We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location...good walking distance to train and shopping. No Executive Lounge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Mainz City
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location...good walking distance to train and shopping. No Executive Lounge”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here just for a night since I had a layover at FRA and the 2 Hilton hotels at the airport were significantly higher. This hotel is easily accessible via a 20 minute S-Bahn or ICE ride from the FRA airport and if you have the extra time, it's nice to have to offerings of a major city within easy walking distance. Talk the train to the Mainz Hauptbahnhof and from there it's an easy 10 minute walk.

Room was nice, comfortable and well appointed. I liked the Nespresso coffee maker in the room..nice touch.

The only downside was the lack of an Executive Lounge...being a Diamond member with Hilton, this is something I enjoy and was disappointed by it's absence. I would suggest they offer drink vouchers to Diamond members in lieu of the lounge.

Nonetheless, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WldTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for recommending the Hilton Mainz City to other travellers on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted about your positive comments for our hotel, the services provided and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Mainz is worth a leisure trip, too.
With kind regards

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    225
    80
    19
    6
See reviews for
64
138
52
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very nice stay at this a Hilton property. Very large and comfortable room. Hotel is right in the center of the city, walking distance to some of the must-sees in Mainz such as the Gutenberg museum and St Stephan's Church with Marc Chagall.s stained glasses. The staff was friendly and helpful and when asked about restaurant recommendations, they suggested the Heiliggeist, which had already been highly suggested by fellow travelers in TripAdvisor. A good stay at this Hilton in quaint and charming Mainz.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CubanLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to thank you for your most kind feedback about your stay at the Hilton Mainz City shared with us and other travellers.

Great to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sharing your friendly remarks with my team was absolutely a highlight.

Dear guest, it would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again to the Hilton Mainz City.

With kind regards

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

i stayed at this on a business trip and it has all the amenities of a proper business hotel. For fitness we were given access to the local fitness centre which had all the equipment and service one needed. breakfast restaurant was good with proper variety. Best thing about the hotel was the location, so one is always close to the city and can go for a stroll down to the actual city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faraz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hilton Mainz City as your preferred choice of accommodation during your recent visit to the city and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback with us and other guests through tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to read through your review. Your appreciation of our service and facilities is a great motivation to the entire team. We are very thankful for your perfect rating.

We look forward to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was one of many visits to the city if Mainz and the Mainz City Hilton.
We arrived early afternoon after a long and exhausting flight .
We were welcomed by the always friendly staff and our requested and upgraded room was ready.
This hotel is centrally located and all areas of Mainz are within walking distance.
The breakfast is exceptional.
The rooms are always clean although need some minor repairs.
The staff at this Hilton has always been pleasant and willing to help with any problems.
They are what make the Mainz City Hilton a great place for business or pleasure.
Hope to revisit Again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v0yageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at Hilton Mainz City. We truly appreciate your comments, especially those referring to the friendliness and efficiency of our team, which I will happily share with them.

Whilst hoping you had a save trip back home we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had a pleasant stay at Hilton Mainz City. The hotel is perfectly located if you want to visit the Altstadt, where a lot of restaurant and bars are located as are a some beautiful building. The Dom is definitely worth visiting.

The room was spacious and very tidy and the service was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to thank you for your most kind feedback about your stay at the Hilton Mainz City shared with us and other travellers. Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeMotte, IN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spent two night in Mainz on a Frankfurt layover, thought Mainz would be eaiser to get around in than Frankfurt. While the cab fare was about 65 euros from FRA once you get to the Hilton everything is in reasonable walking distance. Main train station is only a 10 minute walk, good restaurants and the old town are only 5 minutes away in the other direction.

Our luggage was lost on the incoming flight and the staff at the Hilton went out of their way to assist us with basic amenities and directions on where we could go to purchase tomorrows cloths and other essentials. Rooms were clean and roomy but having duvets instead of sheets was a little disorienting. Bathroom was well stocked, shower looked very confusing but in the end did not take a plumber to understand how things worked. Outstanding breakfast, lots of choices and good quality.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the patio or porch - not that great of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you posting your review on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your comments and most certainly the opportunity given to review.

It was a pleasure to read your comments about the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. Your feedback will help us to improve our level of service and we will consider your remarks for future concepts.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experiences.

With kind regards

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very nice and I was very impressed with the front desk staff. The hotel is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. I enjoyed breakfast at the hotel, but don't recommend the restaurant for lunch or dinner - the very definition of hotel food - worth a short walk to find a good place to eat!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.

Your feedback is much appreciated and I am sorry to read that you were not entirely satisfied with our restaurant. At the same time I would like to thank you for sharing your warm compliments about our front desk staff. This was definitely a highlight and is a great motivation for all of them.

Please stay assured that the feedback will be communicated with the respective departments accordingly for future enhancements.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.2 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#3 of 41 in Mainz
645 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#4 of 41 in Mainz
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz City

Property: Hilton Mainz City
Address: Muensterstr. 11, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#5 Business Hotel in Mainz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz City 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz City Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing