We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close, Affordable and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterCityHotel Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterCityHotel Mainz
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close, Affordable and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the perfect spot to enjoy a hotel, even if for one night. My wife and I were traveling in Europe and decided to go back to where I used to be stationed in the military in Mainz, Germany. We could only stay one night and so online we chose this establishment. Nice people and great accommodations Simple yet sleek elegant designs and well within our price range. We had a wonderful time in the city, me reliving old memories and my wife sharing in them as they became her memories too. Thank you!

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the city, although I would request one away from the train tracks if you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reesecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    169
    45
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
60
37
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
279 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is, as can be expected from a german hotel, very comfortable, with sizeable rooms and of course very clean. There is an indoor parking under the hotel. Upon arrival the hotel provides a free pass for the buss and tram. The immediate surroundings of the hotel are not very exciting but the city center is within 5-10 minutes walk. The hotel has a nice breakfast buffet with lots of choice. Wifi access is not free but can be purchased. In all, a good deal...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've stayed at the Intercity several times over the last couple of years for business and must say that I've never been disappointed. Location wise you're a 2 minute walk from the train station (use the back exit) and close to the shopping areas and the cathedral. The rooms are a good size & very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable with great pillows and duvets. There are always a good selection of towels in the bathroom and the power showers work well. The staff are efficient but friendliness isn't a priority!

It's worth booking the breakfast as there is a substantial buffet with a good selection of hot and cold foods. You have to try the Bircher Musli- it's fantastic! However, skip dinner as it really isn't anything to write home about!

The only thing that annoys me about the Intercity is that they do not offer free wifi in the rooms. Come on- the option was €5 for 30 minutes! I suggest popping over the road to Starbucks or McDonalds in the train station.

Room Tip: All good but insist on a non-smoking room if you don't smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 573Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here while visiting a colleague at Johannes Gutenberg University nearby. The hotel is convenient to the train station (less than 5 minute walk), and on a major street with a large number of city buses. Guests get a free bus pass for the duration of their stay, which is also convenient.

The room was comfortable and clean, but somewhat small. The same was true for the bathroom and shower: clean and efficient, but small. Even the bath towels were clean but small. The breakfast (included in my rate) was quite good, with a nice selection of eggs, cheese, dairy products, breads, and cereals. I don't eat pork products, but they were in abundance as well. Internet is pricey: over 13 Euros per night.

Recommended as a business hotel (and it's near JGU), but lacks amenities that you might expect for a vacation, such as a pool. Good for what it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santacruzer_95060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Recently returned from this hotel after spending a week there. The Hotel is primarily a business hotel and as such there are no home comforts. The rooms are clean and are a good size. The bathroom had a shower but no bath and the towels had to be changed every day due to the material being thin and not drying you properly. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room although there is a minibar, safe and trouser press. Breakfast costs 15 euros which I think is a bit pricey for what you get. One bonus is the travel card you are given which covers the length or your stay and allows you to use buses, trams and the train as far as Wiesbaden. It is designated a 4 star hotel and could be if it provided tea and coffee making in the rooms and decent towels. I should also mention there is considerable road noise if you open the windows at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel was nice and comfortable for the three nights I was there on business. The room was average price but it got a little steeper once adding in breakfast and internet access. The hotel is close to the train station which makes it convienent. But there are lots of other hotel very close by that may be a better bang for the buck.

The room/bathroom were a nice size, more American size than many European single rooms I've stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcote75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

would not chose to stay here again. quite close to centre. room clean and functional, shower no bath, towel as thin as paper. no chocolate in the mini bar! breakfast was good quality, dinner was uninspiring but well cooked, heavy on the snack side rather than great restaurant. TV only has BBC World news in English, no films. bar is only open certain times of the day and is located next to the front door so in Feb every time someone comes in you get a chill blast, it is also cramped with only one table and some bar stools. On the main road with no proper parking\pick up space outside which gets the taxi drivers\chauffeurs moaning. no gym. not a good business hotel I would suggest. best things by a million miles was the guy working both the bar and the restaurant on his own Herr A.Imo..something (too long to remember I'm afraid), friendly, cheerful, attentive and worked like a demon to provide top quality service even though he was working on his own for the bar and the restaurant. superstar! but he isn't enough to make me return.

Room Tip: on a main road and next to the main train terminal so avoid a rooms overlooking these if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#3 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterCityHotel Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Mainz

Property: InterCityHotel Mainz
Address: Binger Str. 21, 55131 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterCityHotel Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Mainz is located at the rear of Mainz main station and only a few minutes on foot away from the city centre. The location provides ideal connections not only to the city centre but also to the nearby cities of Wiesbaden and Frankfurt via the A60 motorway and train connections from the doorstep of the hotel. For the guest with time for a walk around the city we recommend a visit to the 1,000 year-old cathedral, the numerous museums or the Chagall windows. Ideal support for this is the FreeCityTicket for free use of the local public transport in Mainz and Wiesbaden, already included in the room price. The InterCityHotel Mainz offers 194 stylish and comfortably furnished rooms and apartments. The 8 meeting and conference rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art technology and round off the offer of the conference hotel in Mainz. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your InterCityHotel Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing