We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was a great hotel. It was a few blocks from the S-Bahn train station near the Roman Theater ruins. Hotel is along the Rhine River and a short walk to the old part of Mainz. Lots of great restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk. The hotel breakfast buffet was included in my room rate and had all the European breakfast items plus scrambled eggs and cold cereal. It was very good. We also had a free 30 minute massage in the package. It was downstairs in the spa and we were in the couple's room. Very clean locker rooms and the staff was very attentive and it was a relaxing massage after traveling all day.
I would recommend this hotel. It had non-smoking rooms and air-conditioning. The rooms and bathrooms were large.

Room Tip: The view of the Rhine River is very pretty.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank read1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear User,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your stay at Hyatt Regency Mainz and for having shared your experiences on Tripadvisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you spent a nice time in Mainz. Also many thanks for your positive feedback regarding our breakfast and the spa area. These warm words of yours are very much appreciated and have been shared with the team.

Dear User, it would be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Mainz in the near future.

Best regards,

Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,132)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Mainz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel is located in front of Rhein River where there is a square with restaurants and bars, besides the riverside with a lot of trees. A perfect scenary for walking. Do not hesitate to reserve a room with river view. It's more expensive, but it's worth.
The room is very confortable and the hotel lobby is very nice. You can consider have a drink in the bar, which is a very charming place. The staff in the reception was very warm, specially Sandra, who was very kind with me and my husband explaning the hotel facilities and also alternatives to know Mainz and to visit the cities around. It was a great experience!

Room Tip: Prefer a room with riverview.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcsprs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear Tripadvisor-User,

Thank you very much for these warm words of yours which are highly appreciated. It will be my pleasure to share them with all my colleagues as we are working on service excellence as a team day by day.

We were very pleased to read that you felt comfortable in our beautiful Rhine View Rooms and that you enjoyed your time at Mainz. We would be very delighted to welcoming you back at Hyatt Regency Mainz soon.

With best regards,
Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel incorporates an old stone fort into modern architecture with subtle colors and textures. The staff are excellent, the rooms are modern, clean, and well appointed. The Bellpepper Restaurant is a choice for fine dining. And the hotel is near the town center with a huge choice of eating and entertainment options.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on a high floor
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotatoMasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear Tripadvisor-User,

Thank you very much for these warm words of yours which are highly appreciated. It will be my pleasure to share them with all my colleagues as we are working on service excellence as a team day by day.

We were very pleased to read that you felt comfortable at our hotel and that you enjoyed your time at Mainz. We would be very delighted to welcoming you back at Hyatt Regency Mainz soon.

With best regards,
Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Located right on the river, clost to everything you might need.

Room Tip: as a guest, you get free internet for 30 minutes
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beanbag109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Dear User,

Thank you very much for having stayed at Hyatt Regency Mainz and for having taken the time and effort to evaluate your stay.
We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and it would be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Mainz in the near future.

With best regards,

Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We arrived at the Frankfurt airport and following about a 15 minute wait, on a Sunday afternoon, caught the train from under terminal one at the airport to Mainz where we checked into the Hyatt. We were quickly checked in and upgraded to a river view room which was very comfortable and stylish with a great view of the rhine from the floor to ceiling window in the room. As others have noted the rooms and baths are very modern and stylish and the service in the hotel was friendly and efficient. That said their are two reasons I would not give this hotel a higher rating: 1) the rooms are typical Hyatt rooms and while stylish are the same ones you get in Berlin, Paris or indeed almost anywhere else, save perhaps for the big windows, 2) the big window faces west toward the river so you get a lot of afternoon sun and we found if you did not keep the curtains closed it was impossible to keep, or even get the room cool. It was all of 27/28 degrees as a high the day we arrived so not what I would consider hot but having left the window uncovered the day we arrive we found it took most of the evening to get the room cool when we returned from dinner.

On the plus side we did have a nice meal at the bell pepper where the food and service were excellent, though once again atmosphere was lacking save for the river view. We also found the location, while about a ten minute walk from the heart of the old town, to be good as their is a train stop only five minutes walk from the hotel. In fact when we arrived we got off at that stop and found our way to the hotel (note that we seldom saw a cab anywhere near the "roman theater" train station stop though there is a taxi stand. If you do get off at that location take a right exiting the station on Holtzhof and follow it for two blocks to Rhine Street near the Ibis hotetl At that point make a left and walk about twenty years to a street crossing where you cross to your right. Follow that street for a block to the river where you will see a sign from the Bell Pepper, or simply make a left turn when you reach the river and then the hotel will be your first right. The hotel does not have a big sign on it and blends in with its setting so the Bell Pepper is a good marker coming this way.

I have stayed in Frankfurt on a number of occasions and highly recommend Mainz as an alternative if you are a tourist, it's old town as so much nicer than Frankfurt which is something of a tourist trap in my view.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jsthouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our family of four stayed here for 2 nights in early June at the end of our vacation. We were flying out of Frankfurt but did not want to stay in Frankfurt. How pleased we were that we chose Mainz and the Hyatt Regency. The staff, upon check-in, upgraded both of our rooms to river view at no cost. (One room was a partial river view overlooking Fort Malakoff- see picture). The views were fantastic and added extra charm to our stay. The rooms themselves are quite large and laid out very efficiently. The bathrooms also are very spacious, and the shower was fabulous! It was a shower/tub combination but not in the typical way that you would think. The tub was separate from the shower, but the shower door enclosed them both. The shower had an overhead shower head and a hand-held. See the picture!

I love the way the hotel did not demolish the Fort Malakoff building but instead, incorporated it into their hotel and made it their bar. Nice touch!

The location is perfect. It is close to the city center and easy to walk. The hotel has an outdoor bar area as well which was good to sit and relax and watch all the people walking, running, and cycling.

The indoor pool and the fitness facilities were both top notch, as we took advantage of both.

All of the staff, from the front desk to the bar, were all very friendly and courteous.

Mainz is a great city with a small town feel. (Go on the weekend and enjoy the city market-- fun!) Another reason we chose Mainz was so that we could fit in a Rhine Cruise (we did St Goar to Bacharach) before flying home. Glad that we did and very glad that we chose the Hyatt Regency for our stay. Excellent way to end a great trip!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to river view!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cclisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Dear Tripadvisor-User,

Thank you very much for having taken the time and effort to evaluate Hyatt Regency Mainz after your recent stay. I was delighted to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments are very much appreciated and have been shared with the team.

Your feedback is of tremendous value to us all and your evaluation will form an important part of our ongoing program to continuously monitor the quality of our services and facilities.

Dear User, once again, many thanks for your encouraging feedback and I trust that we may look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Mainz in the near future.

With warm regards,
Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Great luxury and business hotel in Mainz directly on the banks of river Rhine and only a short walk to all the sights and the old-town. We stayed here for 3 nights in the end of May and we really liked the hotel. Everything was flawless. Service was especially friendly, attentive and nice. We had a room on the fourth floor with Rhine view and I would always recommend paying the etxtra if from abroad or overseas. Rooms a nicely laid out. The decor is minimalistic and very nice. Rooms are absolute clean. Bathrooms are also way above standard with granite tiles and a walk-in rain-shower. As a Hyatt Diamond member we were granted access to the Regency Club on the 6th floor. The club itself is nothing special but the view over the Rhine up to FRA airport is stunning. Overall the Hyatt Mainz is a fantastic hotel in a top location. I highly recommend staying here and I am very, very, very, very picky in terms of hotels.

Room Tip: Get a Rhine river view room on a high floor
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YoshiDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMainz, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Dear Tripadvisor-User,

Thank you very much for these warm words of yours which are highly appreciated. It will be my pleasure to share them with all my colleagues as we are working on service excellence as a team day by day.

We were very pleased to read that you felt comfortable at our hotel and that you enjoyed your time at Mainz. We would be very delighted to welcoming you back at Hyatt Regency Mainz soon.

With warm regards,
Antje Christopheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
719 reviews
5.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
278 reviews
1.1 mi away
AC Hotel Mainz
AC Hotel Mainz
#17 of 41 in Mainz
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mainz

Address: Templerstr. 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#1 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: $141 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Mainz 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Rhine, our Mainz hotel is close to the Old Town (Altstadt) and Mainz city centre, with most iconic attractions within walking distance. Hyatt Regency Mainz is only 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Congress Centre and has excellent connections to Frankfurt International Airport (25 minutes), to Mainz railway station and nearby motorways. The location in the central Rhein-Main region of Germany makes Hyatt Regency Mainz one of the preferred city hotels and destination for vineyard tours around Rheingau and Rheinhessen areas. Club Olympus Spa & Fitness is a Mainz wellness and fitness club catering to both body and mind, featuring the latest in fitness and training equipment. Recreation facilities include an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and steam bath. A variety of exclusive massage and cosmetic treatments are available, providing our Mainz hotel guests with the ultimate in relaxation. Sample delicious cuisine at one of our several renowned Mainz restaurants, including Bellpepper Restaurant with international delicacies and M-Lounge, which specialises in sandwiches, burgers, light snacks and homemade cakes. Enjoy barbecued delicacies and a stunning view of the Rhine River on the lovely Rheintochter Terrasse. Our Kanzel beer garden, offering grilled snacks and refreshing beverages, invites you to delight in the summer months under shady trees on the banks of the river Rhine. The Malakoff Bar, with its Hofgarten courtyard, provides the perfect Mainz bar setting in which to spend the evening. Enjoy a stylish yet elegant atmosphere with an abundance of cocktail specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mainz Hotel Mainz
Hyatt Mainz
Mainz Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing