We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for business”
Review of Hilton Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Mainz City
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Mainz within walking distance to the railway station, close to restaurants and main sights and the tram is nearby. Room and bathroom were clean and spacious. Breakfast offered a good variety. Perfectly OK for a quick business trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback on Tripadvisor.

Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 559 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent one night at the Hilton Mainz City. It is a nice enough hotel tucked away on a quiet secluded street. It was a little confusing to find from the train station but I didn't mind the walk. I think there were only four people working in the hotel the whole time I was there. It was strange. They were pleasant and helpful but you definitely spent time trying to find someone. The breakfast was fine but the food trays were pretty empty when I went to breakfast at 9:30am. They were refilled while I was there. I was upgraded to a suite which was nice in appearance but I didn't like the spartan bed with just a duvet. I expected real sheets like other Hilton hotels. The bathroom was very nice with a large tub. They also provided free chocolates and a bottle of wine but I guess I actually paid for those. I would stay there again now that I know how to get there but I was told afterwards that the other Hilton has nicer views of the Rhine. Live and learn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.

We are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction and I want to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your past stay. The situation you described is not our standard and following the feedback given we will investigate furthermore with the concerned departments as it is our highest priority to provide the best services to our valued guests.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your remarks will help us to improve our level of service.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.
With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I just returned from a 12 night stay at the Hilton Mainz City. Arrived from US with plenty of luggage and after check in, there was no offer of assistance to take our luggage to our rooms. We had to carry our suitcases. The front desk was not rude, but did not seem to care either way.
One of the shift managers seemed to be busy talking on his handy most of the time.

Rooms were quiet, worn but clean.
Housekeeping was very friendly and they did an excellent job.

This hotel is a Best Western with the Hilton name.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puhpuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and most certainly the opportunity given to review.

It is unfortunate and we deeply regret that we were not able to have you completely satisfied. Please rest assured that your feedback will be communicated with the respective department accordingly for future service enhancements.

Dear guest, although we did not entirely meet your expectations this time it would be a big pleasure for the whole team to convince you at future stays and we look forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz City.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years and always have enjoyed it. Mainz is a 25 minute s-bahn ride to FRA (Frankfurt International Airport). This hotel is an easy walk from the train station and also a short walk to Mainz old town. We always stop here the first and last night of our trips to Germany which is 2-3 times a year and still love Mainz and The Mainz City Hilton. We have tryed staying at the Hilton at the airport (FRA) and it is a great hotel, however you are at the airport. The Mainz City Hilton is perfectly located to enjoy the wonderful old town of Mainz which is full of wonderful restaurants and interesting sites. We will stay at least two more time this year for Xmas Market (Mainz Xmas Market is a good one)

Room Tip: We have stayed in at least 25 different rooms over the years, all were fine. They have good weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retireeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us; it is an absolute pleasure to learn that we were able to live up to the expectations of your holiday.

Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just finished our first stop in Germany and WOW, this hotel really took care of us! During check in, we found the room to be too small as well as the beds. The front desk quickly found us a new room with no issues! Our room was clean and fresh and so was the fruit that was unexpectedly delivered to our room, Thanks! Breakfast was outstanding and so was the Staff! Very courteous and eager to please, Thanks again! The front desk staff was very helpful for giving accurate directions and ideas for things to do! Very nice! The hotel is in a great location for any activity in the city center! Easy to find!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PW7382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimenting review on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you had an amazing stay with us on your recent visit and delighted to learn that you were pleased with the overall stay. Sharing your friendly remarks with my team was absolutely a highlight.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service should your upcoming travel plans bring you to Mainz.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spent three nights here for business. The hotel is well located and is in easy walking distance from the waterfront. I was on the basic fare but got upgraded and they were very accommodating for an early check-in, having landed at 5am in Frankfurt from Boston. Food (breakfast and dinner) was fresh and good, nothing exceptional. Room was spacious and very comfortable, including espresso machine in the room. Note that the gym in the hotel is very small but they have an agreement with a nearby gym which allows access to hotel guests - it's less than 5min walk from the hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Nene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the location of the Hilton Mainz City.

Whilst hoping you had a save trip back home we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

located right on the edge of the city centre with easy access to great restaurants. visited here lots of times for work, reception staff and waiting staff always extremely helpful and friendly, its a Hilton, you know what to expect. Rooms a good size and clean and tidy. Breakfast is great but there are far better places to eat, just wander outside for a couple of minutes and try anywhere, hotel menu is uninispiring. Bar is a bit strung out and the one thing I don;t like it the barman. far more interested in chatting to the locals\air crew guests than clearing table or serving the less regular clientelle. have often been to meetings in the meeting centre, always supported by friendly and helpful staff, a great coffee machine and always lovely staff in the meeting centre. no gym although I believe they do provde free access to a gym down the road

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is great to read that you felt most comfortable during your stay in April.

Concerning your comments regarding the service in our bar, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that the situation you described is not our standard. Corrective actions have been taken with our team in order to avoid such shortcomings in the future and to guarantee the expected Hilton-Standards and quality.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback allows us to constantly improve our level of service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

With kind regards

Aurelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.7 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#8 of 41 in Mainz
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
321 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz City

Address: Muensterstr. 11, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#5 Business Hotel in Mainz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: $90 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz City 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz City Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing