We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, friendly and efficient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Mainz
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great, friendly and efficient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arrived at 10:30am and my room was ready for me,no waiting or anything. They were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, modern and had everything a person needs in a middle of the price range hotel. In fact no complaints other than the gym was pretty small, I like a well appointed fitness room but could still get the workout done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the HILTON Mainz for your stay and for your comments, which help us to check and improve our services every day.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel in general and we will consider your comments regarding our fitness room in future plannings.

We appreciate your feedback a lot and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the HILTON Mainz.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    401
    164
    52
    26
See reviews for
96
261
65
495
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, CT
Level Contributor
430 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Buffet breakfast was great. Hotel is split into 2 bldgs separated by bridge over Rheinestrasse. I was accidentally booked into single room and it was rather snug. The view was pretty poor as I got to stare into another bldg. Generally, it seems darker than usual. Exercise facilities are average by European standards, but very disapointing compared to great pool at Hyatt Regency in Mainz.

Room Tip: Try to get into main bldg over looking the Rhine, unless you want to use the health club. The latter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine3Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear User,

please allow me to thank you for your most kind feedback about your stay at the Hilton Mainz shared with us and other travellers. Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

In regard to the rooms location we feel sorry that you were not fully satisfied. We do not distinguish between our guestrooms in the Rhinewing or in the Domewing, but our guests do have the possibility to tell their preferences when making a reservation.

Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly improve our level of service. Please be assured that we will consider your comments for future plannings.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I recently stayed for two nights at the Hilton Mainz. It's location is perfect for walking to the old city square, the stunning cathedral dating back to the 1450's, and the Gutenburg museum. There are lots of lovely cafes and restaurants in easy walking distance as well.
The hotel itself is very comfortable. Feather pillows and duvets in the room, comfortable beds, robes and slippers. There are also espresso machines in the room for a quick coffee in the morning, definitely a step up from usual hotel coffee makers. There's a pleasant lobby bar, with reasonable prices. The breakfast buffet was 15E, and it had a wide selection of delicious choices. Meats & cheeses, yogourt, fruit, breads, porridge, hot eggs and bacon, boiled eggs, smoked salmon, etc etc etc. Good value. It was a very enjoyable stay. I was travelling for business, but if you were to plan to spend time in Mainz for pleasure, it would be a good choice. Staff were very efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: it's on a quiet street, so I think all the rooms are good. I was on the first floor, and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Jil,

please allow me to thank you for your most kind feedback about your stay at the Hilton Mainz shared with us and other travellers. It is a great pleasure for us to see that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the location of our hotel.

The whole team of our HILTON Mainz will be looking forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are going to Mainz, this is a good hotel. Very comfortable, on the plush side for some European hotels just because it is a Hilton and has brand consistency. We were in Mainz for one night, we love the city and made the stop part of our trip before going home.

If you have an early morning flight, spend the day in Mainz, stay here and walk the Rhine, and then go to the airport.

Hotel staff were incredible. Airline cancelled our flight and they dealt with us running around like crazy at 5:30 trying to get rebooked. Very kind and professional in all respects.

Not an amazing, luxury hotel but a good quality, comfortable Hilton.

Room Tip: Pay to be in the main hotel. We didn't and it was a bit of a walk over the bridge that spans th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o2bapoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear User,

I would like to thank you for choosing the HILTON Mainz for your stay and for posting your comments in TripAdvisor. We appreciate your Feedback, as it helps us to check and improve our services every day.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and were satisfied with your room, as well as with other services.

The whole team of our HILTON Mainz will be looking forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent two nights here on our way back to Australia after a European holiday. Pleasant check in, nice room overlooking the Rhine, albeit on the lower floor (due club honours upgrade for $9/n). Hilton send you a request list prior arrival. We had requested 2 extra towels but they were not there. Not big deal. Two of us in the room but only one bath robe, again no big deal but not very intuitive on their part.Buffet breakfast was available until late which worked well for us and they were happy to prepare fresh eggs. The location is really great for shopping in Mainz and the hotel had umbrellas available for the rainy weather. We needed a check out till 6pm and this was made available for 50E extra.
I note all the comments about the internet. We must have arrived after the new system was put in place because 24hours was 10E which is a lot cheaper than previously although, having travelled all over Europe in all levels of accommodation, this and the Hilton in Athens were the only hotels where we had to pay for internet.
On our last day whilst packing we decided to have two drinks from the sensor type mini bar. When we removed the drinks they were warm. I rang the front desk and explained this and requested the two drinks from room service. Two phone calls followed from other departments to ascertain our requirement - an hour to get two cold beers! We were not impressed that the room service charge was then added to the bill and the mini bar sensor set off. To their credit the drinks charge was cancelled when we questioned this.
All up Mainz is a pretty city for a day or two and the Hilton on the river is a well located and pleasant place to stay. For those requiring it, there does not appear to be a 'club level'.

Room Tip: Main building, river view and preferably higher up as the trees in front block the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear User,

please allow me to thank you for your most kind feedback about your stay at the Hilton Mainz shared with us and other travellers.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay regarding the missing towels and bath robe as well as the requested drinks. Please be assured, that the situation you described is not our standard. Corrective actions have been taken with our team in order to avoid such shortcomings in the future and to guarantee the expected Hilton-Standards and quality

I do hope that your recent experience will not deter you from returning to the HILTON Mainz or any other HILTON hotel and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sascha von Zabern
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed three nights at this Mainz Hilton at a rate of 190 euro per night. We will never stay here again. The negative issues we experienced were as follows:

1.) At check-in the front-desk person gave us a room with single bed despite us reserving and paying for two beds. It took two trips back to front desk to get a room that we reserved. The associate was fairly apathetic about it all.
2.) The room had an empty tissue box requiring a phone call to resolve.
3.) The bathroom sink did not drain well (water collected and slowly settled - disgusting, never fixed during our stay).
4.) When we returned late at night to the room for our third night, the room was clean but there were NO TOWELS in the room. It required a midnight front-desk visit to resolve.
5.) The control knob for heat/AC was broken - it just spun either direction indefinitely never turning on either heat or AC system.

We were very glad to leave this hotel and sad that we spent so much money for such a poor experience. We had never stayed in a Hilton before and we will avoid them in the future. I suggest avoiding this particular Hilton - it seems very poorly managed since all of the problems listed would be avoided in a well-run hotel. Our other hotels on our trip were all Marriotts and were all pleasant experiences with one excellent experience. No more Hiltons for us ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musteau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear User,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Hilton Mainz. Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly improve our level of service.

In Regard to your comments about our Font Desk Team, I would like to apologize for the behaviour of our employee you described and I like to assure you that we always strive to improve our service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated.

We feel sorry about the missing tissue box as well as the missing towels. Corrective actions have been taken in order to avoid such shortcomings in the future and to guarantee the expected Hilton-Standards and quality.

Unfortunately there are no complaints known by our team about the bathroom sink or control knob in your room and therefore I feel sorry that we could not met your expectations and that we could not offer the desired service.

We are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction and I would like to apologize again for all the inconveniences caused during your stay. Please be assured that the described is not our standard and that we do our utmost to keep the high quality you expect of a Hilton hotel.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove to you, that we do care about your feedback, during your next stay at our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next reservation.

With kind regards

Sascha von Zabern
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

About a 10 minute taxi ride from the train station, right on the Rhine river. As, a Hilton honors diamond member treatment is great. Free (fast) wifi, and a great breakfast buffet (also free) were included, but would be worth the 20 Euro's. Our rooms in the main building overlooked the Rhine river, and we received a welcome amenity in each room consisting of a bottle of wine, muffins, pretzel with dip, and fruit. We had booked a deluxe king and deluxe twin room, which featured newly renovated large rooms with a desk and chaise lounger/chair and small table. The beds were very comfortable, and the staff was extremely helpful. Reading reviews there appears to be rooms either in the main building, which we stayed in where everything has been redone , or in an auxiliary building. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area. Especially, if you have status with Hilton.

Room Tip: A deluxe room I the main building overlooking the Rhine river,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee0232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear User,

Thank you so much for your stay and for your great 5 stars review in Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at HILTON Mainz.

We are very proud of our Hilton Honors guests and it shows that it is a really great program for our regular guests, because it offers many benefits to make your stay more comfortable.

The hotel is new renovated and as you mentioned we offer really nice modern rooms partly with a great Rhine view. We do hope you had enough time for sightseeing as Mainz is an interesting city with many historical places.

The whole team of our HILTON Mainz will be looking forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#3 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
5.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#4 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz

Property: Hilton Mainz
Address: Rheinstrasse 68, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#4 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing