We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Mainz
Nearby Hotels
$92
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$175
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$68
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$120
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$69
$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,227)
Filter reviews
1,227 results
Traveler rating
439
484
203
65
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
484
203
65
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverold townmain buildingper daya river view roomfree wifinice locationbreakfast buffetbusiness centershort walkgutenberg museumfitness centereasy accessfrankfurt airportnice roomchristmas marketroom rate
Filter
Updating list...
582 - 587 of 1,227 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is amazing. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were extremely clean. One side of the hotel has beautiful views of the river. I receive a welcome tray that included a 1 L of water, a 375 ml of Riesling (very good), a cream filled doughnut (awesome), a pretzel (great), and 2 apples (good). The room was sooooo quiet and dark which allowed me to get a great night's sleep. The windows are sound proofed. The restaurant in the hotel was a little expensive, however, the food was good. The breakfast at the hotel was one of the best I have ever had at a Hilton. My only complaint about the hotel was the HVAC in the room. I like to leave the fan on in the room, vice putting it on auto which normally means the heat or a/c (whichever season it is) will come on and off but the fan will always run. In the room I had this meant the heat ran constantly. I woke up in the middle of the night and had to shut the heat off because it was way, way too hot in the room. They also have a very nice gym in this hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have an awesome view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your stay in our HILTON Mainz and for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com. It was a pleasure to read your most kind feedback. Thank you very much for your words.

However we are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding the heating system in your room. Please be assured that the situation you described is not our standard. We always strive to improve our service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated.

Whilst hoping you had a save trip back home we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel looks like a totally different hotel from 2yrs ago.......very nic renovation.....chambres are very nic & modern. loads of work space, hard beds (I like them anyway) nic decor...very soothering colours, ambitious. Staff are very busy, but not 1 request went unfilled. Now hilton should renovate the other hilton hotel here n mainz.....hilton city centre......stayed there a few times...it NEEDS IT like this hotel needed it a few years ago......

Room Tip: If you re paying for the chambre, get a chambre on the river side......great views!!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank universeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please allow me to thank you for your most kind feedback about your stay at the Hilton Mainz shared with us and other travellers.

Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly
improve our level of service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated and we will consider your comments for future plannings.

We look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards,
Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for Christmas Markets. It's only a short walk to many attractions (Gutenberg Museum and the Dom for example), plus it's right on the Rhine. Great views, good service and overall a nice property. I prefer the City Hilton in Mainz, but this is a great property as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveladdict037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at HILTON Mainz and would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Mainz for your stay as well as for the great review in Tripadvisor.

Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and increase our standard. It is a great pleasure for us to see that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the location of Hilton Mainz.

The whole team of our HILTON Mainz will be looking forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz or Hilton Mainz City.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Once in a while I have a business meeting in Mainz area, so this was my third stay in this hotel over the years. Once, the hotel was in the progress of renovation. The renovation however is completed and most of the public areas are refurbished. Outside its still looking a bit old, but inside things have changed to the better. The lobby is modern. The rooms are better than before, with warm colors, mainly brown tones, good beds. I had a room to the street not to the rhine river, however could sleep well at night, was not loud. The bathroom is still a bit old fashioned, more modern design would give more points. The breakfast is of good quality and variety, the best thing however was the magnificent view in the morning, with a beautiful sunrise over the rhine river. Service at breakfast was good. As most of the reviewers already told, the hotel is located AT the rhine river, at one of the entrances of the old town of Mainz and opposite the casino. Hilton is as you know an international hotel chain thus it offers lots of international TV channels and in Mainz they host lots of airline crew. The international airport of Frankfurt is around 35 minutes away, taxis are usually in front of hotel, charging 45 to 50 euros to the Airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TDBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your stay at the HILTON Mainz and for taking the time to post a comment in TripAdvisor.

It is a great pleasure for us to see that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the location of Hilton Mainz. It is really near to Frankfurt Airport and easy to get there. The Rhine River, promenade and many small restaurants and shops make Mainz a nice place to relax.

Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly improve our level of service. Please be assured that we will consider your comments for future plannings.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Mainz during a 24 hr layover. Mainz is the perfect place to spend a layover. The Hilton is located right on the Rhine and within walking distance to the Old City and the train station. The rooms at the Hilton are beautiful! Large and spacious, with beautiful floor to ceiling windows. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Mainz is a beautiful city, with a perfect mix of history, quaint shops and right on the Rhine. Very easy to get to from the Frankfurt airport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliottsonpender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear User,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at HILTON Mainz and would like to thank for the great 5 stars review in Tripadvisor.

Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and increase our standard.
It is a great pleasure for us to see that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the location of Hilton Mainz. It is really near to Frankfurt Airport and easy to get there. The Rhine River, promenade and many small restaurants and shops make Mainz a nice place to relax.

The whole team of our HILTON Mainz will be looking forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews