We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms...not so much”
Review of Hilton Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Mainz City
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The staff at this hotel are excellent...friendly, courteous, and helpful. The location is amazing. You can walk to every shop, any bar or restaurant, it's right outside your door. The rooms are old and are in need of refurbishing. The beds are hard as a rock, the pillows thin, the air conditioning unit wasn't working too well, and the curtains leak a ton of light into the room. If this hotel only updated their rooms, I would have given it 4/5 or possibly 5/5.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ContinentalFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to post your review at tripadvisor.

We will use your feedback for our negotiation about the next renovation and update.

We're very happy that you liked our team meber and the way they act. This showes us that we are on the right track and we will follow this way to maintain and exceed our expectations.

With kind regards,
Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 566 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Hilton Mainz City is a hotel in need of investment - dated rooms (bad smell of smoke in non smoking rooms), cocky staff (bar was shut at 1215 when it is posted as open to 1am) and generally poor quality experience

Room Tip: try the other hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoctorRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear user,
We are happy that you choose theHILTON Mainz City and took the time to share your experience with us and other travellers.
Unfortunately not all your expectations could been met during your stay. Please accept our apology for all the inconveniences. Corrective actions have already been taken to secure our regular standard.
I really do hope that your recent experience will not deter you from returning to the Hilton Mainz City so that we can show you our hotel in the better light.
If you have any question please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Arndt Heitmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

For our last night in Germany we thought we would treat ourselves to a night in the Hilton, expecting high standards from a hotel with a well-known exceptional reputation. We were very disappointed, and relieved that we had not booked a longer stay. The room was dull and rather dated, with chipped & scraped furniture, the valances were rucked, untidy & looked as if they had been thrown onto the bed in a hurry, the bin was (oddly) on its side, the desk struts were dusty, there was mould under the bath tap. We have stayed in 3* hotels that have been cleaner and tidier than this, and we frankly felt shocked and let-down. The only consolation was that the beds were comfy (although with only one fairly flat feather pillow each, we couldn't find any extras) and the location was perfect, within easy walking distance of the city centre. Reception staff were polite. 'Extras' were expensive, such as the underground parking and WiFi, but this is understandable at a city hotel. We would not return and are reluctantly unable to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay in our HILTON Mainz City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.
We are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction. Please accept our apology for all the inconveniences.
Your comments are very important to us as they help us to review and improve our services. Please be assured that the mentioned cleaning issues have been discussed with our cleaning company. Also our technical staff will check the room and do any needed maintenance. I would like to ask you, to contact immediately our front desk team, if you are not satisfied with your room, so that we have chance for room change or any other action, in order to meet your expectations.
I do hope that your recent experience will not deter you from returning to the Hilton Mainz City or any other Hilton hotel and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.
If you have any question please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here our last night in Germany, so we would be close to the airport and be able to return our rental car here and ride the train in to the airport. It was quite a hastle figuring out where to return the car. Finally, we figured out where to go and they drove us to the train station. When we got to the train station in Mainz, we found out our train had been cancelled and so had to detour. A very nice person (originally from Iran) took us under his wing and made sure we got where we were going, even securing us seats on a crowded train and carrying some of our luggage until we reached check-in at the airport. When he left, he looked us in the eye and told us, Remember, I am from Iran. It was very touching, as we are Americans and from New York.
But back to this hotel. Parking here is not necessarily guaranteed as we had thought. We made out fine, but had there been a big convention, we would have been out of luck. We took a cab to the old town and had a lovely dinner in a very old restaurant. Breakfast at the hotel was huge and catered to tastes from around the world. Lovely location on the Rhein River. Lovely place to enjoy driving up the river to see the wine country and castles north along the Rein Spectacular day driving to Koblentz and back to Mainz.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Rhein. Felt good to have an American style king bed and bath for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.
Please note that there are two Hilton Hotels in Mainz. You stayed at Hilton Mainz on the river side, and not at Hilton Mainz City, which is situated in the Old Town near to the Central Station
It is of course great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Especially our Team will be pleased to learn about your kind words.

Whilst hoping you had a save trip back to America we look forward to welcoming you back in Mainz in the near future.

With kind regards,
Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

what a desater
the hotel is very good located, but this is all what is positiv to say about this hotel
the check in check out was unprofessional, arogant, unpolite and not willing to help
the check out behavior from the FO team was just poor
the room dirty, stinky by cigaret smoke, the bed and the furniture tired and odd, the carpet full of stains all in all the hotel is not a place to recomend
the prices are far to high and the service in all departments of the hotel just demanding and not guest oriented

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fdobritzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear User,
thank you very much for your stay in our HILTON Mainz City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.
Your comments are very important to us as they help us to review and improve our services. We are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction. Please accept our apology for all the inconveniences.
I would like to inform you that the carpets in the rooms are all changed in the meanwhile.
Regarding our Front Desk team members please be assured that your feedback has been discussed with the team and corrective actions have been taken in order to better train our employee and to ensure the expected Hilton Stadards.
I do hope that your recent experience will not deter you from returning to the Hilton Mainz City or any other Hilton hotel and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.
If you have any question please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a Hilton, with all the standards that you would expect. Good size comfortable beds, quiet rooms, decent size tv, kettle with complimentary coffee pouches and two small bottles of water. Bathroom is a good size with all you need and wi-fi is available although a bit on the expensive side. The breakfast is decent although the staff have to chase you down in order to sign for it, which is a bit tedious and more invasive in the morning rather than just giving your room number when you are seated. Don't know why the lack of trust there. Staff in the restaurant and bar are excellent. The location is great, being right in the centre of town and the prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: The other Hilton in Mainz is more upscale and located on the banks of the river with lovely views. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear User,
Please allow me to thank you for your kind feedback about your stay at the Hilton Mainz City shared with us and other travellers.
Especially our Restaurant Team will be pleased to learn about your kind words.
Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.
If you have any question please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Airline crew that stays here 3-4 times a month. Yes, it is an American chain, but you will be hard pressed to find a nicer place to stay in the area. The A/C is horrible in the Spring and Fall, they will not turn it on until it get's really hot outside. You can open the window, but they have a system that turns off the A/C if the window is ajar. This is a fantastic hotel, and the staff is incredible! They are typical Germans, but that is what I love about them. Be courteous, explain exactly what you want, and they will take care of you. Many airline crews stay here, so if you want to have a little fun, hit the bar between 6pm and 7 PM. Happy hour.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. No good views, so go with price. You are paying for the location. Maids sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank free767intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear User,
thank you very much for your stay in our HILTON Mainz City and for taking the time to post a comment in TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with your stay in our HILTON Mainz City. In particular I am very happy about your positive feedback regarding our staff.
Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to improve our services and quality.
We hope that you enjoyed our region and its culture and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the HILTON Mainz City or any other HILTON hotel in near future.
If you have any question please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.7 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#8 of 41 in Mainz
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
322 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz City

Address: Muensterstr. 11, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#5 Business Hotel in Mainz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: $92 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz City 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz City Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing