We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a relaxing break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witheridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newhouse Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed with my 11 year old daughter and our small dog in the Oak Cottage for 5 days over the Easter holidays. The rest of our family (3 adults & 2 children) were staying at The Linhay so we spent most of our time with them just sleeping at our accommodation which was very nice and had everything we could possibly need!
The Linhay is wonderful - it offers luxurious, modern and cosy accommodation with plenty of space for a large family and overlooks the lovely Devon countryside.
The communal facilities at the cottages for the children were a godsend and kept them occupied for hours on end - the pool being the absolute highlight for them.
The owners were very friendly and helpful but never intruded and left us to enjoy our holiday without interfering.
We visited Tiverton Museum which was well worth a morning or afternoon trip, also the local produce market at South Molton with a cream tea afterwards in the high street and went horseriding on the moors to a place close by which was recommended in the information book at the cottages.
All in all a really lovely, relaxing break that I'm sure we will be repeating in the future!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josiedoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 102 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

Light, airy, comfortable cottages, sensitively decorated and very well equipped. The kids loved the pool and games area and we loved the woodburners on the colder evenings. The owners are very pleasant and we had a lovely stay. The one thing I would say is that everywhere is a good 45 mintues away it seems (not that the proprietors can do anything about that, of course!), but you're still not very far from some lovely locations, be they seaside gems like Lynmouth or NT properties like Killerton. Nice pub with good food in the village and a little shop stocking essentials. Witheridge Farm shop about a mile away is a great deli and could have spent a small fortune in there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fido_Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Excellent cottage. Everything that you could wish for was catered for and if it wasn't then nothing was too much trouble. The kids loved the pool and the games room. Will almost certainly visit again. It was all that it promised to be. You will not be dissapointed if you stay here. The cottage was very warm even though it was the middle of winter but the wood burner was great if you needed it.
There are a few local pubs that serve food and family friendly.

A great holiday, Thankyou.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula3897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

When I checked this place out on the website I was impressed.

Believe me when I tell you that in reality the website does not do it justice. It takes a lot to impress me and this place certainly did that.

I booked the cottages for my family to celebrate our parents 50th Wedding Anniversary.

There were 20 Adults and 6 Children and we were all catered for. The swimming pool was lovely the children had a great time the games room function room had everything and more than you could possibly need.
the cottages were immaculate very modern and we wanted for nothing,

Th walks and views were incredible, we spent the weekend there and all wished we could have stayed longer.

The owners were very helpful even down to lending my nephew a pair of wellies.

I would thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All the cottages are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 603Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithDevon, Owner at Newhouse Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

We appreciate the kind comments made, we hope to see you all again in the future.

Best wishes
Keith & Doreen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I recently took a small party of disabled residents to stay in The Linhay which is a seperate single floor house just across the road from the main Newhouse Farm Cottage complex. You are graced with every comfort you need when you arrive and once you have parked in your own gated paddock area you have a short walk to the main lounge entrance which is where the magic begins.... The lounge / dining area is light and clean and tastefully furnished with modern and quality furniture. The kitchen leads off of the main lounge and here you will find everything needed to make your stay a home from home experience. The crockery and glasswear sparkles in this vast and modern kitchen and everything included is state of the art and easy to use. There was the ' welcome ' pint of milk in the fridge and small packets of biscuits to go with your free coffe or tea arrival cuppa. The bedrooms continue the modern and tastefull theme with beautiful bed linen and fluffy towels all neatly arranged. In The Linhay there are three spacious wet rooms which suited use for disabled residents as they allowed room for manouvering easily. Outside the house there was a barbecue, and various tables and chairs to enjoy a glass of wine in the Autumn sunshine.
For the more able person the walks are wonderful and for those with families there was the well equipped games room and indoor pool or the outdoor rolling grounds with trampoline and outdoor games equipment.
The family that run Newhouse Farm Cottages are some of the nicest people you could wish to meet and will do everything in their power to make your stay a memorable experience. They are on hand should you need anything that has been forgotten although this is the second time I have stayed here and I have yet to discover anything that they did actually forget.
I am going back in two weeks time with another four residents and looking forward to the return visit.
Well done to Keith, Doreen, Stuart and Debbie for the first class service you offer.

Room Tip: All of the cottages are excellent but The Linhay suited our party as it was on the flat and self con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We have just returned from a week in Rowan cottage. Our party consisted of 2 teenage boys, age 16, our 10 year old son and us, mum and dad. Great pool (soft edges and not too deep for children), fishing, games room, playground, big trampoline, soft play area, laundry room, badminton, and great walks in a beautiful setting.

The cottage was huge and meant we could lose each other for some 'me' time. The teenagers had their bedroom on a different floor to us next to their own toilet, which meant they could let their hair down and stay up late without disturbing us. We had a large bedroom with ensuite and our younger son was next door in his own twin room complete with family bathroom next door. Everything was provided and we enjoyed some lovely meals around the farmhouse table and outside on the pretty patio with brick barbeque. Everything is very well kept and spotless.
This was a great holiday as we could relax knowing the children were occupied and happy. The owners are great and genuinely like to welcome children. Our boys had a great time.
Witheridge has a great pub, 'The Mitre' where we had a lovely meal and took part in our first pub quiz with the locals which was really funny. Witheridge is a few minutes drive and has a Spar shop, post office and several nice places to eat or have a drink. We also liked Chulmleigh village and the golf course, £7.00 9 holes, relaxed and good for all ages.
Dragon Archery about an hour away was a fantastic day out with almost one to one tuition and themed targets.
All in all a great place to stay in beautiful, peaceful Devon.

Room Tip: Rowan, Willow and Oak have a door to a secret passage that children love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pippincox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We had a wonderful relaxing stay at Willow cottage. Everything was of a very high standard and very clean. A lot of care had been taken into equipping the kitchen so it was like a home from home. We loved the pool and games room and enjoyed walking around the grounds. There was something for every age group. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseMundeleinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Witheridge hotels
1.8 mi away
South Coombe Country Cottages
0.7 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#1 of 4 in Witheridge
83 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thelbridge Cross Inn
Thelbridge Cross Inn
#3 of 4 in Witheridge
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newhouse Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newhouse Farm Cottages

Address: Witheridge | Tiverton, Witheridge, Tiverton EX16 8QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton > Witheridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Witheridge
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newhouse Farm Cottages can sleep up to 47 people in 9 beautifully converted self-catering cottages. Our facilities include heated indoor swimming pool with counter-current jets; traditional sauna; indoor games room; toddler soft play room; outdoor children's play areas; fields for ball games; small fishing lake; and over 30 acres of land to explore. We have a function room, The Hayloft, which is ideal for large groups to use to meet, eat and party in. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing