We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mainz is a treat, this Hilton, not so much...”
Review of Hilton Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Mainz City
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mainz is a treat, this Hilton, not so much...”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have stayed at both Hiltons in Mainz, Germany. I much prefer the Hilton on the Rhine. The Hilton City is just ok. The room feels a bit dated with dark work, old marble work in the bathrooms and the carpet is pretty ragged. The staff has been just ok, with exception to the housekeeping staff and the room service staff. Most of all I don't feel the pictures online are a true reflection of the hotel accomodations. There is no fitness center or pool here either. It is very close to the downtown area and a great restaurant right down the hill in front of the hotel, Provance! The reception area is pretty, taxis are readily available and they have underground hotel parking but it's ridiculously expensive with no discount for being a guest.

Room Tip: Tell them you prefere a room on the front side of the hotel for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear User,
I would like to thank very much for your stay in our HILTON Mainz City and for taking the time to post a comment in Tripadvisor.
We learnt from your comments/scoring, that not all your expectations could been met during your stay, however I hope that you enjoyed your stay in general. We value your comments, as they help us to improve our service. Our team work hard every day in order to make your stay as much comfortable as possible and to ensure the expected Hilton quality.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the HILTON Mainz City or any other HILTON hotel in near future.
If you have any question please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    232
    80
    21
    6
See reviews for
65
142
54
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This was a great hotel, which would be a great stay for business travelers, assuming their company picked up the wireless tab for mobile devices. As far as the positives, there were numerous attractions. The Meinz area gives a great account of what "Old Europe" used to look like. Large, spectacular cathedrals that were steeped in history throughout the 1200-1300s. The hotel was right on the river walk, and made for an excellent morning run route. Lots of jobbers, runners, walkers, etc out at all times of the day, made it easy to get motivated. The breakfast buffet and dinner were some of the best food which I have had in a long time. Breakfast had a wide variety of cereal, bread, cheese, fish, meat, all sorts of juices, and a rich supply of fruits. It was well worth the price. The Staff was extremely helpful, and very easy to converse in English with.

On the negative side, for a Hilton, I was surprised on just how poor the wireless connection was. Even on a business trip that had a number of colleagues attending, the wireless was not free and required a log in and password that often timed out. In fact, the connection was so bad that we had to travel to a Sales Office 20 minutes away, just to keep a strong enough connection to the network. Made it difficult to keep in touch with family and work back at the office.

Overall, this was a nice hotel that I would recommend staying at. Just make sure not to need any wireless connection or find it elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dengosra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear User,
thank you very much for your stay in our HILTON Mainz and for taking the time to post a comment. (Please note, that you have stayed in Hilton Mainz - right on the river walk - not in Hilton Mainz City which is in the city center, near to the travel station)

I am delighted to see, that you have been satisfied with your stay and with service, we provided.
Your comments are very important to us as they help us to review and improve our services.
Regarding the Wireless Internet access I apologize for the inconveniences caused with the connection, and would like to assure you, that this issue was discussed with our IT in order to avoid such shortcomings in the future and to guarantee the expected Hilton-Standards and quality.
We are happy that you enjoyed our region and its culture and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the HILTON Mainz or any other HILTON hotel in near future.
If you have any question please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed in the hotel for one night visiting the ZDF Sportstudio in Mainz and the staff at the hotel really looked after us. First of all they were kind enough to upgrade our rooms (nice and big, looked recently refurbished and quite stylishly). As we got there just before 2pm, we asked whether the restaurant was still open for lunch. Normally they close at 2pm, but they still let us in and cooked us lunch. Very kind. And so it went on for the weekend, we felt nothing we asked was beyond what they were willing to do. We thoroughly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine187371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear User,
thank you very much for your stay in our HILTON Mainz City and for taking the time to post a comment.
It’s a great honour for us that you enjoyed your stay. I am happy that our staff made you and your family feel so satisfied and I will forward your positive comments to our whole Team.
We will be happy to accommodate you again in our HILTON Mainz.
If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.
Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is within walking distance of the train station, and an easy walk into the town and to the river. It is located on a quiet street and the hotel was quiet and comfortable with good service. We ate dinner in the restaurant twice and thought it was very good. We used Mainz as a base city for trips around the region and appreciated having the train station close by. Internet access is expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCmomtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear User,
thank you very much for your stay in our HILTON Mainz City and for taking the time to post a comment.
I am delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay and I hope you had a great time in our region.
Regarding the Wireless Internet access please be informed that it is provided by the company SwissCom for all Hilton Hotels in Europe and therefore we have no influence on the price structure. However, your comment will be put on the agenda for future plannings.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the HILTON Mainz City or any other HILTON hotel in near future.
If you have any question please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Only stayed there for one night, as I did not want to drive back after a party.
the room was huge even incredible.
I had a last drink at the bar and cannot complain.

Based on all my Hilton stays (90nights a year) definitely rank second regarding room size and amenities (after an amazing stay at the W&A tower in NY).

BTW, you can easily park for free around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertrand_FRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurendavis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Loved this hotel! It's a 10 minute walk (at most) from the train station, a $6 taxi ride (we needed one b/c it was snowing and we have large luggage), a 10 minute walk from the old town and the Christmas Market. The staff is incredibly friendly and the rooms are super clean and spacious. Our cleaning person was wonderful and really went above & beyond (organizing our toiletries, folding a tshirt that was left out, etc). They also have a computer in the lobby that you can use for internet purposes. Overall a perfect stay!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank laurendavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The Mainz City Hilton I have used extensively throughout the last year, staying each time for an average of 15 days during six separate trips in 2010. All were for business.

I use this hotel regularly for a number of reasons:
1) Close to the train. Easy access to get in or out of Mainz without a taxi if the weather is good.
2) Good facilities. The bedrooms are relatively quiet for a city hotel, just remember to close the window when you enter the room - the tend to leave them open to air the rooms out before visitors arrive.
3) Good gym - recently, they partnered with Fitness First which is a full service gym about halfway between the hotel and train station. It is a great gym, one of the best I have ever used in any hotel anywhere. It has cardiovascular equipment, free weights, natulius, classes (spin, cardio, dance) - even a sun room. Everything you would expect in a gym at hime.
4) Good resturant, but limited menu - there are plenty of places to go eat out at if you have the time to get out of the hotel, and the staff will help you with their free maps find something you would like. Howerver, the resturant for what it offers is quite good, and the specials are quite good as well.
5) Excellent staff. They all speak english extrremely well for the most part, and if you want to try to speak in German, they will help you with it. Very friendly and helpful.

Being in the center of town, don't expect cheap parking if you decide to drive (over 10 euros a night), but with excellent mass transit by the hotel and the train station near by, it generally is not needed. If you stay at the other big hotels (Hilton Mainz, Hyatt), you are on the Rhine river which will give you good views, but you are much further from the train station and have to take mass tranist to get to it.

For the business traveler, highly recommend this hotel. For the leisure traveler, also recommend it if you can do without excellent views as you will not get those at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcuraTl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.2 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#4 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz City

Property: Hilton Mainz City
Address: Muensterstr. 11, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#5 Business Hotel in Mainz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz City 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz City Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing