We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
112
121
13
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
121
13
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station frankfurt airport the penthouse old town rhine region looked brand new convenient location mainz hbf trams and buses main station one night stay reception staff good size city germany pillows insulation
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 254 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2017

Staff were efficient. English spoken on request. No tea kettle in our room, but they provided pot of hot water with cups on request. Breakfast very nice with fresh pot of hot coffee delivered to table. Convenient to train and bus. Walkable to Dom and Altstadt. Our room faced the train station. When double windows were closed, there was no noise from street or trains. We were there on some very hot days and AC worked great.
A hook in the bathroom to hang clothes on would be nice.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017

The hotel has a perfect location for travelers (like us) who wish to use Mainz as a base to tour the Rhine Valley.
The Hotel is opposite the Mainz railway station (the HBF or central station). It is walking distance to the old town, and, has tram services to the old town as well as to other parts of the city.
Rooms and bathrooms are well maintained, breakfast is adequate.The Wi Fi is really fast. We stayed for four nights and were quite happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the railways station and tram stop. We liked the view.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sudarshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile

We based ourselves in Mainz for 5 nights at the start of a 2 week holiday in Germany. After a long haul flight to Frankfurt, it was relatively easy to catch a local train to Mainz and the Top Hotel Hammer is just across the road/tramlines from Mainz station. We booked one of the 'penthouse' rooms up on the top floor, which was worthwhile for the extra space. Only downside was that you have to take 2 flights of stairs up from level 5 to the penthouse rooms - which is a bit of a challenge with big heavy cases (there is no porter). Breakfast was very nice and inexpensive by hotel standards (we didn't have it included as we used booking.com to book our room, but we found out it is included if you book via the hotel website) and the breakfast team were friendly and helpful. Room was a bit overheated but you can open the window to cool off - a bonus! And little street noise notwithstanding location. This is a good hotel to stay in for train travellers, we travelled from Mainz to see each of Worms, Heidelberg and Trier - all do-able day trips - and we went to Frankfurt too which is easy. And not far (walking distance) from the town centre of Mainz either - with its terrific market, cathedral and of course also the wonderful St Stephen's. Recommended - a good alternative to staying in Frankfurt.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016

Good rooms, in the Center of the City of Mainz, Capital of the Federal state Rheinland-Pfalz, near to Frankfurt Airport, and aot the rhine river. The employees are very friendlly and the Prices are all right.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016

A few weeks ago, my wife and I did something unusual for us, we stayed for the second time at the same hotel. Back in 2012 we had a pleasant experience, but this time our stay was better. We found everything to be improved in many ways.

The hotel seems to have been recently renovated, our room was better than the previous one, larger,more elegant, and better furnished. My wife liked in particular, the shower stall in the bathroom. Once again, our room faced the street and the main train station, but no noises filtered though the windows.

Even the breakfast buffet was better than we remember in 2012. We enjoyed the fried eggs with tomatoes very much. All other ingredients and food were as good as we remember the first time around.

Perhaps the most memorable aspect of Top Hotel Hammer is the very friendly and helpful front desk personnel. Every time we came to them with questions or requests, we were promptly given all the help we needed.

I am surprised not many travelers have evaluated this hotel. It is my pleasure to strongly recommend it to all once more. You will enjoy the rooms, the breakfast, the extremely good location, and most of all, the service.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank josebenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nada S, Leiter Front Office at TOP Hotel Hammer, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Dear Josebenjamin,

thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
I really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time in Mainz.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel someday.

Kind regards

Dario Malek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews