We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I had stayed longer!”
Review of TOP Hotel Hammer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TOP Hotel Hammer
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Pescara, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I wish I had stayed longer!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Hammer hotel just to have a light kip, as we had a very early flight in the morning to take and a busy day in London ahead of us.

We chose the Hammer 'cause we had found a good deal and the hotel's position was very convenient, just in front of the railway station and easily reachable by coach and very near to the old town centre - that I had no time to visit, as much as I would have loved to.

The room they gave us was very comfortable, the bed was huge and the bathroom just wonderful, in fact I was impressed from it to be honest; speaking of which, one of the things that stroke me more was the magnifying glass on the bathroom's mirror, in my understanding it is aimed at making shaving and make-up easier and more accurate, what a bright idea!

We had to leave very early so we could not have the full breakfast that was included in the deal, still the porter was so nice and prepared something just for the two of us.

Unfortunately we had so little time to have even a quick look around the hotel, what a pity!

Well, at the very least I had a delicious pretzel and a glass of excellent German beer in the nearby pub, a few yards away from the hotel.

From what I have seen Mainz must be a lovely place indeed, and if I had the possibility to visit it again - and I hope so - this time around staying for a few days at least, I would definitely stay at Hammer hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    107
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
77
26
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

First, their elevator is unsafe. It doesn't have the standard safety sensors for while you are still stepping in and closes very quickly. As a result, my 5 year old son was hurt and slammed against a wall and ended up with a very scraped back. The desk staff admitted the elevator closed too quickly and without warning.

Secondly, we were there for a midweek trip. I had the arrival date one day off and arrived a day late. Despite the length of our stay being the same, we were charged 90% of a night's lodging as a PENALTY at the end of our stay. They mentioned nothing about it when we checked in and saved it for our check out, what a lovely way to end our stay there, especially after they witnessed our child being hurt by their unsafe elevator.

Had it been a weekend or peak season and we missed our reservation, I would have understood. However, for a midweek stay with the length being the same, just arriving a day later, I found it quite disappointing. In all of my travel worldwide I've never experienced such poor customer service. Rooms around us were empty as well, so it's not as if they were overbooked.

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nada S, Manager at TOP Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We must degree this assessment, our elevator is serviced annually 2 times and complies with German safety regulations. We were unfortunately not well informed about this incident. With respect to the charged cancellation fees, we want to set the facts right. The guests didn’t arrive at the booked date. On our demand, we were told that they had been mistaken in the date and will arrive one day later.
Upon arrival they were advised that we have to charge 90% for the first night, as we were fully booked and the room could be rent several times. We understand that it is very uncomfortable for the guest if he has to pay no-show charges, however, we ask for correction of the non-truthful assessment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Everything was excellent, the location could not be better, very nice and clean room and bathroom, great breakfast, staff very friendly. I want to especially thank Ilana (hope I remembered her name correctly). I do not have words to explain how helpful and kind and nice she was.
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhdita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Clean, adequately-sized, quiet, recently renovated rooms; great locatiion with well marked directional signs for drivers with parking available and easy walk to old town (don't miss the Chagall windows in St. Stephan 's) ; delicious, bountiful breakfast and helpful, friendly staff. We could not have made a better hotel choice in Mainz!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very friendly reception staff with excellent language skills. Clean, recently modernised bedroom which was VERY quiet and air conditioned. Good breakfast but be aware there is no restaurant for dinner here - the reception staff will help you choose a local restaurant though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel Hammer sports an excellent location just across from the main railroad station--and thanks to brand-new double thermal pane windows (= 4 sheets of glass!) it is absolutely sound proof. (Don't worry--there is AC for the summer when you don't want to open the window). The rooms have recently been totally renovated; more renovations will begin this July on a lower floor. Breakfast was more than adequate (although I missed a slice of lemon for my tea ...).

The entire staff is very helpful, attentive, solicitous--it was good to interact with all of them.

Overall a most enjoyable stay at a very compatible price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank German_Retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

It has all you need for a short stay. Extremely clean, newly refurbished rooms with interesting style, very good breakfast and 2 mins walk from Mainz HBF. Price positioning in line with quality of European 4-star hotel. For those visiting Frankfurt or travelling through FRA, this can be an excellent overnight choice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,051 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#10 of 41 in Mainz
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#3 of 41 in Mainz
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel Hammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Hammer

Property: TOP Hotel Hammer
Address: Bahnhofplatz 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#3 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TOP Hotel Hammer 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tad more personal…….Located directly in the centre of the city, right across Mainz central station you will find the Hotel Hammer, a classic and yet modern owner-operated, non-smokers hotel. You are planning to visit the 2000-year-old roman city with its countless historical sights? Are you on a business trip in the Rhine-Main metropolitan area or simply seeking a home and retreat while on the road? Hotel Hammer is your first choice.The Frankfurt (Main) Trade Fair can be reached within 20 minutes via urban railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HRS, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your TOP Hotel Hammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Mainz
Mainz Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing