We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good !”
Review of Hilton Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Mainz
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed March 22, 2014

stayed for two nights .... room facing the road .... twin room ... beds comfortable .... bathroom nd toiletries nice ,,, tv has lots of english channels and lots of other languages .... breakfast buffet pretty good .... no fresh egg counter but still lots of variety .... river facing restaurant ... nothing exotic but nice.... free wifi in the lobby and 2 computers with internet on 1st floor.
for a conference at the mainz conf centre , right next door very convenient , all shopping and central mainz just opposite and walkin distance ,
walkable from mainz romisch theatre station and hauptbahnoff , bus 71 to romisch theatre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitreoretina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimenting review on Trip Advisor! It is of utmost importance to constantly hear and monitor our guest's feedback in order to further improve our standard. Reading through experiences like yours is always a great motivation. Thank you.

We look forward to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Mainz.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
(pp. Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Mainz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

Located along the Rhein river this Hilton offers access to walking, shopping, sightseeing, transportation, boat trips, the most historic spots in the City. We stay there at least once a year for the annual Fastnacht (Mardi Gras) days around the big "Rosen Montag Zug" parade. We have somewhat of a love/frustration relationship with the hotel. The love is the location, the view of the Rhein (ask for it when selecting a room), good sized rooms and being able to walk everywhere. The frustration comes with the heating system always being screwed up. The head of engineering is a very nice gentleman and he recognized us after about 6 years. He usually get's the problem fixed. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable. The bath tubs could use re caulking or a good scrubbing. AND YES, we will stay here again to see the nice man from maintenance or what mood the breakfast buffet manager is in. Love the picturesque view of the river and the active ship traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the river.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that we had the pleasure of having you with us another time and that you felt comfortable in our hotel.

We truly appreciate your comments, especially those referring to the friendliness and efficiency of our head of engineering, which I will happily share with him.

The team of the Hilton Mainz and myself do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel or any other Hilton Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
(pp. Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

It is an old building, and old rooms too, placed beside the Rhin. Breakfast is not noticeable.
But It is unacceptable how a five stars hotel charges 100 euros as a reserve just in case... and if they do it so, would be fine to know it by the hotel staff in advance.
And of course... 20 euros per day for using the internet at your room in a 5 stars may sound ludicrous... Wifi is now offered for free in almost all serious hotels and if i have to pay it in adittion for sure neither will come back nor will recommend it...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Hilton Mainz. Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly improve our level of service.

However, it is unfortunate and we deeply regret that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Please rest assured that we didn’t charge your credit card. This was only an authorisation when you checked in for any additional charges. Concerning our policy, the authorisation includes 50 EUR per day for extra costs, e.g. parking.

In regard to the internet prices I would like to inform you that we are currently in negotiations with our internet provider to offer a lower price in our guest rooms. Until then we hope that our offer of free internet in the lobby and meetings area provides an acceptable alternative.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
(pp. Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Ask for room with a view of the bridge. Outstanding view. Staff was excellent and most helpful. Meeting room was very well done with view of the river. The only place to stay when in Mainz. They had a large breakfast buffet every morning and well planned lunch.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hilton Mainz as your preferred choice of accommodation during your recent visit to the city and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback with us and other guests through tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to read through your review. Your appreciation of our service and facilities is a great motivation to the entire team. We are very thankful for your perfect rating.

We look forward to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have had extended stays here for business 3 times in the last 4 months and the hotel is excellent. Great service, friendly staff centrally located to many amenities and shopping. Breakfast selection is excellent and menu for restaurant dining is varied with excellent quality. Easy access to transportation, via taxi train and bus

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank 653Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

How nice of you to take the time to post your comments about the Hilton Mainz on TripAdvisor. Thanks so much for that.

We very much appreciate your kind words on our hotels and our team members. Especially when staying regular at a hotel it is most important to feel welcome and cared for and it is great to see that you experienced our hotel that way.

We hope to welcome you back soon !

With kind regards

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel is on the left bank of the Rhine river, about €8 by cab from the main railway station. The very spacious lobby has a modern “grandeur”, although it has a somewhat empty appearance.
Check-in was very quick and my room, on the 6th floor, was fine (view of the Rhine river). As far as I know there is no executive lobby, but a nice touch was a complimentary half-sized bottle of regional white wine in the room. The restaurant was no-frills; not really suited for a romantic dinner, but I was by myself anyway and, although I do prefer a warmer, cozier atmosphere, I did not really mind.
The food was OK, not great, but there were enough choices to pick from. And they had a nice Spanish Tempranillo for a very decent price.
Internet speed was fine: I’ve been in other places where you just keep tapping your fingers on the table waiting for a response. Enough wall outlets, too!
Breakfast was very nice, too, with plenty of choices in hot and cold food and a great view of the sun coming up over the river.
At some € 170 this was a bit higher than average in many German cities, but I’d definitely consider it good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for being our guest and for your time to share your exceptional feedback with us and other travellers through the tripadvisor website.

However, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused regarding the atmosphere and our food offer in our restaurant and that we were not able to meet your expectations.
Your entire satisfaction is exactly what we are working for and our main aim is to offer an excellent but also individual service to our guests.
Therefore, I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our benefits, like the bottle of our regional vine, given to our guests.

Dear guest, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again to the Hilton Mainz. Especially during spring Mainz has a very special charm!

With kind regards

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stay here regularly for business. Never had any issues and I always have a great breakfast. The location by the river and walking distance to restaurants/shops is perfect. The fitness center is a bit small and lacking, but it is ok.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Marty842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimenting review on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you felt most comfortable during your stay.
We always strive to improve our level of service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated and we will consider your remarks regarding our fitness center for future concepts.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Kind Regards from Mainz,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
719 reviews
0.8 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Mainz
AC Hotel Mainz
#17 of 41 in Mainz
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz

Address: Rheinstr. 68, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#4 Business Hotel in Mainz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: $110 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing