz soon.

With best regards,

Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

LOCATION: convenient for Rhein walk and walks to Old Town, on the river shore. Some 25 minutes drive from Frankfurt airport

VIEW: view on the river is beautiful

AMBIENCE: huge lobby, not very personal though

ROOM: I had a suite, which was large, bright and spacious

SERVICE: not too friendly

RECEPTION: not too friendly but efficient. Not really flexible either – when I asked for slightly later checkout, they refused

PARKING: parking was not easy to find/drive, beware of sharp curves when entering it

VALUE: given such a high price, the value for money of this hotel is questionable. Hilton may be a better option.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear User,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Mainz and for having taken the time and effort to evaluate our hotel on Tripadvisor. Please be assured that your feedback is of tremendous value to us all and your evaluation will form an important part of our ongoing program to continuously monitor the quality of our services and facilities.

We were glad to read that we could satisfy you with the hotel’s central location and that you were pleased with the provided suite and the beautiful view on the river Rhine.

On a very different note, it was with great concern that we read about your issues with regards to the service you received from the restaurant and front desk staff. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the Department Heads concerned, since this is in no way reflecting our usual high standard you may expect from a Hyatt Hotel. We hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences and disappointment caused as a result.

Dear User, once again, many thanks for your valuable feedback and we trust that we may look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Mainz in the near future.

With best regards,

Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Excellent hotel with large bedrooms (nice view on the Rhine), very good bedding, all amenities (nice choice of tea), superbe bathroom (original, large, comfty towels and bathrobe and nice welcome products). Quiet rooms, very good isolation and no street noice (hotel entry via a small street that ends on the river).
Very good service at the welcome desk.
Breakfast was super, very large choice in a nice area. Waiters very kind and helpfull.
It is a business hotel but feels rather warm and welcoming. I could go back with family.
Very good lunch as well.
Meeting rooms & coffee break are good as well.
Only negative point: you have to pay for Internet. But there is a free access in the business center, where you can print easily you're boarding pass.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Dear User,

Thank you very much for having stayed at Hyatt Regency Mainz and for sharing your experience with us and the users of Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could fulfill your expectations in terms of our beautiful Rhineview rooms and our meeting facilities. Also many thanks for your positive feedback regarding our staff, the breakfast and our restaurant Bellpepper.

Dear user, it would be our true pleasure to welcome you and your family back at Hyatt Regency Mainz soon! For your next stay, we would like to let you know that the first 30 minutes' access to the new high-speed Internet connection is free of charge.

With warm regards,

Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

One of the most beautiful Hyatts in the world. Service is personalized, hyatt club very nice and wonderful view. Very close to the center.food is simply the best.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue303506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Dear Tripadvisor-User,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hyatt Regency Mainz and for these warm words of yours which are highly appreciated. Please be assured that they have been shared with all colleagues as we are working on service excellence as a team day by day.

We were very pleased to read that you consider Hyatt Regency Mainz as one of the most beautiful Hyatt Hotels in the world! Also many thanks for your positive feedback regarding our Regency Club, the offered food and our central location.

Dear User, we would be very delighted to welcoming you back at Hyatt Regency Mainz soon.

With best regards,

Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
719 reviews
5.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
AC Hotel Mainz
AC Hotel Mainz
#17 of 41 in Mainz
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mainz

Address: Templerstr. 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#1 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: $141 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Mainz 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Rhine, our Mainz hotel is close to the Old Town (Altstadt) and Mainz city centre, with most iconic attractions within walking distance. Hyatt Regency Mainz is only 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Congress Centre and has excellent connections to Frankfurt International Airport (25 minutes), to Mainz railway station and nearby motorways. The location in the central Rhein-Main region of Germany makes Hyatt Regency Mainz one of the preferred city hotels and destination for vineyard tours around Rheingau and Rheinhessen areas. Club Olympus Spa & Fitness is a Mainz wellness and fitness club catering to both body and mind, featuring the latest in fitness and training equipment. Recreation facilities include an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and steam bath. A variety of exclusive massage and cosmetic treatments are available, providing our Mainz hotel guests with the ultimate in relaxation. Sample delicious cuisine at one of our several renowned Mainz restaurants, including Bellpepper Restaurant with international delicacies and M-Lounge, which specialises in sandwiches, burgers, light snacks and homemade cakes. Enjoy barbecued delicacies and a stunning view of the Rhine River on the lovely Rheintochter Terrasse. Our Kanzel beer garden, offering grilled snacks and refreshing beverages, invites you to delight in the summer months under shady trees on the banks of the river Rhine. The Malakoff Bar, with its Hofgarten courtyard, provides the perfect Mainz bar setting in which to spend the evening. Enjoy a stylish yet elegant atmosphere with an abundance of cocktail specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mainz Hotel Mainz
Hyatt Mainz
Mainz Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing