We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Mainz
from $179.66
More Info
from $324.07
More Info
from $10.80
More Info
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveler rating
438
322
105
27
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
438
322
105
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews printing press on display audio guide every hour written word book binding second floor paper making live demonstrations english translation fascinating place worth the trip presses books bible printed movable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 906 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Inexpensive (5 euro) museum covering Gutenberg and his bible. The museum covers both the original printing of the Bible as well as a thorough history of the printing press. I happened to be there the morning of the river cruises so it was a little busy but I got to see many English demos of the process.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank JohnTSanAntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the museum as part of a River Cruise Tour Package. Our museum guide was also our city guide and spoke excellent English. Lots of history and viewing the Gutenberg Bibles was fascinating. Only downside was our group (all from the cruise) was a bit too large and our time was somewhat limited. We spent maybe 30 minutes and really could have allocated an hour. All in all we learned something new and it was an enjoyable experience.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BW_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019 via mobile

I’ve bought 14-15th c books for an American library for many years and taught classes on them and the history of printing and was delighted to find the superb way that the G-M explained the work of Gutenberg, sketching the background and impact of his work. In addition museum staff offer an excellent demonstration of a 15th c press in operation.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank GardenFanGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019 via mobile

Our local guide took us here and gave us an actual demonstration of the Gutenberg printing press. Very interesting given the technology of the time. There is one Gutenberg bible (one of only 52 still in existence today)! Other Gutenberg publications are also on display. You cannot miss this while in Mainz.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank voyager81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

This museum is wonderful and covers the history of printing and printing presses. There are two copies of the Old Testament and one copy of the New Testament on display (the Old and New Testaments are very large and printed in separate books). Gutenberg printed the famous bibles between 1452-1455. We also had a chance to see the list of where the remaining copies reside today. The woman docent/guide who explained the Gutenberg Bibles to us was very friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about the museum and its collection.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews