We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Mainz
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$135
$129
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$103
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$74
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$125
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$53
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,210)
Filter reviews
1,210 results
Traveler rating
432
477
201
64
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
477
201
64
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverold townmain buildingper daya river view roomfree wifinice locationbreakfast buffetbusiness centershort walkgutenberg museumfitness centereasy accessfrankfurt airportnice roomchristmas marketroom rate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
602 - 607 of 1,210 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was attending a trade fair in Frankfort and any economical hotels were sold out. We decided to stay in Mainz and take the train into Frankfort. This hotel is a about a 20 minute walk from the Mainz main train station or a 7 euro cab ride. Once your there the hotel the location is good for walking to the old town. Rooms were clean and service excellent. We only ate breakfast at the hotel but the buffet was extensive and tasty!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear User,
Please allow me to thank you for your most kind feedback about your stay at the Hilton Mainz shared with us and other travellers.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in Mainz. Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz or Frankfurt.
In such a case I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the HILTON Mainz.
If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.
Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Our room was on the busy road, but was well sound-proofed. We didn't hear the traffic and slept fairly well. Hotel location is great: easy access to walks along the river, and a quick walk to the center of Mainz.

We checked the conference and business center which were immaculate. I wish we could say the same for our room. The carpet and bathroom were both in need of a thorough cleaning (as was the hallway carpet to our room). This was not the standard we expected at a Hilton.

Parking in the hotel's underground garage was 21 euros/day but very convenient and secure. We didn't try the breakfast buffet (at over 20 euros). There were many less pricey, good choices nearby. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful, and even translated a German recipe for me. The hotel was fine, just nothing exceptional and a bit disappointing for a Hilton.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourWinds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear User,
Thank you very much for choosing the HILTON Mainz. It was a pleasure to read your kind feedback.
However we are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction. I would like to apologize for inconveniences caused with your room. Please be assured that the described is not our standard, and normally every room is checked before a guest checks in. I addressed this to our HSK Team and corrective actions have been taken in order to in order to avoid such shortcomings in the future. We always strive to improve our service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated.
We appreciate your feedback a lot and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the HILTON Mainz.
If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.
Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

we stayed here on our way to france and we liked it so much we stayed an extra night. the breakfast was great, everyone was nice and helpful, and it's a good location.

Room Tip: the second tower is a bit of a walk but good rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vancouverluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hilton Mainz. Our Team will be pleased to learn about your kind words.

Whilst hoping you had a save trip back to Canada we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.
Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in room 1634, for one ight at the beginning of my summer holiday after long flight from my home to Frankfurt

The hotel is good, nothing extraordinary about it, like any other buisness hotel. The hotel furniture and failities a in good condition. The room is not that spacious but it is ok. The toilette area is very confined but i've seen tighter.

The parking area has direct access to the rooms, whihc is an area of improvement and needs to be controlled. 

The breakfast buffett is having good variety of foods, however, there is no eggs or pan cake station where it can be prepared freshly.

The hotel staff is not that friendly, nothing unique you'd expect by being a diamond HHonor. You have to know your rights and look after them. Example, the was no complimentary water in my room, i have to ask for it, there is even no welcome letter. Even the front desk staff is not friendly and not asking about how was your stay. I hope it is not due to racist behavior since it is international hotel and not family run one. 

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desert_legend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your stay at the HILTON Mainz and for taking the time to post a comment in TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction.
We always strive to improve our service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated.
In regard to the parking area, I would like to inform you, that all garage exits and entrances are video monitored. We also do work with a security company to ensure a safe stay in our hotel.
Thank you for your positive feedback concerning the breakfast. Please note that we do not have a show kitchen however our staff prepare fresh eggs as well as pan cakes inclusive our buffet. I am sorry if you weren’t informed you about this.
We will also discuss your comment on the HHonors with our front desk staff to ensure a better service and more recognition of our HHonors Members.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We started our Germany vacation here, and the location was great for exploring Mainz. It wasn't a difficult drive to the airport from here. When we arrived early in the morning, our jetlag was apparent. Even though our reservation was for that night, they hotel quickly cleaned a room and had us in within an hour.

As a HH Diamond member, there was a nice bottle of wine, a pretzel, and a local cheese dip called spundekase waiting. All terrific. The breakfast was top notch, and even adventurous by american standards. I'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone using the Frankfurt airport to complete their vacation.

Room Tip: There is a pedestrian xylophone type thing in back of the hotel in the riverfront. Night time revelers and early birds sometimes entertain themselves with this thing at the expense of your sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uptownmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear User,
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at HILTON Mainz and would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Mainz for your vacation as well as for the great 5 stars review in Tripadvisor.
Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and increase our standard.
It is a great pleasure for us to see that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the location of Hilton Mainz. It is really near to Frankfurt Airport and easy to get there. The Rhine River, promenade and many small restaurants and shops make Mainz a nice place to relax.
The whole team of our HILTON Mainz will be looking forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews